We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting tour.”

Georgian Theatre Royal
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An interesting tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a beautiful theatre. The tour was very interesting and the tour guide certainly knew about the history and could answer all of our questions. We are hoping to be able to see a production there soon to get the full experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    30
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“possibly the most beautiful little theatre in the UK, and certainly the oldest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a guided tour which showed us everything and lots of history thrown in too. This theatre has had a fascinating history and has been beautifully preserved. Well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roro124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“pantomime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The best pantomime we've ever seen. Traditional, funny, slapstick, some double entendre but not too much, and a real pony pulling Cinderellas coach and no celebrities

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“French evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Beautiful little theatre. Amazing experience being in the Shakepeare box ( good for us as we come from Warwickshire !) The theatre is a joy and we wouldn't have minded what the show was. Very friendly staff. An overall lovely experience

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeffandbridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Calling all thespians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Don't miss this place if you are interested in the theatre. Just popped in as I was passing by and joined in a fascinating tour of the theatre including backstage on stage and under the stage.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmgLowFell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgian Theatre Royal also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Georgian Theatre Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing