We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff, wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I am on the third night of a three night stay at the kings head hotel for business and I have had a faultless stay. I have eaten in the hotel restaurant every night and have enjoyed excellent food and second to none service. I would particularly like to mention Louis and Pat who were both friendly and attentive and made my stay so enjoyable. They went above and beyond to make me feel very welcome. Wifi coverage has been very good all over the hotel and my room has been very comfortable and decorated to a high standard. Extra touches such a bottled water, fruit and extra milk have been very much appreciated.
I will definitely return to the kings head and would recommend to colleagues, friends and family. Many thanks also to the hotel manager who made time to listen to my feedback and who provided me with extra helpful info about the hotel and the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank green1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
My team and I are so thrilled with all your wonderful comments. It was a pleasure to sit with you and have some direct feedback, you were so complimentary in every area. I have personally passed on your praise to both Luis and Pat who were so pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    225
    85
    50
    35
See reviews for
118
321
29
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just had 3 night Tesco break. This is a warm and welcoming old country style hotel full of character. The hotel is very pleasant very clean and the staff v friendly and helpful special mention for Simon. Breakfast was excellent. Once again best western properties hit the mark would definitely revisit

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
I have passed on all your kind comments to the team, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent break with us. I have especailly mentioned to Simon that you have mentioned him. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was a bit perturbed when we were told to take the stairs then the fire exit door - we'd only just arrived.....Room 22 was the only bedroom on a small landing at the back of the hotel. The door was tiny but didn't bother me as I'm tiny too, the bed was enormous but so was the room & the ensuite bathroom. Everything was not straight, it was like being in Alice in Wonderland. If you didn't lock the wardrobe door it flew open with a loud creak, the floor seemed to be uphill in every direction & the windows. You get the picture!!! Full of character and clean & quiet. The staff were lovely & we had the best nights sleep for a long time. Only slight niggle was water pressure was a bit low so showering took my husband an age. Thanks for a memorable stay - a lot of hotels don't get big groups right but they did here.

Room Tip: If you want complete peace & quiet in a huge bed room 22!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for all your comments, some of which have lead us to do some work in the room you stayed in, even though you say it was quirky we have made sure we have mended the issues that you had. Thank you for your Kind comments about the team and I have passed these on. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Called in for lunch Saturday afternoon after visiting Angel Bakery ( as seen on tv).My husband had the pie of the day and I had risotto both which were delicious and served very quickly. The tables were spotless with fresh flowers and the décor was very relaxing. The staff were attentive and very knowledgeable especially the young waiter explaining the choices of coffee to the couple next to us ,what a star he was. Will definitely go again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemrigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for all your lovely comments, I have passed these on to the team and have especially mentioned to Luis who was the young man that you have commented on. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I met at this venue 7 years ago and to celebrate decided to go back to have dinner. The dining room has been decorated recently and looks nice and fresh with neutral colour scheme. We had a very good meal, attentive staff, and thoroughly enjoyed our 'date'!! Would recommend for an evening meal...... Or for drinks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your recent "date night" in our restaurant. I have passed on to the team all your lovely comments. I can't be sure from your review, but if you are local and passing by soon, call in and join our Birthday Club, where you can eat free on your birthday in our restaurant and only the guest or guests with you pay. We really do look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here 3 times now, the first time I stayed was with work, and I was so impressed I booked to come back for pleasure before I left! The staff are all really friendly and helpful, and have all been the same each time I've been, which is a good sign! The lounge is nice and comfortable and the log fire is welcoming! The food in the bar is adequate - but there are so many restaurants in Richmond you don't have to eat here! On my 3rd visit I was welcomed by the reception manager by name, and she had all my paperwork ready for me! I also was given the deluxe suite! The bathroom was big enough to party in, with a corner bath! I will definitely stay here again, and again, and again.........

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Helen25364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
My team and I are so thrilled with all your lovely comments. The consistency that you have experiened is wonderful and I am so pleased with the team. We can always do better but consistency in what we do is our main aim. We really do hope to see you again very soon be it work or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
4.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 50 in Richmond
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#18 of 50 in Richmond
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 50 in Richmond
791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 50 in Richmond
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Property: The King's Head Hotel
Address: 10 Market Place, Richmond DL10 4HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Head Hotel is situated in the centre of the beautiful Georgian town of Richmond. Step out of the front door and you will be faced with stunning river walks, Easby Abbey, the famous Green Howards museums and Richmond Castle. By car you have every Dale in Yorkshire to visit - with spectacular views and many places of interest. Our Georgian hotel offers our guests a true home from home - cosy lounges with log fires during winter days, an award-winning restaurant and bar serving traditional Yorkshire ales. Each room has its own individual charm; all are en-suite and non-smoking and all offer the facilities that one would expect to find - colour TV, courtesy tray to make your own tea or coffee, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and internet access. The en-suite bathrooms offer both a bath and shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Richmond
The King's Head Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing