We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect fish and chips” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King William IV Pub & Restaurant - CLOSED

The King William IV Pub & Restaurant
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: A true local village pub/restaurant serving traditional homemade food and fine ales with a warm friendly atmosphere. Our aim is to create the perfect dining experience for our customers within the restaurant, snug and bar areas with exceptional customer service. We also offer a well equipped games room including pool table, darts board and free WI-FI. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly pub venue so why not take full advantage of our spacious beer garden. Our outside areas include a well equipped play area for the children, mini crazy golf course, designated smoking shelter, BBQ area, quoits pitches and plenty of outside seating areas If its just a pint your after NO PROBLEM! Come and join us in our warm bar/snug areas with open fires and our friendly staff serving a good selection of beers, lagers, ciders, real ale and wines. Our other facilities include disabled access & toilet, baby changing facility and ample parking. We also cater for business meetings and conferences for up to 18 people
Richmond N Yorks
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Young chef is quickly establishing himself as a master of pub food. Quick service and wellworth a visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr CK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The King William IV Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our fish & chips. We are always striving to deliver quality food so it is great to receive positive feedback from our customers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

my partner and I had sunday lunch there yesterday, it was faultless, hadn't been for a long time, didn't realise it had changed hands, the new owners are lovely, and very welcoming, it is super clean and the décor is fresh, would not hesitate in recommending the king willie to anyone.
thank you once again for a lovely sunday dinner

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnie22tv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The King William IV Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is good for us to receive such positive feedback particularly from customers who have not visited the pub for some time. We all hope to see you again soon at the King William.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have eaten at the 'King Willy' on may occasions and had some great meals; however today we ate there and the grub was sensational. We had homemade Chinese style chicken curry and Cajun chicken salad. The curry was tasty, served with homemade chips, and the cajun chicken was spicy and very moreish. Service was excellent and we were extended a very warm welcome. An excellent eating experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The King William IV Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. It helps us greatly to get clear and constructive feedback regarding our service and food quality. We look forward to welcoming you back at the King William in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Best meal i've had in ages, seafood was to die for! All the staff were very friendly, amazing atmosphere and there was nothing i could improve on. Next time im in Richmond i wouldn't think twice about staying here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlotte c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The King William IV Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the King William and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

You'll need to go a long way to find a more friendly pub.
The food is of good value and well proportioned.
The atmosphere is how a pub should be with plenty going on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daveclov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The King William IV Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor. We take all the feedback received to review our working practices on an on-going basis. Your input is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the King William in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King William IV Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 
East Layton, Richmond
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing