We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West End Guest House
Ranked #12 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful guest house”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We decided to take a short break to explore the area and were very fortunate to find this guest house. Helen made us very welcome with tea & cake on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was well furnished and very comfortable and a lovely range of toiletries in the en-suite. The full English breakfast, served by Ian, was superb, as were the other choices on the menu. Both Ian & Helen were very helpful in advising us of places to go and things to see. In all, they made it a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
66
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Ian and Helen's guest house so we could take part in the local swaledale marathon. The rooms are all first rate, immaculate. Very comfortable with lots of thoughtful touches. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable. Breakfast encompassed all you might want. Would absolutely recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longdistancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Thanks to Ian and Helen for a relaxed time when visiting. The rooms were comfy,spotlessly clean and well furnished, with proper Egyptian cotton quilt covers and duck duvets The breakfast was wonderful with a huge choice of cereals and a full cooked breakfast. They were friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hosts are very friendly and readily provide advice on local walks and attractions. A friend and I stayed in two separate bedrooms. Our beds were very comfortable with nice touches such as duvets that were amply big enough for the bed size. The bathrooms were very well stocked with everything one could need and clearly well thought through. Often the breakfast bit of "B&B" can be a disappointment but, here, it was superb. I had porridge with quince and cream followed by a full English with good quality bacon. The B&B is only a short walk from Richmond centre but they even have umbrellas by the door to borrow, in case the weather is not the best. You can't go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck_Nugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I made a quick booking and arrived rather late after a longer than expected walk but Ian was very welcoming and showed us to a beautiful bedroom complete with luxurious bed and well equipped bathroom. The next morning breakfast was very good with locally sourced bacon, eggs, sausage etc and a wide range of cereals, muesli, porridge etc. Unfortunately the weather was too cold to make use of the lovely garden complete with several sitting areas but we hope to return again to sample it. Highly recommended and only wish our subsequent B&B in Leyburn (owned by an outdoor company) had been half as good.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Superking double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secrethills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Excellent in every way. I rode my motorbike up from London and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of my stay. Recommended for motorcyclists

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Ian and Helen are absolutely lovely as is their guest house. I loved staying here for the weekend and will definitely stay again. My room was beautifully decorated, the breakfast was amazing, with a lot of choice and it is placed in an excellent location in walking distance of Richmond town centre.
They really couldn’t have done enough for me. I was visiting for a friend’s wedding and was planning to get a taxi to the Church but Ian dropped me off instead.
I wasn’t planning on being in Richmond again this year but I really want to come back and do the coast to coast walk now after chatting to Ian and Helen, and I will definitely be staying here.
Thank you so much for making my stay so enjoyable. Highly highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Francesca333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
718 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 51 in Richmond
825 reviews
2.6 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
0.5 mi away
Old Brewery Guest House
Old Brewery Guest House
#6 of 51 in Richmond
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Property: West End Guest House
Address: 45 Reeth Road, Richmond DL10 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing