We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“perfect for a short break”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in lodge number 4 and the view was amazing, overlooking the small pond. We found the accomodation perfect for the two of us and it was VERY clean and welcoming.
There are indeed the beginnings of wear and tear but nothing dramatic. Reading other reviews perhaps we were lucky (or less exacting!) The outdoor table and chairs do need a sand and revarnish.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time there but pleased we only stayed a couple of days, I am not sure that there was much more in the area to keep us occupied.

Room Tip: lodge 4 if you like looking at water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    89
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
190
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A recent four day stay at Natural Retreats in residence No. 8 was the first time I'd heard of this holiday resort company. Although my partner and myself enjoyed the short break in Yorkshire I'd definitely divide the experience into a bit more miss than hit.

Hits:
The Natural Retreats staff, from the concierge service to the on-site manager, are quick to help and friendly to speak to. When one of the large window blinds had a broken spring (not a complaint, it could have happened at any point), the manager was quick to get a handyman around to fix it.

The location is absolutely great for using as a base to explore the stunning National Park area and for outdoor activities.The drystone wall and bench area at the top of the driveway is lovely for a quiet view over the surrounding countryside.The walk into Richmond through sheep grazing fields is also an ideal warm-up for hill walking, if you are a bit out of practise (as we were). Richmond itself has some very good shops to pick up your food supplies from. Particularly recommended are the Ken Warne grocery and the truly excellent Angus Morton butcher shop on Finkel Street.

The welcome basket of goods (marmalade, butter, milk, bread, cheese, biscuits, fresh coffee, eggs, wine) is a really nice touch, even though we'd bought some of our own supplies with us, it was really delicious organic produce and it does save on a sudden dash to the shops for basics. The tea and sugar caddies were full to the brim and we didn't need to use our own for the whole stay.

While the views from No. 8 weren't stunning, it did have a fair level of privacy with a screen of trees compared to some other buildings and it was pleasant to sit outside and see the rabbits, squirrels, birds and a couple of local cats. In the evening you could see bats coming out to hunt for insects too. During the week days it was a pretty peaceful location.

Misses:
Like previous reviewers I'd say that the exteriors and interiors are in need of a refresh. Based on the website images you could be quite disappointed with the level of wear and tear.

The exteriors are weatherworn and the decking table and chairs are flaking their varnish. The white walls inside show the same kind of marks you get in a busy hotel and there was a piece of plasterwork that had been knocked out of a corner in the living room. The furniture had some knocks too, and the grey sofas urgently need a steam clean. The number of stains I found were really unpleasant. The bedrooms and linen were all clean and fresh, but the mattress was terribly lumpy and not very restful to sleep on.

If you intend to get out and about it perhaps doesn't matter so much, but for the average weekly price I don't think it's too unreasonable to have a slightly higher standard of maintenance. Part of the problem might be they don't seem to have a closed period, so everything has to be fitted in around bookings.

While there's a good basic range of utensils and crockery; we did find ourselves at the mercy of previous guests' levels of cleanliness when it came to pots and pans. The frying pan I picked out on the first morning had fried egg glued onto the surface, a chopping board was discoloured by vegetable or meat juices (that should be replaced instantly!). The oven grill pan had fat drippings left in it. Self-catering does mean some elbow grease but it didn't make a good impression that none of this seemed to have been checked over after guests departed and was left to new guests to clean up.

As with other reviews a huge drawback to the kitchen area is space; there wasn't an empty cupboard left for putting away food, so rather than rearranging the cupboards we had to leave non-perishable items out on the work surfaces. The fridge was okay for us but you can't fit more than one or two days' worth of food in, which seems an added encouragement to go out and eat locally.

Lovely area and great staff but not really what we were expecting for this self-catering break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank little_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Natural Retreats in the Yorkshire Dales is a collection of 18 lodges of which we stayed in one at the end of August. We love the location and the lodges are great for relaxing and soaking up the scenery. Will definitely be returning... The lodges have quite a lot of glazing so some are more "open' than others. If you're after a bit more privacy then avoid lodges 1-5 as they're fairly visible to other people going to their lodges. Lodge 7 is fairly secluded while Lodge 15 probably has the best views... None of the lodges are bad so unless you have specific requirements you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDWFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The lodge did not live up the 'luxery' rating that it's marketing states. The decking area and outdoor furniture are in sore need of sanding and re-varnishing and the chip board furniture was chipped in places. Bathrooms are 'tired'... However, the overall cleanliness was faultless. Have they heard of maintenance?!

Very disappointing indoors but the outdoor surroundings and scenery were worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b0bstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have just returned from a 6 night break at Natural Retreats, Yorkshire Dales. What a fantastic place. The lodge was spacious and spotlessly clean. We were there with our 14 year old daughter and my mum and dad. We stayed in lodge 9 which had 3 double bedrooms - all ensuite. This was great as we were all able to get ready with no fights for the bathroom. I loved that the beds had windows right behind them. We opened the blinds a few mornings to see a large rabbit gazing down at us. The lodges are set far enough away from each other to give you some privacy. Our lodge had a fab view of the dales. We loved the welcome hamper of wine, biscuits, organic coffee and bread, as well as the cheese, milk and butter that were in the fridge. It is great the the lodges have washing machines (not that we used it), ironing board, iron, washing stand. One of the loveliest things about the lodge area was the amount of rabbits roaming about. When you drive down into Natural Retreats there are bunnies everywhere! When we were there our daughter was 14 and we arranged for the location manager to order and collect a birthday cake for her. This was a lovely surprise for her and the cake was really yummy! The only slight negative we would have is that the road coming into the lodges is really really steep and our little corsa did struggle a bit getting out - it was worth it though! Richmond is a lovely place. We also visited Ripon - lovely unusual little shops and York, as well as the Designer Outlet just outside York - quite a few bargains if you like sportswear. We also visited the Yorkshire Dales Farmhouse Ice Cream Parlour at Skipton. Quite a drive away on very twisty roads but made worth it as the food is great and the icecream delicious. We loved our trip and will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caca53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a great visit to this lovely part of the world and our stay at no 11 made it more special, this is so much better than a hotel especially if you have 3 children! We arrived late Saturday night to find the accommodation as described and a very nice welcome hamper which included bread, cheese, coffee, milk, biscuits and wine (all organic).
Our home was elevated with no one overlooking us,it is a 3 bed en-suite type which seems to have larger bedrooms than the family homes with bathroom. The only draw back is it only gets the sun for the 1st part of the day, but while we were there it was more rain than sun, so it didn't make any difference to our visit. The staff are very helpful when I contacted them and there is plenty to do with the children in this area with lots of nice places to eat. We hope to try one of their other locations in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoylife63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have just returned from Natural Retreats North Yorkshire where myself, my husband and a group of our friends celebrated my hubby's 30th Birthday. The group were made up of couples and families and we all had the most amazing weekend.
We 'took over' lodges 7, 8 & 9 which were a perfect setting for us as they were located in the corner of the site so felt we had our own space. The lodges are beautifully done, very modern and minimal but still have that feeling of cosyness, especially on a night with the log burner going.The children in our party ranged from 2 - 6 years and it was lovely to let them run and play freely infront of the 3 lodges without having to worry. They particularly loved watching the rabbits in the fields and seeing the black furry chicks on the pond!
We used one lodge to congregate at and eat all together which was perfect for us and the size of the lodges and the decking area outside meant we could do this very comfrotably. As we were there for only 2 nights we spent most of our time in and around the lodges but did walk in to Richmond on the Sat afternoon. A booklet in the lodge had walks in it which we used the map to follow. It was a lovely walk which went past a play area (which was a bonus for the children) and then along the river to the centre of Richmond. Even a huge thunderstorm didn't dampen our spirits, we just sheltered under some trees and had our picnic. The kids thought this was the best bit!
On the Sat night we had a fancy dress party in one of the lodges and the concierge team provided us with a buffet (which I had previously booked and paid for) which was ideal so no one had to cook or prepare anything.
Sun morning we had to be our of our lodges by 10am which we felt was rather early especially the families who had to feed the children and pack up the cars. We enquired if it was possible to keep the lodges longer and we were told yes at a charge of £30 per lodge to keep until 1pm. As we didn't need to keep all 3 lodges longer we paid £30 for one lodge, vacated the other 2 on time and all congregated in the one for breakfast and lunch. this was perfect for us as it only woked out about £1.50 each and it meant no one to rush off. Plus none of us wanted to leave anyway!!
All in all our stay was wonderful and I would definitely recommend for any groups for an occassion such as this. We are already organising our trip for next year!

Room Tip: The lodges with 3 bedrooms with ensuites are the best for groups of friends staying together. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
1.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holly Hill Inn
Holly Hill Inn
#13 of 50 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales

Property: Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
Address: Unit 1 Aislabeck Plantation Hurgill Road, Richmond DL10 4SG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning design, modern open plan living and sustainable build are only a few highlights of these superb residences which offer perfect self catering holidays in the Yorkshire Dales. Having benefited from a complete refurbishment, the interior of each residence has been entirely revamped, incorporating ethical and exquisite design. The lodges are lovingly furnished with bespoke touches such as the exclusively designed sofas and innovative ‘cube’ seats, showcasing colours purposely chosen to compliment and mirror the idyllic scenery. Locally-sourced items have been used wherever possible, from the beautiful sofa cushions to the unusual ‘tree trunk’ bedside tables, just another example of Natural Retreats’ commitment to sustainability. As well as beautifully updated interiors the residences have also benefited from rejuvenated exteriors, enhanced roads and pathways. And, just in time for Bonfire Night, a selection of residences will boast private outdoor fire pits encircled by sunken seating, enabling guests to further appreciate the beautiful backdrop and views across the stunning Swale Valley.The Yorkshire Dales is an area of great natural beauty, offering visitors a real taste of rural England. An ideal location for walking, fishing and mountain biking, breathe in some fresh country air and appreciate the world we live in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Hotel Richmond
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing