We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be the friendliest Inn in the Dales”
Review of Holly Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holly Hill Inn
Ranked #15 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Must be the friendliest Inn in the Dales”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

A few of us have just stayed for several nights at the Holly Hill Inn whilst attending a wedding in a neighbouring village. We were made to feel welcome by staff and regulars as soon as we stepped into the pub - we went through the usual "signing in" formalities and were then shown to a very spacious, clean and modern bedroom with a huge bathroom. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the views over Richmond town and castle were beautiful. We ate in the pub on the night of arrival - excellent food, and I never heard any complaint of any sort by any of the party. The breakfast was also great, and cheerfully served by Alison at whatever time each couple had chosen. The Inn is situated on a hill (as the name implies) just on the outskirts of Richmond - you could walk into the town but there are one or two daunting hills to negotiate! We found it easier to drive in - parking was never a problem and we just displayed the usual disc which gives 2 hours free parking. We would certainly stay there again and can heartily recommend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 2 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    26
    4
    4
    10
See reviews for
41
56
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2011

My wife and i stayed at the Holly for one night ,the day of the Royal Wedding.We got there early and had an enjoyable afternoon Pimms Party and watched the Wedding.The meal in the restaurant was also top notch. In fact the whole experience was excellent, and we would not hesitate to recommend it to friends ,and family.To Joanne, Emma and all staff, thank you.

Room Tip: Everything you could possibly want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEITHB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We went to the Holly Hill Inn for a family party and decided to get there in time for lunch and to settle in in good time. We were met by two brilliant members of the staff both of whom made us feel really welcome. We were shown to our room which was spacious and very clean, uncluttered and bright, having dual aspect views, one view being across to the nearby Richmond Castle. We had a light lunch of a delicious sandwich and had dinner later in the restaurant. There was a really good choice on the menu and we were both delighted with both our selection and the service. We (eventually) had a really good nights sleep - nothing to do with the alcohol! - followed by a good breakfast the next morning. I would not hesitate to recommend the Holly Hill Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Songara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We have revently returned from a 1 nights stay at the Holly Hill Inn.
The location is lovely. High on a hill with wonderful views.
We arrived and were asked to complete the usual forms and also asked what we would like for breakfast and what time.
We were taken to the two rooms we had booked and was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. Very nice and welcoming neutral decor and looked as though it may have been decorated recently. Carpet and bedding was clean and plenty of pillows.
We ate dinner in the resaurant. The menu was varied and food very good.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful especially when one member of the party changed her mind over breakfast.
The only down side we could say is that the shower head in one of the bedrooms had not been cleaned for a long time however we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygolucky1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed overnight on return trip from Scotland. Booked on the offchance the night before as bed and breakfast and were pleased that we had made a good choice. Friendly, clean, restaurant for a very generous evening meal, reasonably priced and the breakfast was excellant. Will be coming here again if we drive up to Scotland in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybunchWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

9 of us, ages ranging from 65 to 20, stayed for a couple of nights. The rooms where clean and comfortable, the views superb. Breakfast lasted us all day!

Woken by noisy sheep at 4 o'clock but that's what happens in the country!

We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shornoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby
Level Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Second time of staying for us. We stayed a few months ago and had a good time then so as we had business locally we stopped again. The room had a great view across to the lights and roof tops of Richmond. We had the same room as last time no 4 with a very nice bathroom. Very bracing walk into town which is downhill but coming back is up, which after a pint or three and a big meal is helping to reduce the calories. There is nowt I did not like. We would go again any time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
5.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#18 of 51 in Richmond
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Hill Inn

Property: Holly Hill Inn
Address: Holly Hill, Richmond DL10 4RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at The Holly Hill Inn, a traditional English country pub, comfortably laid out with open fires, local ales and lagers including the local, very Yorkshire Black Sheep bitter from The Black Sheep Brewery in nearby Masham and the elegant Peroni to name but two. Superb British and continental fayre, coupled with great wines, four luxury en-suite bedrooms and a function suite complement the venue. Situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, and within easy reach of the historic Georgian town of Richmond, The Holly Hill Inn is a popular retreat for locals and visitors alike. We're also just a stone's throw away from the well travelled coast to coast cycle route from Whitley Bay in the North East to Whitehaven in Cumbria. Why not make a day of your visit and stroll down the hill into town to see the largest cobbled market place in Britain and the adjacent Richmond Castle? We have four luxury, en-suite rooms where you can relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing or business. Stay in one of our well-appointed, en-suite bedrooms, with views of Richmond and the castle and awake to a great Holly Hill breakfast ensuring you start the day on a high. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holly Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hill Hotel Richmond
Holly Hill Inn Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing