We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfick!”
Review of Cordilleras House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cordilleras House
Ranked #3 of 50 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
190 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Perfick!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have stayed in dozens of B and B's over the years and this is up there with the best of them, possibly THE best. I would give it a six star rating if I could. The welcome was terrific with tea and cake and the rooms were superb with every convenience catered for. The place was immaculately clean and the quality of sheets and bedding was excellent as was the tea tray and the fluffy towels. Our room had it's own huge bathroom across the landing but this was not a problem. The owners have sensibly dispensed with a wardrobe and use instead some hooks and hangers which makes the room bigger and dispenses with largely pointless fuirniture. And then there was the breakfast which was delicious with freshly baked bread and an inviting choice. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
121
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Arrived on our motorbike was told to park in courtyard even went through kitchen with our luggage to make it easier for us unloading the bike nothing too much trouble.Very helpful in telling us where to eat that evening.clean rooms great breakfast especially the home made granola.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poll779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a perfect stopover in Richmond, staying at Cordilleras. The bed and breakfast is very clean and welcoming and the hosts are friendly. The décor in the rooms and house is lovely, it is a beautiful place. Breakfast was great, very well cooked and tasty. The location of the bed and breakfast is perfect for exploring Richmond. We would choose Cordilleras again if staying in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Wensleydale as we had our daughter with us and this room is a triple. The bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumbria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Found this on Richmond.org after giving up with the selections on the usual search engines. The description on that site and its photographs are a true reflection of this B&B. The place has got a peaceful air about it, mixing modern décor with some great period features.

We had the Wensleydale room which was a fair sized family room. The bed was very comfortable with good quality linen. This is the only room that is not en-suite. As the B&B only has a handful of rooms this didn't really present an issue.The positive was that we had a really spacious bathroom (double shower, no bath) directly across from the bedroom and for our use only. The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries that you'd expect from larger hotels.

The breakfast items were all good quality and plentiful. Our hosts were attentive without being obtrusive, and were genuinely very helpful and interested in us.

Our room was facing the road, but this seemed to be quiet. There is no parking directly at the B&B but there is a large pay and display car park to the rear. This charged between 8am - 6pm. we opted to pay the £4.10 which covered 10hours which these days is really reasonable.

The market square is a 5 minute walk from the B&B which makes it a good location. We took a punt on Richmond for a 2night break and were very happy with it, would recommend this as the B&B to base yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSBsMIssus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spend two nights at this B&B and cannot find a fault! Tea and cake on arrival was gorgeous and the perfect end to a long drive. The room was spacious, well decorated and comfy, with Liz and Gez being the perfect hosts. I believe they even helped my fiancé to arrange flowers and homemade cakes to be in our room on arrival on very short notice.

All in all, a great weekend away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay relatively close to Durham as we had a long journey up from Surrey to drop our daughter off at University, and chose Cordilleras based on its reviews.
We could not have hoped for a better place to stay -after an 8 hour drive the tea and homemade cake on arrival was a wonderfully welcoming touch.
The house itself is beautiful, our room was spacious, bright and scrupulously clean.
Breakfast excellent, Liz and Gez are fabulous hosts -we will certainly be back to explore Richmond, the surrounding area and have another slice of plum cake!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've just spent three nights at this lovely B&B in Richmond. Liz and Gez were great hosts, with tea and cake on arrival, a smashing breakfast every morning. With plenty of suggestions for places to eat in the evening, and alternative days out when the weather played havoc I with some of our plans! The B&B it's self was spacious, nicely decorated with a good DVD collection for rainy evenings! The proximity of the public car park was hastle free and convenient, and Richmond it's self is a lovely place to visit. with the Georgian theatre, and castle, it's a great base for the local area. Overall a lovely place to stay, that I whole heartily recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Willance House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#18 of 50 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordilleras House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordilleras House

Property: Cordilleras House
Address: 11 Hurgill Road, Richmond DL10 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically renovated Grade II listed Georgian stone house,3 minutes walk from Richmond market place. Four large, light bedrooms are finished to a high standard, including king or super-king beds with Egyptian cotton bedding, refreshment tray and TV with Freeview. 3 double rooms have luxurious en-suites,with complimentary toiletries, while the triple room has a dedicated, private, luxury bathroom with gowns provided. Excellent home-cooking and warm hospitality awaits everyone. Ideal for short breaks. Walkers, cyclists and families welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cordilleras House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing