We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A warm welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the frenchgate Hotel for one night while visiting family. On arrival we were welcomed as old friends although this was our first stay. We were shown to our room and given a demonstration of all the working parts. The bar was warm and well stocked. The Hendricks gin and tonic is to die for. Warning do not leave without trying one. Our room was warm and comfortable with a seven foot bed and a wet room shower. Breakfast was excellent, the eggs benedict perfect with a home made hollandaise sauce.
All together a lovely weekend stay in a quiet location. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captaincolin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    96
    30
    25
    10
See reviews for
71
410
36
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

What an amazing place to stay.... we absolutely loved our Frenchgate experience. We spent one night in the incredibly romantic and stunning Mousey Thompson suite. It was so perfect, we didn't want to leave the room. The staff were very attentive and made for a memorable stay. Will definately be staying here again, I can't recommend it enough, especially for special occasions..... anniversaries etc...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked a last-minute night away at the Frenchgate on a recommendation from a friend, and weren't disappointed. The owner provided excellent service, from suggesting which gin to have as an aperitif (it was the best G&T I have ever tasted!) to giving advice on a nice walk around Richmond.

The staff went out of their way to cater for our 1-year old daughter, cooking her up something for tea, putting her milk in the fridge, etc. Our evening meal was amazing. The food was all delicious, the dining room setting is stylish and romantic, and we were very well attended to. Breakfast was great too - I went for the American option - it was good to have some different choices on the menu.

The only slight downside was the room, as it was a bit of a squash with a travel cot and a changing mat, but we were aware of this before we went and could make do for one night. The bed was enormous (I didn't have a great night's sleep as it was two separate beds and we each had single duvets) so there could be more room if the beds were smaller but I guess this isn't a problem for couples! We also weren't keen on the blue lighting and had some troubles figuring out the light switch system, but got there in the end.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Frenchgate to friends and family and would stay there again if we're ever back in Richmond. It was the perfect getaway and just what we needed on a rainy Sunday night at the end of November!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejgray30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the frenchgate, this is our second visit and look forward to the next one, the staff are excellent and make you feel very welcome, our room was delightful and our evening meal and breakfast was perfect, thank you to all at the frenchgate see you soon, The Chapmans,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twizz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome tastefully decorated clean and rooms have good attention to detail did not have evening meal but menu looked varied and quality but if the breakfast is anything to go by then I'm sure it would be great
Had a good nights sleep room a little noisy from corridor and road but road not busy at all and it is a town hotel at the end of the day
Nice bathroom decent bed and at last two spare plug sockets by the bed for charging phone etc small point I know but that drives me nuts
Light switches bit of a challenge to find but got there
Will return with high command now I've tested it for her

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Numpty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

A two night stay in 'the cottage' room over a beautiful November weekend. This was perfect for a romantic stay as it's quirky location (separate from main hotel) felt deliciously private and the lack of shower (we were aware of this on booking) meant more luxuriating in a roll top bath. Its low ceiling does make it feel snug however and wouldn't be to everyones comfort.

Service was attentive but discrete. The styling of the hotel was beautiful - classic furniture and modern art. Dining/ breakfast room - cozy and intimate, but with large tables for two meaning that you had space as a couple rather than any feeling of being packed in. Food - superb. Well cooked breakfast with good selection of options (though I lament the lack of fresh orange juice) and the evening meal was delicious and well thought out. We opted for the 'wine flight' - glasses of wine to suit each course rather than a bottle - and found this a much more fun way to enjoy our meal, especially as the dessert wines complemented perfectly rather than having to finsih a bottle we had chosen to go with our mains.

In summary, it isn't a cheap option so it is somewhere to choose if you want to take you time and you won't be disappointed. Reading other reviews about the owner being 'rather like basil fawlty', my own experience was that it is a man who cares very much about his hotel, the food and welcoming you to this hotel. And yes he has a clear unafraid persona. But he is no Basil. And, if he was, I rather think it could be more of a selling point!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mademoiselle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodenoughtoeat, Owner at The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your choice of "The Cottage" , with its huge bed and free standing roll top bath, dating from 1650 does have a "quirky" private feel about it with its own private entrance, glad you were comfortable.
The restaurant, service and facilities are the same for all our guests and we are very pleased we exceeded expectations in all areas.
We are very passionate about what we do, and proud of it, so it is nice to have it recognised.
"Basil" says thank you, even he has his good moments, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I travel throughout Scotland and Northern England on a weekly basis so I know a good Hotel when I see one.
Many may fall short, possibly even leave you feeling let down,but not the Frenchgate.

Warm welcome at reception, lovely decor, good room, great food , superb bed and pillows.

Some may say in these reviews " its expensive" , Its not , it's high quality , outstanding value for money accommodation .

Room Tip: Only saw a few! they all looked good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
13.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
8.4 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel

Property: The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Address: 59-61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quality of food and menus at the Frenchgate reflect the passion and enthusiasm of the staff. Care is taken to source ingredients locally wherever possible and all our food is all prepared to order. Start with a selection of homemade breads, starters of hand dived scallops, Whitby white crab or carpaccio of local beef, then maybe a loin of Yorkshire lamb together with a confit of shoulder, a fillet of pan roasted halibut cooked to perfection, local game or one of our delicious vegetarian options. Our bar and wine lists match the quality and value of our food. Choose from our superb house recommendations or unique “wine flight” to classic and unusual new world offerings. As well as a range of fine spirits and liqueurs befitting the independent and non corporate feel of The Frenchgate, you can also enjoy a range of both local bottle conditioned ales, and imported beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing