We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, great location”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Friendly staff and a very nice welcome. The location is brilliant and I had a great wander around Richmond. The room was perfect, very modern and nicely decorated. I would happily stay here again, hopefully for longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 101010101111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    100
    30
    27
    11
See reviews for
71
430
39
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Well, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My son and I stayed at the Frenchgate Hotel this weekend when we were up in Yorkshire watching Le Tour de France. The accommodation, food and service were all first rate. I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Richmond.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A lovely warm welcome from very helpful staff and super food. The breakfast menu is the best I have seen - includes eggy bread, eggs benedict, Canadian with pancakes bacon and syrup. Dinner is just as good but the choice of red wine by the glass is weird. Nothing 'normal' but way out wines you have never heard of. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgendDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

David and the staff gave us a wonderful welcome. We stayed with my 91 year old mother and they could not do enough to cater for her needs. The hotel, though small, is beautifully appointed and cosy and the rooms contained all we needed with a wonderfully comfortable bed which ensured several nights' good sleep. The food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. All in all service and friendliness you rarely find in the larger hotels abounds here. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetteW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samarkand, Uzbekistan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The staff at the Frenchgate were good hosts and very accommodating considering our large family had taken up almost half the hotel. The rooms were comfortable with quality furnishings and clean. The restaurant served excellent food and a breakfast perfect for recovering from the night's escapades. The Mousey Thompson suite was a delight, the oldest part of the hotel according to our host.

Room Tip: Go for the Mousey Thompson suite and ask the knowledgeable barman for some of his more unusual spiri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

David is a very welcoming, friendly & helpful host. The accommodation is well thought out & very comfortable, near the center of town, but also offers parking. The restaurant provides delicious meals. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 7 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sajackie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Warm welcome by the owner when we checked in. We were a little early but our room was ready and we appreciated assistance with our luggage. We were delighted with Napoli suite including the delightful egg bath. Very tastefully decorated and comfortable. The evening meal was very good but personally would have liked a green vegetable with the main course. Breakfast was excellent with a special mention for the home-made granola and bread. All staff were very welcoming with excellent customer service skills. The hotel is in an ideal location a short walk from the centre of Richmond.

Room Tip: Recommend the Napoli suite for a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Avril G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
723 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
150 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
235 reviews
13.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 51 in Richmond
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Property: The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing