We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday dinner ”
Review of The Unicorn

The Unicorn
Ranked #67 of 119 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner ”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I decided to try the Sunday dinner. What I was presented with was cooked to perfection and presented nicely, vegetables on the side and gravy in a separate boat the way it should be done. I will be returning to the unicorn again next Sunday but this time with friends.

Helpful?
3 Thank theinspecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never leave hungry...”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have eaten at the Unicorn a number of times since they have started doing food & I have to say I never leave hungry or dissapointed. I particularly enjoy the Steak & Ale Pie, although I have heard they do the biggest & best tasting fish around. The Gourmet Burgers & Doorstep Sandwhich's also seem to be incredibly popular & look great value for money so I will have to try these upon my next visit.
The Unicorn caters for different needs, as a traditional pub with an interesting history it doesn't fail to satisfy.
It also has a seperate restaurant area to the rear & this to is perfect for couples or families wanting a quiet & great value meal. I went recently with my family & we all had something different. The variety & the quality of the food is more than adequate & I would definately recommend a visit to the Unicorn for anyone in the Richmond & Catterick area.

Thank You for continued great meals & the best pint of John Smiths in Richmond

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stopped off here after a hard days kayaking and it was really good. The food was prompt and clearly homemade. The bottomless chips went down really well. The staff were very friendly. We'll definitely come back next time we're in Richmond.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic just what Richmond needs, have eaten here a number of times and never had a bad meal, the ales are always tiptop and all done with a smile. Nothing's too much trouble. The food is always delicious, presented nicely and at a affordable price. Well done

Helpful?
6 Thank theinspecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere and great staff.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We Have eaten at this pub a few times when we have been into Richmond and can highly recommend it.
It is decorated just like a old country pub and behind the bar youll find an extremely friendly landlord and landlady.
The menu is varied enough and the food is lovely.
They also cater for children and were very helpful when we needed things for the kids.
Its well worth a visit if you are visiting the town ether to eat or even just for a drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank jc_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Unicorn also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing