We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cordilleras House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cordilleras House
Ranked #4 of 49 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have stayed at bed and breakfasts in different parts of the world and this ranks up there with one of the best! My wife and I stayed for 3 nights over the first weekend in April 2014 and had a brilliant stay. Liz and Gez are great hosts and have clearly invested a lot of time and effort in making Cordilleras House a very nice property and a welcoming one. We had a very nice cup of tea, apple and walnut cake and chocolate chip cookies on arrival. The room (Swaledale) was very well appointed with a nice big bathroom and very bright and airy. The breakfasts were brilliant and Liz and Gez were more than happy to accommodate dietary needs. They also provided us with recommendations for some great scenic walks in the area and some nice places to eat (Rustique and La Piazza) all of which were very enjoyable! Would recommend without hesitation and will return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestonAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
117
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I were booked in here by our self-guided hiking company, Mickledore, during the second half of our Coast to Coast walk. What an excellent selection! Everything was to perfection and all immaculate. We had a bright, spacious, tastefully decorated room, crisply ironed linens, beautifully outfitted shower, bathrobes, hairdryer, a big window for ventilation. There is even a nice selection of movies (we watched Calendar Girls) that can be watched on the in-room television.
Upon arrival, Liz prepared a marvelous tea for us which included her homebaked walnut cake. Mouth-wateringly delicious! Breakfast the next morning was as perfect as the rest of the visit. Liz even did a load of laundry for us in return for a donation to her charity. Much appreciated by walkers traveling light.
We came back to the USA with wonderful impressions of Yorkshire. The B&Bs are one of the reasons we have chosen England for several long walks. We found Cordilleras house to be outstanding in every category.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

First time at Cordilleras House & it didn't disappoint. It's a lovely property in a great location & the room we had, the Swaledale, was beautiful. Spotlessly clean. The breakfast was good with a varied choice available. Liz & Jez were very welcoming & a nice cup of tea & home made cake on arrival was a nice touch after a day in the hills.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Had one nights stay a week ago. Easy to find and within a five minute walk of Richmond town centre. Gez and Liz were very welcoming and the room was comfortable and clean. Liz got up earlier than usual to cook my husbands breakfast as he had an early morning appointment, this was greatly appreciated. Would recommend to friends and family. Thank you,
Colin and Allison

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We booked Cordilleras after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. Very welcoming hosts, beautiful room (Coverdale) and very tasty breakfast. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights on the May bank holiday weekend. We were up in Yorkshire for a friends wedding at Middleton Lodge (which is only 15mins via taxi, approx £15.)

We really enjoyed our visit at Cordilleras House. Liz & Gez made us feel very comfortable and relaxed. It felt more like a home than a strangers residence to stay at, although they were careful not to intrude and give us our space. The breakfast supplied was nice and tasty - cooked for us each day as well as a selection of cereals. The house is kept immaculately from the entrance garden to the well placed pieces of art throughout the hall and stair ways. Our room was outstanding: they placed us on the top floor where we had a magnificent view of the cricket grounds next door as well as Richmond itself. We loved the bathroom (with waterfall shower) and huge double bed (that can be split into twins.) Had the best sleep ever both nights.

Thanks so much for the great weekend Liz & Gez! We hope to return to do some walks some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_bobby_mules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

From the moment you arrive until the time you leave, nothing is too much trouble.Gez and Liz manage this very subtly without being intrusive.
We stayed in the Wensleydale room which was spacious, clean and well stocked (with tea,coffee,chocolate and biscuits). The beds were very comfortable, the best I've slept in. The bathroom, across the hall (dressing gowns provided) was spacious and had everything you could need, from a shaving kit to shampoo.
We stayed one night (family party) so didn't need to use the well stocked DVD library or books but there was a good choice.
Breakfast was wonderful with a choice of fresh fruit salad, cereal, homemade bread (delicious), English breakfast with a choice of tomato, mushrooms,beans, bacon, sausage, speciality sausage with black pudding in it and eggs.
Cordilleras house is a real home away from home, somewhere to relax, close to Richmond market square (2 minute walk). This is a wonderful place to visit and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 49 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Willance House Guest House
5.6 mi away
West Layton Manor
West Layton Manor
#3 of 49 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#17 of 49 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordilleras House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordilleras House

Property: Cordilleras House
Address: 11 Hurgill Road, Richmond DL10 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically renovated Grade II listed Georgian stone house,3 minutes walk from Richmond market place. Four large, light bedrooms are finished to a high standard, including king or super-king beds with Egyptian cotton bedding, refreshment tray and TV with Freeview. 3 double rooms have luxurious en-suites,with complimentary toiletries, while the triple room has a dedicated, private, luxury bathroom with gowns provided. Excellent home-cooking and warm hospitality awaits everyone. Ideal for short breaks. Walkers, cyclists and families welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cordilleras House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing