We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent accomodation, great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just had 5 night stay in Lodge number 1, 22-27th sep 2012, very clean and spacious, everything catered for from flat screen TV to Log fire, central heating, full kitchen, 3 large double en-suite bedrooms, spacious lounge area. Free WI-FI, Large decked area outside. very quiet and comfortable location. welcome basket on arrival included, bottle of wine, fresh bread, local butter, fresh eggs, ginger biscuits, jar of jam. Located just outside Richmond, just 25-30 minute walk away. Management very friendly and helpful, always on the end of phone if you need assistance, would recommend to anyone wanting to have a peaceful and relaxing break or for visiting the Dales.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alank55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 407 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

3 couples shared a lodge and had a really good weekend. Although there were some lovely touches in the lodge such as good bedding and towels and a welcome pack some maintainence was needed so there were plus and minus points.
The road down into the lodges was terrible and would not be good for the average family car so you need to be careful with the potholes. The door handle fell off the en suite and some of the blinds were broken. The kitchen although well stocked was poorly designed for 6 people to work in and had no empty cupboards for food storage . We had the private chef to come in and cook for us and it was lovely although we don't know how they managed with such a bad layout. The kitchen extractor didn't work very well so we were left with the lingering smell of the meal for the whole weekend. We were short of cutlery but the Manager came very quickly to bring some more when asked which we really appreciated. There were lots of cobwebs and the floor didn't seem very clean although the decor was fine overall. Apart from the main bedroom there were no wardrobes and the 2 other bedrooms were very small. We did try to get a lodge with 3 ensuite rooms but they were all booked up.

The log burner made the lodge lovely and cosy and there were some nice walks directly to Richmond. The weather was kind to us until our last day when it poured and the path to our lodge became a waterfall which would not have been very nice if we were staying longer.

Despite this Natural Retreats was a lovely place to stay if you wanted a peaceful chill out with friends. We got a reduced price through Travelzoo so were even happier with our stay and would return.

Room Tip: The higher lodges had the best views and we particularly liked no 18 which seemed to be in the sun a...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcyNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for a weekend treat and found the location absolutely perfect. The lodges blend into the countryside beautifully and nearby Richmond centre is lovely for a wander round.

The lodges themselves are a great idea - and I would stay in a similar type of accommodation again. The issue we had, as others have mentioned, is that things are a little tired and when you consider the price of the cabins, you do expect everything to be pretty much spot on. The shower to our bedroom has quite a lot of mould and dirty grout at the bottom which just needed a good cleaning, one radiator had dirt marks all over it (which just needed a spray and a wipe) and the seats to the dining room table was really badly stained and in need of a thorough steam clean. Don't get me wrong, I'm not one of those people who go round looking for things that are wrong, but these things, in addition to scuffed walls, stained doors in the bathroom and chipped furniture really took the shine off the properties.

I would definitely return to the area again but wouldn't stay here unless the cabins had maintenance and some TLC.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HolidaysandCocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in lodge number 4 and the view was amazing, overlooking the small pond. We found the accomodation perfect for the two of us and it was VERY clean and welcoming.
There are indeed the beginnings of wear and tear but nothing dramatic. Reading other reviews perhaps we were lucky (or less exacting!) The outdoor table and chairs do need a sand and revarnish.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time there but pleased we only stayed a couple of days, I am not sure that there was much more in the area to keep us occupied.

Room Tip: lodge 4 if you like looking at water
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A recent four day stay at Natural Retreats in residence No. 8 was the first time I'd heard of this holiday resort company. Although my partner and myself enjoyed the short break in Yorkshire I'd definitely divide the experience into a bit more miss than hit.

Hits:
The Natural Retreats staff, from the concierge service to the on-site manager, are quick to help and friendly to speak to. When one of the large window blinds had a broken spring (not a complaint, it could have happened at any point), the manager was quick to get a handyman around to fix it.

The location is absolutely great for using as a base to explore the stunning National Park area and for outdoor activities.The drystone wall and bench area at the top of the driveway is lovely for a quiet view over the surrounding countryside.The walk into Richmond through sheep grazing fields is also an ideal warm-up for hill walking, if you are a bit out of practise (as we were). Richmond itself has some very good shops to pick up your food supplies from. Particularly recommended are the Ken Warne grocery and the truly excellent Angus Morton butcher shop on Finkel Street.

The welcome basket of goods (marmalade, butter, milk, bread, cheese, biscuits, fresh coffee, eggs, wine) is a really nice touch, even though we'd bought some of our own supplies with us, it was really delicious organic produce and it does save on a sudden dash to the shops for basics. The tea and sugar caddies were full to the brim and we didn't need to use our own for the whole stay.

While the views from No. 8 weren't stunning, it did have a fair level of privacy with a screen of trees compared to some other buildings and it was pleasant to sit outside and see the rabbits, squirrels, birds and a couple of local cats. In the evening you could see bats coming out to hunt for insects too. During the week days it was a pretty peaceful location.

Misses:
Like previous reviewers I'd say that the exteriors and interiors are in need of a refresh. Based on the website images you could be quite disappointed with the level of wear and tear.

The exteriors are weatherworn and the decking table and chairs are flaking their varnish. The white walls inside show the same kind of marks you get in a busy hotel and there was a piece of plasterwork that had been knocked out of a corner in the living room. The furniture had some knocks too, and the grey sofas urgently need a steam clean. The number of stains I found were really unpleasant. The bedrooms and linen were all clean and fresh, but the mattress was terribly lumpy and not very restful to sleep on.

If you intend to get out and about it perhaps doesn't matter so much, but for the average weekly price I don't think it's too unreasonable to have a slightly higher standard of maintenance. Part of the problem might be they don't seem to have a closed period, so everything has to be fitted in around bookings.

While there's a good basic range of utensils and crockery; we did find ourselves at the mercy of previous guests' levels of cleanliness when it came to pots and pans. The frying pan I picked out on the first morning had fried egg glued onto the surface, a chopping board was discoloured by vegetable or meat juices (that should be replaced instantly!). The oven grill pan had fat drippings left in it. Self-catering does mean some elbow grease but it didn't make a good impression that none of this seemed to have been checked over after guests departed and was left to new guests to clean up.

As with other reviews a huge drawback to the kitchen area is space; there wasn't an empty cupboard left for putting away food, so rather than rearranging the cupboards we had to leave non-perishable items out on the work surfaces. The fridge was okay for us but you can't fit more than one or two days' worth of food in, which seems an added encouragement to go out and eat locally.

Lovely area and great staff but not really what we were expecting for this self-catering break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank little_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Natural Retreats in the Yorkshire Dales is a collection of 18 lodges of which we stayed in one at the end of August. We love the location and the lodges are great for relaxing and soaking up the scenery. Will definitely be returning... The lodges have quite a lot of glazing so some are more "open' than others. If you're after a bit more privacy then avoid lodges 1-5 as they're fairly visible to other people going to their lodges. Lodge 7 is fairly secluded while Lodge 15 probably has the best views... None of the lodges are bad so unless you have specific requirements you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDWFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The lodge did not live up the 'luxery' rating that it's marketing states. The decking area and outdoor furniture are in sore need of sanding and re-varnishing and the chip board furniture was chipped in places. Bathrooms are 'tired'... However, the overall cleanliness was faultless. Have they heard of maintenance?!

Very disappointing indoors but the outdoor surroundings and scenery were worth the visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b0bstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
5.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
1.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,577 reviews
18.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
411 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales

Address: Unit 1 Aislabeck Plantation Hurgill Road, Richmond DL10 4SG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Price Range: $152 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning design, modern open plan living and sustainable build are only a few highlights of these superb residences which offer perfect self catering holidays in the Yorkshire Dales. Having benefited from a complete refurbishment, the interior of each residence has been entirely revamped, incorporating ethical and exquisite design. The lodges are lovingly furnished with bespoke touches such as the exclusively designed sofas and innovative ‘cube’ seats, showcasing colours purposely chosen to compliment and mirror the idyllic scenery. Locally-sourced items have been used wherever possible, from the beautiful sofa cushions to the unusual ‘tree trunk’ bedside tables, just another example of Natural Retreats’ commitment to sustainability. As well as beautifully updated interiors the residences have also benefited from rejuvenated exteriors, enhanced roads and pathways. And, just in time for Bonfire Night, a selection of residences will boast private outdoor fire pits encircled by sunken seating, enabling guests to further appreciate the beautiful backdrop and views across the stunning Swale Valley.The Yorkshire Dales is an area of great natural beauty, offering visitors a real taste of rural England. An ideal location for walking, fishing and mountain biking, breathe in some fresh country air and appreciate the world we live in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Hotel Richmond
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing