We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BnB in beautiful part of the country”
Review of Cordilleras House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cordilleras House
Ranked #3 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great BnB in beautiful part of the country”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights on the May bank holiday weekend. We were up in Yorkshire for a friends wedding at Middleton Lodge (which is only 15mins via taxi, approx £15.)

We really enjoyed our visit at Cordilleras House. Liz & Gez made us feel very comfortable and relaxed. It felt more like a home than a strangers residence to stay at, although they were careful not to intrude and give us our space. The breakfast supplied was nice and tasty - cooked for us each day as well as a selection of cereals. The house is kept immaculately from the entrance garden to the well placed pieces of art throughout the hall and stair ways. Our room was outstanding: they placed us on the top floor where we had a magnificent view of the cricket grounds next door as well as Richmond itself. We loved the bathroom (with waterfall shower) and huge double bed (that can be split into twins.) Had the best sleep ever both nights.

Thanks so much for the great weekend Liz & Gez! We hope to return to do some walks some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_bobby_mules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
132
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

From the moment you arrive until the time you leave, nothing is too much trouble.Gez and Liz manage this very subtly without being intrusive.
We stayed in the Wensleydale room which was spacious, clean and well stocked (with tea,coffee,chocolate and biscuits). The beds were very comfortable, the best I've slept in. The bathroom, across the hall (dressing gowns provided) was spacious and had everything you could need, from a shaving kit to shampoo.
We stayed one night (family party) so didn't need to use the well stocked DVD library or books but there was a good choice.
Breakfast was wonderful with a choice of fresh fruit salad, cereal, homemade bread (delicious), English breakfast with a choice of tomato, mushrooms,beans, bacon, sausage, speciality sausage with black pudding in it and eggs.
Cordilleras house is a real home away from home, somewhere to relax, close to Richmond market square (2 minute walk). This is a wonderful place to visit and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Cordilleras House served as a wonderful base for a whistlestop stay in Richmond. Staying in the Wenslydale Room I was spoilt with views over Richmond CC. The room was bright and airy and extremely comfortable. Everything had been thought of to make the stay enjoyable, memorable and restful. I had the best nights sleep for a long time on a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge and very well appointed, complete with complimentary toiletries. Finally, the breakfast (with the excellent choice of home made and local produce - the black pudding sausage was a treat) was first class. Every last detail had been thought of - we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed for two nights as a part of a group for a mini break. Liz and Gez made us feel so welcome and apart of the family nothing was too much trouble. We were welcomed with tea and homemade cake made by Liz which was delicious and who makes an amazing breakfast with all the choice you need. The accommodation is stunning, beautiful rooms in a lovely period house. The room was beautiful and the attention to detail was remarkable with everything that you could possibly need and chocolates on the pillows. The location is superb just a few minutes walk from all the shops and restaurants of Richmond and on the doorstep to access the beautiful surroundings of the dales.
Thanks Liz and Gez for a great stay we hope to be back again soon for another game of Logo!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennabeth81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhill
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed here on my own for one night and really felt welcome without being intrusive. They were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and even though the private bathroom was across the hall, its size and great shower made up for that. It also felt private despite this. The room was lovely with lots of really lovely little extras. breakfast was excellent with an amazing fruit salad included as well as smoothies and obviously a full English too. I would definitely recommend staying here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumofone120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic one night stay with Ges and Liz, we were made very welcome straight away with a drink and the most yummy homemade cake. We both felt at home the minute we walked in, what a fabulous period property with great original features, our hosts have done a brilliant job of adding just the right amount of personal touches together with information, maps, books and dvds to borrow as mentioned by previous reviewers.

We also stayed in Swaledale which offers a great view of the cricket ground, we were lucky enough to get some gorgeous early evening sun and it was so pleasant to sit in the comfy chairs and have a chat in this beautifully decorated and immaculately clean room which has all the special touches you need to make a comfortable stay. There are drinks facilities on offer together with toiletries which were very welcome - we both had a fantastic sleep and were met again with a warm welcome at breakfast.

Breakfast was really tasty and again everything you need is there for you, its lovely to see that Liz bakes her own bread and cakes, we have never been treated to homemade bread anywhere we have stayed before, Ges and Liz are on hand to ensure you are catered for but aren't overbearing like some hosts we have come across in the past.

During the last few years we have stayed in several lovely b+bs but this one is now my favourite, we hope to return in the future.

Wanted to mention also that you are perfectly situated for Richmond, just a short walk away which is really handy.

Thanks again Ges and Liz, this weekend was our belated Valentines break and we are so glad we chose to stay at Cordilleras House its been really special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PINKPRINCESS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our first visit to Richmond and this B&B is a fantastic find. My wife and I only stayed for one night but we already looking forward to returning. We stayed in Swaledale room which is on the second floor overlooking the cricket ground. It was a nicely appointed, quiet room with a very comfortable, king-sized bed meaning that had a great nights sleep after some nice beer in town, which is a five minute walk away. Lovely bathroom with soft towels and a great shower over the bath. My wife was looking forward to checking in when we arrived to sample afternoon tea and home-made cakes - Liz bakes a mean victoria sponge. Breakfast, including a choice of brown and white bread baked on the premises, was freshly cooked and very tasty (try the black pudding sausages - really!). The guest house is well stocked with DVDs, books and guide books that you are invited to borrow. We enjoyed meeting Gez and Liz who were great hosts and we look forward to returning when we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
779 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Brewery Guest House
Old Brewery Guest House
#7 of 51 in Richmond
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Willance House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordilleras House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordilleras House

Property: Cordilleras House
Address: 11 Hurgill Road, Richmond DL10 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically renovated Grade II listed Georgian stone house,3 minutes walk from Richmond market place. Four large, light bedrooms are finished to a high standard, including king or super-king beds with Egyptian cotton bedding, refreshment tray and TV with Freeview. 3 double rooms have luxurious en-suites,with complimentary toiletries, while the triple room has a dedicated, private, luxury bathroom with gowns provided. Excellent home-cooking and warm hospitality awaits everyone. Ideal for short breaks. Walkers, cyclists and families welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cordilleras House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing