We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really Good experience”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is very welcoming and a lovely mix of old and new. Attention to detail by the friendly staff was excellent. Rooms are modern and clean and are of a vey high standard. Food was really good. Excelent location for my one night stay and I shall definitley be returning soon. I stay in lots of hotels through business and this is by far one of the best I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    103
    30
    27
    11
See reviews for
75
436
40
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here recently and were very impressed with the level of service, quality of the rooms and the spectacular food. Would highly recommend and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSmith81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ended up at the frenchgate after getting stuck in the snow and they could not have been more welcoming! They really looked after us, the breakfast was the nicest I have had for ages, and the accommodation is first rate. Cannot recommend highly enough, David and his team are fantastic

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I find it hard to add anything new to the compliments that have already been adorned on the Frenchgate....the beautiful building and interior decor, the award winning garden, the delicious food and let us not forget the extraordinarily large and comfy beds!

However, what really made our recent stay special, was the absolute determination of our host, David, to go the extra mile in order to ensure that our stay was perfect. He clearly prides himself on nothing being too much trouble and a focus on tailoring his hotel and restaurant service and experience to meet the needs of each individual guest.

This is the best of Richmond and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank besttravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

just returned from a birthday stay at frenchgate hotel in richmond.we have been wanting to stay here for some time and it was worth the wait.big thankyou to david for his excellent hospitality throughout our stay.fabulous room,have to be seen to be appreciated.food outstanding,we eat out regulary but this is a cut above anywhere we have eaten before.big thankyou to clare who from initial booking to us leaving was an absolute pleasure to deal with.if you are staying in richmond this is definately the place to stop.we shall return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matt p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have not been to a better total dining experience in the last 20 years. The last time I had such attention to the food and dining experience was in a gourmet French chateau! The owner, David, was a delight as he guided us through an incredible journey of food and drink! The room was excellent and was again marked by meticulous attention to detail.
I suggest if you dine here to take the 1st class flight experience in which the wine is matched to your food for you at every dish! You will be surprised and amazed! Foie Gras with South African Gewurtzstraminer was astounding as were the delightful desert wines.
I would gladly return for what has been a very memorable experience- many many thanks you have restored our belief that attention to detail with food and drink can be achieved in this green and pleasant land!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Mixed business with pleasure on Valentines Night.
A great hotel. Really excellent food and a lovely room.
An exceptionally well presented dinner with excellent choice of wines.
Particularly outstanding friendly service at breakfast with the best smoked salmon and scrambled egg that I have tasted.
I hope that we have an excuse to return before too long.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
753 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
157 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,269 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Property: The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing