We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“outstanding break”
other travelers have booked this property
quiet location with stunning views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
quiet location with stunning views
spacious, light and cosy lounge oak kitchen with rayburn stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
quiet location with stunning views
spacious, light and cosy lounge
oak kitchen with rayburn stove
comfortable, en-suite bedrooms
beautiful view right on your doorstep
magnificent dales scenery
panaramic views from the top of the moors
a really lovely place in the country
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Richmond, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan O
1 review
“outstanding break”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I booked this break for my son and his girlfriend he said Wilson house was outstanding inside and out and Helen was a really lovely woman with beautiful little touches baking them cake and scones he would definitely stay again and recommend people to stay 10 out of 10 he just wished id booked him in longer

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you. I'm pleased they enjoyed their stay and your treat for them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E9085LAla...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly amazing, can't wait to go again!”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights, wish we had booked for longer.
The cottage is beautiful, 2 lovely double ensuites with ample storage / space.
The open plan living area, kitchen / diner upstairs is spacious, well equipped and has the most amazing views.
The welcome cake in the fridge on arrival was a lovely surprise too.
The hot tub outside is such an added bonus and the visitor we had in a morning to give us our wake up call added much character and laughs (the owners chicken).
The local walks were nice and nearby Barnard castle is lovely.
Would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing country break.
We can not wait to come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
It's always good to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay. This part of England is lovely so it's great that it is appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryTxx
Worksop
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay - Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We've just returned from a 1 week stay at this charming little cottage and cannot recommend it highly enough. The location is beautiful - feels in the middle of nowhere but is within quick driving distance of the A66. Lots of lovely walks are right on your doorstep. The owner, Helen was lovely and made us feel very welcome. The cottage itself was spotless with powerful showers, comfy beds and a large hot tub - the best we've used. The hot tub is lovely and peaceful at night (as long as you don't mind the occasional 'baa's' and 'moo's' from the neighbouring barns and fields) and the stars looked beautiful on a clear night! The Rayburn cooker is a beautiful feature and was simple to use, even for a rubbish cook like me!! Our kids lovely playing in the enclosed private courtyard and fell in love with the very friendly chicken who came to call every morning for some breakfast. Overall a wonderful family holiday has by all and we can't wait to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Thank you for your comments. I'm pleased you enjoyed your "away from it all" experience, the hot tub and this lovely countryside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debra N
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just come back from a lovely stay at the cottage Wilson house. Helen just left us to it which was great, but if needed she was only a phone call away:) lovely homemade scones and jam on arrival too.
The hot tub on a night was amazing as the area is very quiet (apart from the odd moo from the neighbouring cows) and not a huge amount of light to spoil the night sky.
Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend for anyone wanting to explore the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2016
Thank you for you feed back. I'm pleased you got to experience this lovely countryside and the amazing night skies from the hot tub. We try to respect guest's privacy so it's nice to know it's appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts_Rob...
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hope to return”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I know that the better the review one leaves here, the more likely it is that a place will already be booked by others when you want to return. However, to do anything other than to sing the praises of The Cottage would be wrong. This holiday let has everything that any reasonable person could want - and more! The wonderful welcome goodies provided by Helen kicked the week off well, and (despite grotty weather) the our holiday was really enjoyable. Just a mile off the A66 (with its wonderful farm shops and eateries), The Cottage is well located for getting out and about. We love nearby Barnard Castle and Richmond, and we went twice to our beloved Durham which is only about 40 minutes or so away. We enjoyed walks across the farmland too. Ah well, that's blown it - TripAdvisor readers will all book The Cottage based on this review and we won't get another look-in. Doh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities.
Liked least: Coming away.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2015
Thank you. I'm pleased you enjoyed your holiday, despite the dreadfull storms, and thankyou for singing the praises of this lovely part of England.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyg598
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breath Taking Veiws”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is perfectly located for walking/ cycling. Very quiet at night when sitting in the outside Jacuzzi with a glass of wine. well equipped kitchen and powerful en suit showers. The Rayburn was great to cook on once you have got used to the temperature
Helen (the owner) was very pleasant, left us to it but was there if needed. The cottage has its own gated parking/ courtyard area. The WiFi was great for the Ipad and phone. There are lots of Villages/Towns to visit, we visited Richmond and Barnard castle mainly but visited a fair few country pubs. The nearest supermarket (Morrisons) is in Barnard Castle around 15mins drive.
This is a great place to get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing