We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food only, lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
thirsk
1 review
“Food only, lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent food. Beautifully presented. Staff very pleasant, and helpful. A lovely place to eat in relaxing surroundings. menu limited to 5 interesting choices for each course. Fixed price for 4 courses. The host david is enthusiastically welcoming, if you go it will be a lovely evening....promise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    96
    30
    25
    10
See reviews for
71
410
36
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NORTHUMBERLAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary, but were also checking the hotel out (our son is getting married in the area next year) and wanted to recommend it to friends. We stayed in the Napoli Suite with a very uncomfortable egg shaped bath which lit up like Blackpool Illuminations when going to the toilet in the middle of the night. I assume this was the reason for the overpriced cost of £178 a night. I agree with an earlier reviewer the rooms are mediocre for the price, there was chipped paint along the full length of the windowsill , the top surface of washstand peeling off due to water damage, ill fitting windows and no comfortable chairs to relax in. Décor was also quite drab and no bathrobes or complimentary bottled water. The only plus point was the bed was comfortable and the room clean. However you would expect a good deal more for a room that was supposed to be deluxe.. Would I stay here again No would I recommend it to friends No. We were very disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank 753HAPPYTRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst Green, Lancashire
Level Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very late at night, exhausted and thirsty. The owner made us feel so welcome. He came out to the car park, helped us park in the dark and carried our bags to The rooms. He is very proud, passionate and knowledgeable about his hotel, and this reflects on his team who all did s great job settling us in with a nice glass of red before bed. The rooms were well appointed and warm and the breakfast was excellent. For the price the hotel was excellent value for money. We did not get a chance to visit Richmond but it looked lovely. Would recommend the village and this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Frenchgate Hotel last weekend to celebrate my nephews passing out parade for the Coldstream Guards at nearly Catterick.
The hotel had already been recommended by friends and we were not let down...everything was warm and welcoming and it was a pleasure to be greeted by David, the owner and his team. After a long drive, it felt like home!
A good nights sleep in the owner's own design of bed, meant we were fully refreshed for a long day out and able to bear the wind and rain creeping over the parade ground.

The first night we stayed and the food was delicious and the whole aura of the hotel just meant that we have all come away with warm memories of Richmond.
Our only disappointment was we were only there two nights, but we are already planning a return to the Hotel and Yorkshire some time next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were well decorated and everything was spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

If the Frenchgate is No 1, then I worry about the rest, we had a so called superior room which was quite small and dominated by two very large single beds which the owner told us he had made to order, (not really worth the bother).
There was a lot of damage to the staircase area which made the place look very shabby, and our bathroom window was cracked, as was one of the ground floor windows, but worst of all I kept waking throughout the night as it was very cold and the individual summer duvets simply did not keep us warm and the heating is controlled by the owner!
Basically this is just a glorified guest house overcharging for very mediocre rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a fantastic hotel . We stayed in The cottage on the ground floor which is located outside next to the hotel. Decor is lovely the room as so much charater plenty of space and storage. Bathroom is lovely too again tastefully decorated. Now for the owner David , what a charater , David makes you feel welcome from the minute you step in the door to leaving. Nothing is too much trouble and you can tell he is proud of his hotel and he should be. David is very attentive and funny. The staff are fantastic too best service and again so friendly. This hotel is a real gem . We also dined in the restaurant what an experience, food was amazing on every mouthful you had an explosion of tastecand textures, the chef is superb . The ambiance in the restaurant is just right with excellant service you truly do not want to miss dining here. The overall standard of the hotel is superb in all
rooms. Would I book again...definitely. One last thing I normally struggle sleeping in hotel beds no
t here beds are really comfy slept really well and then served with a fresh tasty cooked breakfast all the food was to a high quality. Thank you so much David and your staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vodkasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Well run by a man with passion. All the staff we came across were intelligent and proficient, dinner was fantastic and a real surprise. The beds were comfy. We will certainly go back, Richmond looked lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 49 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Property: The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing