We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Similar to Erika C, we were also ripped off by this hotel. We stayed at this hotel on several occasions but when we returned home we discovered we had been incorrectly charged for nights that we had previously cancelled well within their cancellation policy time frame. Despite numerous emails and calls to the hotel they would not reverse the charges and we have had to pursue the matter through our credit card issuer. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 671Smash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
14
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

When you entered the hotel, it was a bit difficult to find out where you were going to check in as no one welcomed you. Very creaky and old fashioned but I didn't have a problem with my stay at all. Our room was a decent size, the bathroom was huge! The race course is literally over the road from the hotel and it's nice to have a wonder around as its in a lovely area. The food I ate at the hotel (a chicken burger & chips at night and a full english breakfast on the morning) was absolutely lovely.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, except people who are scared of spiders... we counted 10 in our room!!!

I liked the biscuits that came with the tea and coffee, it was a nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel fraudulantly charged my credit card double the cost of the room. When I discovered this after returning home from my vacation, I repeatedly contacted them with no response. I finally phoned them overseas to complain to the manager. I was told they'd look at their credit card slips in a few weeks time - no apology or admission of the overcharge - and no reimbursement! After a month had passed since my stay there, I still wasn't reimbursed. I finally put a fraud claim through my credit card company to get my money back from these scam artists!

Aside from being crooks - the hotel was old and dirty and in need of repair. The carpets were filthy and the bathrooms had a terrible stink to them. There was no food being served the night we stayed there. The only positive thing I can say, is that the chef seemed like a nice guy and he made good porridge for breakfast. Overall, it was a terrible stay that cost me a fortune!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed overnight here as we were attending Catterick Races. You could not ask for a better location only over the road from the racecourse. On arriving we found the manager to be very welcoming and pleasant. The hotel is an old building however, the rooms are spacious and very clean. The bar had a really nice atmosphere with helpful staff. We enjoyed our evening meal which was very reasonably priced. Good food too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a very dated hotel we arrived at 1pm for a trip to the races I was told my room was ready but couldn't check in until 2 so we had to leave our luggage in reception the room itself when we did check in was nice but very dated we was in a front room off the hotel (pub) you will need a pair of earplugs as the noise from the road at the front was very loud at that was all night next morning there was no hot water at all and when I complained was basically told hard luck as the boiler was bust as it was very old me and my wife went for breakfast and my wife asked for full English without the meat as she is vegetarian and got 1 tomato 3 mushrooms and a blob of scrabbled egg I didn't bother maybe it was just is having a bad day but to get charged 75 pounds (terrible)not recommend

Room Tip: Try to stop at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a good hotel that is gradually being refurbised by the new owner.
Decor is generally a bit tired but rooms are comfortable and clean.
Food is of a very good standard and the steaks served on a stone are simply wonderful.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back with a river view. Rooms at the front can be a little noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Great breakfast and service with a smile. Rooms are a bit dated but the bed was very comfortable and we had a view out onto the river. Fantastic location for Catterick race course which was what we wanted. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
718 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
150 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
1.5 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Property: Bridge House Hotel
Address: Catterick Bridge, Richmond DL10 7PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Bridge House Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing