We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but lacks any wow factor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is excellently positioned on the main square of this lovely market town. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room, number 3, looked out over the square which meant we were slightly disturbed by noisy revellers but that is hardly the hotels fault. The room was spacious with a very large comfortable bed . The bathroom was very much in need of a complete overhaul. The floor tiles were cracked, there was no lock on the door and the shower was very poor. Breakfast was fine. Decent coffee. Well cooked food but poor selection of cereals and fruit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmgLowFell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest .We are really pleased you had a pleasant stay but we are working really hard through a refurbishment program .we hope you will come back 7 be wowed by us again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
There are newer reviews for The King's Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 799 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

A well situated hotel on the town square. The staff are extremely helpful and efficient. They food is of a high quality and of more than adequate portions. The only drawback is the lack of a lift especially if you are on the second floor. I am content to return at a later date.
Elliott Krasner

Room Tip: As no lift a first floor room would be preferable
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Elliott K Thank you very much for you lovely comments & we are thrilled you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Arrived here as part of a cycling trip with friends across the country. Very friendly welcome from the lady on reception who was also setting up for dinner, despite obviously being very busy she was fantastic and very helpful. There was a slight error with the booking, but this was sorted out quickly and professionally, between the lady and the manager, who was also a really nice guy, with a free breakfast thrown in as an apology, which I felt was over and above what they needed to do (the problem was rectified in a few minutes).

The rooms are very comfortable, look to have had a soft refurb in recent months, and I slept like the dead (though riding through the lake district that day no doubt helped!).

Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and the checkout was just as friendly as the welcome. Recomended. Thanks!

Room Tip: town Market sets up very early in the morning so choose a room not facing onto the street if you wan...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Jim R Thank you for taking the time to express such wonderful comments on your stay with us. We hope that you can come & visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel is nice & central & has parking all ways a plus point. The staff are brilliant, the rooms clean, comfortable & well stocked. We stayed 3 nights on a half board basis & enjoyed all meals even good beer. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Phillip C We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much 7 we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on half board basis. The food was very good and the breakfast was cooked to order, the portions were plentiful and all very tasty. The cleanliness of the rooms was excellent as was the location of the hotel. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear gemma 38 Thank you very much for the lovely feedback & it is much appreciated by all of us. We hope that you will come & visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great room, bed was very comfortable with a lovely view over the centre of Richmond. nice food and good service, amazing and very welcoming staff, Lorna and Ceira were excellent very welcoming. 2nd visit and I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Distant_travelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.I will pass on your thanks to the named staff & hope you will be able to come back & visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Having had a long journey from the South on the A1, decided to pull off motorway and found ourselves in Richmond and decided to stop for an early evening meal. Ask at reception if there was any bar food on, and a nice young gentlemen showed us into the bar, where we were greeted by a lovely mature lady, who clearly had just come on her shift, was delightful and very efficient in serving us. The meal came within 20 minutes and I must say was fresh, hot and very tasty and wholesome, I can recommend the Kings Head Burger, which was served on a board, with fresh salad, and the Burger was cooked to perfection with just the right seasoning. Thankyou to the Chef and thankyou to the lady who served us, well worth the diversion off the A1, next time in the area, will stay a while longer. Thanking you for a nice visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mabluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest .Thank you for your lovely comments, I will personally pass on your thanks to our chef & FOH staff & we look forward to seeing you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
4.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
170 reviews
19.9 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#15 of 51 in Richmond
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#18 of 51 in Richmond
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Address: 10 Market Place, Richmond DL10 4HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $100 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Head Hotel is situated in the centre of the beautiful Georgian town of Richmond. Step out of the front door and you will be faced with stunning river walks, Easby Abbey, the famous Green Howards museums and Richmond Castle. By car you have every Dale in Yorkshire to visit - with spectacular views and many places of interest. Our Georgian hotel offers our guests a true home from home - cosy lounges with log fires during winter days, an award-winning restaurant and bar serving traditional Yorkshire ales. Each room has its own individual charm; all are en-suite and non-smoking and all offer the facilities that one would expect to find - colour TV, courtesy tray to make your own tea or coffee, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and internet access. The en-suite bathrooms offer both a bath and shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Richmond
The King's Head Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing