We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Wedding at The Kings Head Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Wedding at The Kings Head Hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We held our wedding at the Kings Head Hotel during September 2013 and could not have asked for more! We had such a fantastic day and our family and friends all commented on what a great wedding it was! The ceremony was held in the lovely dining room at the front of the hotel, the Wedding Breakfast and Evening Reception were both held in the beautiful Ballroom and everything just looked stunning. All of our wedding ideas and contributions were included throughout and the general manager, Myckala and her assistant Danielle were able to confidently advise on anything else. The food was superb and well presented, the service provided by all the staff was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for any of them! Myckala made sure that she was available throughout all of the day and also the evening, even helping to carry all our wedding gifts to our room well after midnight! We have two small children who were made very welcome and were well catered for. Our room was lovely, clean, attractively decorated with a very comfortable bed and an enormous bathroom and was very conveniently located on the same floor as the wedding celebrations. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Kings Head to any couple looking for a great wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Bride & Groom The team are really pleased that your wedding day was everything that you hoped & we would love you to continue to come back & see us often
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    231
    87
    51
    35
See reviews for
124
335
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent large bedroom, massive bath, excellent dinner and breakfast, kind attentive staff. We were welcomed and treated royally throughout our visit. Comfort was present in the bar restaurant and my car was parked ten yards fro the front door.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet 'cos although centre of town there is no thru traffic in Market Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely feedback & we would love for you to come back & see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night mid September on our way south. When my husband said he had booked a Best Western I thought - basic, clean and ordinary. How wrong was I! The hotel is a listed building and has only recently joined Best Western. Our room [ number 31 ] was a lovely mix of modern styling and traditional features and very, very comfortable. There was even a huge ensuite reached via a 'hidden' panel in the wall. Absolutely brilliant! If all rooms are of the same standard as ours was then the hotel is well worth a visit.

We had dinner at night in the comfortable restaurant and were treated to a very interesting and tempting menu. Food and drinks were served by a lovely collection of waiting staff, all very different and charming in their own way.

The hotel is on the central square in Richmond, which boasts an eclectic mix of shops and a castle. We managed the shops but the castle will have to wait till our next trip as time was limited.

All in all, a lovely place to visit and a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the square and I think the street cleaners were out early doors so perhaps not i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmac812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest -Thank you for your lovely feedback & that you really enjoyed your stay in our unique historic hotel. The team look forward to welcoming your return to visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond north yorks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I would to thank the staff for a lovely night on Friday 20th September, for making a special occasion all the more special with their attentive and polite manor, the staff are a credit to the hotel. We were delighted with the meal so thanks to the chef. Most of all Micheala a massive thank you from all the family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here after a few days at a very bland, pricy Jurys in Edinburgh. Not only was this better value it was a refreshing change and far more enjoyable on every single level.

GOOD
Spacious room
Excellent bed and linen
Retro decor - quirky and individual
Incredibly helpful manager and friendly staff
Good food
Character & individuality
Handy location
Easy parking

BAD
No lift
Err...that's it!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BingoBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest The team are absolutely delighted that you really enjoyed your stay here & would love to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night, the room was small (room1) but clean and met our needs. The staff were very professional and polite. The food was amazing. The downside was the noise outside our room from the street below from drunken revellers. I know this is out with the hotels control. But I would recommend that when you book make sure you get a room at the front of the hotel not the side or you will be awake all night. But lovely location and great food !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobD_AngieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest We are really pleased you had a brilliant stay & many apologies for the late night happy people but do hope you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

stayed for one night in August. Nice hotel with comfortable and spacious bedroom. we ate in the hotel in the evening and the quality of the meal and the price was very good. Breakfast was fine. A pleasant relaxing stay in this nice town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAEMEL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KingsH, Guest Relations Manager at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely comments & we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
4.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#17 of 50 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#18 of 50 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Property: The King's Head Hotel
Address: 10 Market Place, Richmond DL10 4HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Head Hotel is situated in the centre of the beautiful Georgian town of Richmond. Step out of the front door and you will be faced with stunning river walks, Easby Abbey, the famous Green Howards museums and Richmond Castle. By car you have every Dale in Yorkshire to visit - with spectacular views and many places of interest. Our Georgian hotel offers our guests a true home from home - cosy lounges with log fires during winter days, an award-winning restaurant and bar serving traditional Yorkshire ales. Each room has its own individual charm; all are en-suite and non-smoking and all offer the facilities that one would expect to find - colour TV, courtesy tray to make your own tea or coffee, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and internet access. The en-suite bathrooms offer both a bath and shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Richmond
The King's Head Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing