We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat in beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The lodges are very well equipped , we had a 3 bedroom all en suite lodge with lovely view out over the estate. All fittings are modern light and airy and have everything you need to enjoy your time away from home.
The welcome hamper is a lovely extra coming with some great local produce (web bought the additional £7 pack of local sausages and bacon definitely worth it)
Nicely located just outside of Richmond with easy access to Yorkshire dales as well as harrogate ripon and York. I would definitely visit again or stay in one of the other natural retreats

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank michelle0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 407 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

The weather was terrible for the whole week we were there, which might have been a problem in such an outdoor/rural type place, but we loved it. The accomodation was cosy and there was loads to do nearby. I wanted a bit of luxury as a compromise for having a staycation instead of heading for the sun and this worked well. We arrived frazzled after a 5 hour drive, in the drizzle and twighlight and the place looked a bit deserted. When we opened the door however, it was like the bit of The Wizard of Oz where everything turns to colour. The room was toasty warm and there was a hamper full of goodies on the table. Everything was available and user friendly (we were in 13 and it had good wi-fi and instruction booklets for all gizmos). The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable.
We walked into Richmond by several routes, mainly because we couldn't be bothered with instructions. Highlights in town were the Geogian theatre, where we got an individualy tailored tour from a volunteer that even kept our seven year old entertained for an hour, a beer festival with a silver band in the market hall and the indoor skate park on a particularly dreich afternoon.
On the negative side, some of the blinds were a bit fragile and the pipe at the back of our toilet leaked. I'm sure this would have been fixed had we phoned about it but we were too busy having fun and a tub under the leak did the trick for us. I would definitly go back as there is lots to do in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ina361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

good service,friendly staff, great location equipment good RICHMOND WAS AMAZING WITH THE CASTLE . North Allerton had good shops, worth a trip to Betty,s for afternoon tea but don't have lunch first. Whitby is a lovely seaside resort, scampi is yummy. and you must have ride on Elizabeth the steam bus
...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Natural retreats in North Yorkshire is a beautiful place for a place to stay. The individual lodges are excellent - well maintained and furnished. The lodge we stayed in was No 17 and was south facing, fortunately the sun was shining when we got there late on a Sunday afternoon and the heat in the lodge was immense and needed to open the huge patio windows overlooking the valley. What a way to start our holiday sitting outside with a glass of red win overlooking the valley basking in sunshine.
The lodge had three bedrooms which were nicely furnished with an en-suit bathroom. The lounge, kitchen was open plan but big enough for all staying to be far enough away if needed.
The kitchen was well appointed with one of our best evenings in was for the optional extra of a cook for the evening who provided us all a superb three course meal in our lodge.
The grounds are vast with good trails to follow for the more energetic. If you like watching rabbits then there is a good opportunity to see a few as the site has one or two running around "Watership Down" is tiny compared to this bunny metropolis.
Our friends who we're staying with us, were from Denver Colorado and had a most wonderful time using the lodge as a base and then exploring the Dales and North Yorkshire moors.
Will we be returning - yes most certainly - and will the message of this superb Natural Retreat lodge location reach America - it already has !!!

Room Tip: All rooms and lodges are excellent
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathandrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a wonderful week at the retreat. Sitting on the deck with a cup of tea looking at the amazing view was bliss. The cabins are comfortable and well thought through, the doors pull back to fully open up the front, bringing you closer to the wonderful sights and smells. The walks around the area were great, I only wish we'd had time to do more. My only negative comment would be that the open showers meant that the bathroom floors became very wet. It was a little odd watching the lodge we were staying in feature in an episode of 'Vera' the night before we travelled, when a girl was shot in the doorway! All in all we had a relaxing and enjoyable week and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Bright, spacious, well equipped lodge - great customer service and lovely location - quiet yet very close to richmond, with all the amenities you could want. We had a lovely few days here and will definitely now visit other Natural Retreats sites after this.
The customer service was excellent, from before we even got there, the phone calls and emails before arrival ( local info, recommendations etc) - I got the feeling nothing would be too much trouble. Even got a call to say the lodge would be ready early ( nice touch). Lovely welcome hamper ( free) on arrival, with biscuits, wine!cheese, bread, jam eggs and butter and milk etc in fridge. And the resort manager came to say hello and give his mobile number - a lovely welcome.
The lodge itself ( we were in 17 - one of the premium site lodges) was bright, modern and airy - just like the internet pictures - no nasty surprises or let down. Well equipped kitchen, with everything you'd want if cooking for yourself ( though the local restaurants and pubs are excellent). Free logs for the fire ( with extra available to buy if you want). And a Well designed site , we couldn't even see the other lodges from where we were, just looked out through the floor to ceiling windows on to the lovely countryside view.
Just one word of warning - to make the best use of space, there is no hallway, which means the bedrooms open onto the open space living area. This creates a large airy space, but it does mean that if any in your party will be going to bed or getting up at different times to the others then noise from the living area carries and may be a problem ( I bought ear plugs at boots for a couple of quid - problem sorted!)
Just a couple of gripes that stop me giving this five stars - first, the wifi. No nice way to say this, it is pants! At the best times it was painfully slow, but more often it was so slow that it was unusable, and often there was simply no signal at all. This was a surprise to me as in this standard of accommodation I'd assume a good wifi connection as a given, just as I'd expect hot water, so this was poor - SORT IT!
Secondly, a more minor gripe - the floor to ceiling windows and the views are a huge feature of the lodge so it's a shame not to show them off to their best. We arrived on a lovely sunny night, but unfortunately this showed off the hand prints and other marks on the windows from previous residents. A bit of time spent cleaning the windows would have created a real wow entrance.
Minor gripes though - all in all an excellent stay.



Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephenjeanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've just spent a nice couple of days at Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales, our daughter, her partner with their dog, are staying for the week and 4 of us spent sometime with them. By following the directions given we found the retreat quite easily. The lodge was situated at the top of quite a steep incline, nice and quiet and not overlooked. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best with drizzle and overcast, meaning while the views were still nice, they were misty, also the wild life didn't appear as much as would be the case in better weather.
The lodge provides accommodation for up to 6 adults, While the decor is basic, it as a quite spacious combined living area and kitchen. Large sofa just accommodates 6 people. The heating system is quite good and the back up log burner is a nice touch, you can of course use the log burner as a first choice of heating. TV, games console (plays DVD's), internet access and reading materials provide in house entertainment if required. The kitchen was well equipped and had extras such a dishwasher and coffee making machine, only real negatives for the kitchen is a lack of instruction to use the machines, like the coffee machine and the refrigeration equipment is not large enough. The large table and seating makes meals together enjoyable. The bathroom facilities both en-suite and family are very good with nice hot water. Bedrooms are just about big enough, comfortable but storage space is at a premium. The outside veranda would be nice in good weather with table and chairs and deck chairs.
Nice touches are the welcome hamper and the amount of information for walks, places to go and things to do, the provision of individual towels, both bath and hand and the site managers visit to check everything is alright. The provision of a hand brush and pan to sweep up anything dropped would be nice.
The resort itself is nicely set out and lodge numbers pretty easy to find and as previously stated, offers nice views, better in better weather.
The village of Richmond is within easy walking distance either along the road or by fields and river Swale, but you need to be aware that some of the inclines are quite steep and some quite long especially on return journey.
All in all I think the lodge represented very good value for money and would recommend them.

Room Tip: Some lodges are not overlooked but sometimes cost extra, not worth bothering in my opinion
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
5.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
1.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,579 reviews
18.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales

Address: Unit 1 Aislabeck Plantation Hurgill Road, Richmond DL10 4SG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Price Range: $152 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning design, modern open plan living and sustainable build are only a few highlights of these superb residences which offer perfect self catering holidays in the Yorkshire Dales. Having benefited from a complete refurbishment, the interior of each residence has been entirely revamped, incorporating ethical and exquisite design. The lodges are lovingly furnished with bespoke touches such as the exclusively designed sofas and innovative ‘cube’ seats, showcasing colours purposely chosen to compliment and mirror the idyllic scenery. Locally-sourced items have been used wherever possible, from the beautiful sofa cushions to the unusual ‘tree trunk’ bedside tables, just another example of Natural Retreats’ commitment to sustainability. As well as beautifully updated interiors the residences have also benefited from rejuvenated exteriors, enhanced roads and pathways. And, just in time for Bonfire Night, a selection of residences will boast private outdoor fire pits encircled by sunken seating, enabling guests to further appreciate the beautiful backdrop and views across the stunning Swale Valley.The Yorkshire Dales is an area of great natural beauty, offering visitors a real taste of rural England. An ideal location for walking, fishing and mountain biking, breathe in some fresh country air and appreciate the world we live in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Hotel Richmond
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing