We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Fantastic location, Richmond is beautiful, as was the food served in the quaint 8 table restaurant. Would definitely recommend for a weekend or evening away.
Staff were very helpful and pleasant upon arrival all the way through to departure.

Room Tip: If dining in the restaurant I'd highly recommend the "wine flight" - you get a differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank samhenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    104
    30
    28
    11
See reviews for
76
446
40
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night while away on business. The hotel was easy to find with great parking available right outside. I was in the smallest room but it was absolutely perfect; warm, cosy and with everyhing I needed. The only negative was the shower which didn't leave much room for manouvre, but all of the rooms other hi-tech facilities more than made up for this. Staff were lovely too and the intimacy of the place made for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sophbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have written this review a number of times going on and on but to be honest all you really need to know is that this is a really lovely hotel traditional looking from the outside beautifully renovated on the inside bedrooms that we stayed in were extremely well equipped better than a lot of the larger chains. The staff are helpful well informed and very welcoming. the bar well stocked and the added nibbles a nice touch. Breakfast choice was extensive and very well prepared. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and it will certainly be our first choice when we visit the area again.

The owner is very proud of his hotel and rightly so, it is a gem! Maybe I should have kept this to myself!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had planned our holiday in North Yorkshire with great care and had chosen to stay at The Frenchgate because of all the excellent reviews it had received concerning the accommodation and, in particular, the food since one of enjoyments is fine dining. We arrived at the hotel mid-morning and were booked in by the owner but did not take possession of our rooms (nor did we expect to) until the afternoon. We had reserved superior rooms which, in the event, turned out to be quite small because, I suppose, of then building's origins as a small Georgian townhouse. Thre was a distinct lack of wardrobe and drawer space. The "wardrobe" in one room consisted of a small hanging rail let into a recess in the wall. The only drawers in this room were in the bedside tables and were only suitable for "smalls" - not shirts, knit-wear, etc. so consequently, some clothes had to remain in the suitcase. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bed lin and towels were of a very high quality. The bathroom had a heated floor, which was good, but it was difficult to climb out of the bath because of the way the static shower screen had been affixed to the bath. In short, the rooms were full of high tech gismos but lacked some of the basics. We could have tolerated all of this, if the food had lived up to our expectations. However, we were informed at around 5.00 p.m., after enquiring about the time of our table reservation, that the kitchens had been closed for the duration. We are not sure why the kitchens had been closed because we were given a different account every time it was mentioned. We had apparently been informed by e.mail sent to our home earlier in the day but, of course, had no knowledge of it because we had already left for our holiday. We were extremely disappointed because the owner of the hotel must have known for some time (and certainly over the preceding weekend) that the kitchens owuld be closed but had not had the courtesy to inform us prior to our arrival. He did, it is true, take us to a restaurant in the town but, whilst this was satisfactory of its type, could not be classed as fine dining. Finally, the occupants of one of the rooms experience noise travelling up the stairwell from the groun floor which disturbed their sleep.
We have tried to give a balanced and fair account of our experience of the hotel but, in light of the excellent reviews, our expections on arrival were high. We can only conclude by saying that this is the most disappointing hotl we have stayed in for very many years.

Room Tip: Inspect the room first and pay attention to lighting and storage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shattonblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We are a married couple in early 50's, traveled a bit both UK and abroad and usually try and stay in a smaller sized hotel with a good rep and standard and thought we'd try out the Frenchgate Restaurant and Hotel for our 28th anniversary.

A very good choice it turned out to be.
Very clean, very comfortable, anything I mention detrimental to our stay would be extremely petty, we found it impossible to fault the place - so clean and comfortable.
The restaurant was closed, which was unfortunate as we had been looking forward to trying its very respectable reputation out, but David (owner? manager? We never asked) could not have been more helpful in finding alternative.
We had a very good meal at a french restaurant just 5 mins walk away.
Breakfast had plenty of options with healthy portions and was very good.
Frenchgate staff / owner / manager / reception / breakfast - could not be faulted, all friendly and helpful.
We stayed in one of the superior rooms - the one with the funky bath and mood lighting and again we found it just perfect, while we never saw inside any of the other rooms I did feel that the extra cost of this room was worth it, nice views and have I mentioned how clean and comfortable it was yet?
Highly recommended.
Mick n Karen

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mickwuwark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business and was impressed at this hotel. The room is lively with a good bathroom and the service is great. The breakfast I thought was particularly good, not many small hotels offer eggs benedict.

It was just a shame the restaurant was shut for maintenance work as it's the reason I booked there, but I'm going tocone back and try it when it's open again. Oh and they did a great gin and gonic ascwell!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mad_Madam_Nim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Frenchgate at the end of Feb with another couple, to celebrate my husbands birthday. From he moment we arrived we could not fault anything. The rooms were lovely, really comfortable beds and everything you need for an enjoyable stay. We had dinner in the beautifully decorated restaurant and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Only one small criticism was the wait between courses, a little rushed at first when the restaurant was quiet and then a really long wait for dessert when busier. David the owner was fantastic, really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend a stay at The Frenchgate!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairelouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
774 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
162 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#19 of 51 in Richmond
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Property: The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing