We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem”

Georgian Theatre Royal
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Guided tours not available during winter but we were allowed to poke our heads around the door to see inside.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tissalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    30
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A gem of a theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I love the Georgian! It is unique - the only remaining Georgian theatre in the country, and a visit to it is incredibly evocative. You feel as if you have stepped back in time. There are downsides - the seating is incredibly uncomfortable, with minimal leg room (and no backs to the benches in the gallery!). It is, however, authentic - and only adds to the atmosphere. We took a mixed family group to see "Babes in the Wood" - which was an authentically old fashioned pantomime with no star names but lots of charm. Our kids were thrilled to see people they knew from their youth theatre in the chorus - and even more thrilled to show relatives the stage on which they have performed themselves. This is a lovely family theatre - do try it and enjoy it!

The theatre has the huge advantage of a modern extension which houses a bar / lift / toilets and makes the whole outing run much more smoothly. My only real negative would be the box office staff who are unfailingly bemused by their computer!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“comes to life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went to see this year's panto - you are so close to the stage you can't help but feel part of the production. Brings theatre to life for children

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Belle279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leg room !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Worth visiting for the unusual experience, and a nice John Godber play (a bit incongruous for the theatre's period !). Not the most comfortable couple of hours we have ever spent - even for those of us with shortish legs there's a distinct lack of leg-room, and (with numbered seats - why not just numbered rows ???) late-comers mean the entire row has to file out, let them in, and file back in again; don't get taken ill during a performance ! But we take our hats off to those (particularly our guide during the afternoon) whose enthusiasm continues to maintain this very interesting old theatre. Certainly a memorable visit !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“This beautiful theatre is a must-see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We did the tour of the theatre at 4 pm (hourly) but not during November/December, then we went back to see a play (Happy Jack). This theatre is an absolute gem, and the tour is a must. Definitely worth taking the time to visit if you are in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 922Lancashire_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgian Theatre Royal also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Georgian Theatre Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing