We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willance House Guest House
Ranked #4 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We were made really welcome and had a lovely stay- beautiful cottage and the room was spacious with lovely views of the hills. The house is just off the Market square so is near to restaurants and pubs but quiet street so best ofboth worlds. Comfiest bed ever and great breakfast!! Richmond a beautiful place so will definitely return and this would be first choice of place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
145
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Sandra and Colin provide all the usual high quality accommodation we all love, then they shoot ahead of the others with their fresh, varied menu for breakfast.
Everything is home made including the bread. Everything is freshly prepared when you order it.
The tea and coffee are served in thin cups, a drinking delight.
In addition to grapefruit segments, there are orange segments, strawberries and raspberries, kiwi fruit and dried fruit and nuts, yoghurt, strawberry and plain. The hot selection is comprehensive and served on hot plates.
You won't find those little containers of milk in your room. The ones that mean you have to open 6 of them to get enough milk for one cup of tea. Colin will give you a flask of chilled, fresh milk.
This morning I spoke with several people at the breakfast table who have been there several times and would even book their holiday around being able to stay at Willance House.
Go ahead treat yourself.

Room Tip: It is a small guest house, book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faithcharity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

From the first welcome we knew we would be well looked after. Owners very friendly and professional - they seemed to think of things we needed even before we had thought of them! Looked after all our wet things and ensured we had everything we wanted. Lovely coffee and biscuits on arrival and the shower was THE best on the entire Coast to Coast walk. The breakfast was listed as "award winning" and indeed it was - you must stay here for the breakfast alone. Eggs benedict in a B&B? Really, we only wished we had longer to appreciate the food.
Also the house has been brought up to 21st century standards whilst retaining beautiful original features - a delight! This is definitely a place we will return to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherpagirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Everything about Willance House is outstanding. I've never slept in a more comfortable bed and the room was really spacious and full of nice touches to make your stay straightforward and pleasurable - a power shower which didn't need a degree to use it and even instructions for turning on the tele, not to mention real milk for tea etc. in the room and loads of cupboard and drawer space. The breakfast was absolutely delicious with lots of choice including fish dishes, which is quite unusual and home-made bread! The location is perfect for just about anybody because you are within walking distance of the restaurants and pubs, but there is car-parking in Frenchgate. Sandra and Colin were very welcoming and helpful with their recommendations of where to eat. We would certainly stay with them again if we were anywhere in the area, but not directly in Richmond.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Willance House is the oldest inhabited dwelling in Richmond, and has been very tastefully decorated to provide a truly first class overnight stop. I stayed for one night as part of the Coast to Coast walk. The owners immediately took my wet boots and put them in their airing cupboard so they were completely dry for the morning. The room was delightful. Breakfast was delicious and usefully served very early - necessary for the long 23 mile slog across the Vale of York the next day. It is unlikely that I will ever stay in Richmond again, but if I do my first choice will certainly be Willance House.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerwood
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Everything about Willance House is first rate. To begin with they are in the oldest inhabited dwelling in Richmond. Everything has been restored and kept in excellent condition. The upkeep is meticulous! Colin and Sandra are wonderful hardworking hosts who care deeply about your experience in their B&B. The room was very comfortable with fine linens and a great bed. The ensuite was spacious and modern. Breakfast time was flexible and cooked to order. It was delicious and fresh with a variety of fruits and homemade bread being offered. The boot drying cupboard and washing facilities were life savers!! I would gladly stay here again and recommend it to anyone traveling through Richmond.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CycleChic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night of the Coast to Coast walk, and couldn't have had a warmer welcome. The room was wonderful, fabulous bedlinen, comfy bed, fantastic shower and the best breakfast ever. Thank you Colin and Sandra.

Room Tip: The room on the back is quieter - traffic noise on cobbles at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewforestGalap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.0 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 51 in Richmond
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Brewery Guest House
Old Brewery Guest House
#7 of 51 in Richmond
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willance House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willance House Guest House

Property: Willance House Guest House
Address: 24 Frenchgate | N Yorks, Richmond DL10 7AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Willance House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade 2 listed building in Frenchgate, Richmond we offer three en suite double rooms with king-sized beds. Using luxury Egyptian Cotton linen and large fluffy bathsheets along with power showers and a well stocked hospitality tray with fresh milk we aim to provide a high qualiity experience during your stay. On arrival enjoy a complimentary pot of tea or coffee and our home made shortbread and fudge. We are ideally placed to explore Richmond being only two or three minutes walk from the Market Place with its castle and Georgian theatre. The River Swale is just a stroll away providing picturesque river walks. We are situated on the Coast to Coast walk and we are one of the well known accommodation providers with essential facilities for walkers such as a laundry service and packed lunches. Our renowned award winning breakfasts are all freshly cooked to order using local produce, award winning preserves and our home made bread. Our extensive cold buffet is freshly prepared each morning providing a healthy start to your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Willance House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willance House Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing