We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely couple who run a first-class B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West End Guest House
Ranked #14 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

It is a joy and pleasure to book into a characterful home, in an olde-worlde location and receive a warm, friendly welcome. My bedroom was well-equipped and spotless, with an ensuite shower-room a couple of steps up.
I was cosy and comfortable, given a welcome tray of tea with cake and cheese - and Mrs McKay's lovely smile and humour. The jolly banter between the couple and their obvious pride in the local area, their beautiful home and the cooked-to-order breakfast made my stay memorable and repeatable.
The only reasons this guest house did not receive my 5-star rating are -
1 Rules. Rules on the phone when booking, rules sent by email upon confirming and notices in the bedroom and shower room. Less is more when it comes to notices - eg no need for 3 warnings about hot water in the shower room and 2 notices about steps in the bedroom and shower room. All but those who require a guide will be able to use the room without hazard.
2 I could not get mobile phone reception anywhere in the guest house or surrounds, which was inconvenient, eg not being able to book a local restaurant table, or ring home to say that I had arrived. There is nothing the McKays can do about phone reception, but if I had known when booking, perhaps per the email that arrived, then I could have made the phone calls whilst still in town.
Over all, a very good B & B indeed. Lovely people. Parking area with cctv. 10 minutes' walk into Richmond. Fab.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 136 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I spent my surprise 50th birthday weekend at the West End Guest House and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

The rooms were lovely, well decorated and very welcoming. The breakfast was lovely with a wide choice available in lovely surroundings

The owners Helen and Ian were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. They helped to make my birthday weekend even more memorable.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay at West End Guest house.

Thank you Helen and Ian

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

West End guest house is set well back from the road in behind some other buildings so is very quiet. Helen welcomed us despite our arriving earlier than expected due to the rain. We were served a cup of tea with fruit cake topped with Wensleydale cheese - an interesting but yummy combination. Our twin room was rather compact as was the ensuite up a couple of stairs from the bedroom. Wifi is not available in all rooms -we had to move out onto the landing to pick up a signal. Breakfast is served to the table by Ian. The food is prepared when ordered so nice and hot when served.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A lovely B&B which was a much nicer place to stay than an anonymous chain hotel. A pleasant welcome from both Ian and Helen and a comfortable and well equipped room. Breakfast also excellent - a very wide selection and well cooked and presented.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Another great 2 night stay. This was my second and my walking friends' first visit and after a lovely welcome followed by tea, cake and cheese we had a chance to chat to Helen. The rooms were really comfortable and spotless and a good night's sleep was followed by an excellent breakfast with plenty of choices which really set us up for the day. Both Helen and Ian are ideal hosts and have a lot of local knowledge and recommending the Italian Restaurant proved to be a good choice. The location of the Guest House plus having it's own parking area is a great advantage being about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Richmond. I would recommend the West End Guest House to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marrbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the Herriot Trail race, which takes place nearby.
We found the room so comfortable, restful and thoughtfully furnished.
Helen is a very vivacious and welcoming hostess and Ian combines a wealth of local knowledge with a warm sense of humour.
Breakfast offers a wide selection of often locally-sourced food. Delicious!
West End is situated in a very quiet location, well off the main road to Reeth, yet is only a short walk into the historic town of Richmond.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at West End Guest House in September 2013 during a 2 night stopover while doing the Coast to Coast walk, booked by Packhorse. Ian and Helen could not have been more welcoming, and the tea, fruit cake and Wensleydale cheese on arrival was heavenly. Ian let me spend a few hours playing a precious semi-acoustic guitar, and Richmond was easily accessible, but far enough away not to disturb the peace. I had the best 2 nights of sleep of the whole walk such was the comfort of the bed and my room. Thank you both. I can't recommend your home more highly.

Room Tip: Ask for the one the celebrities have stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.9 mi away
Strawberry House
Strawberry House
#6 of 51 in Richmond
77 reviews
2.5 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
5.5 mi away
West Layton Manor
West Layton Manor
#5 of 51 in Richmond
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Browson Bank B & B
Browson Bank B & B
#24 of 51 in Richmond
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 51 in Richmond
913 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Address: 45 Reeth Road, Richmond DL10 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: $110 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing