We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millgate House
Ranked #1 of 49 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

My partner and I and laterly my husband have stayed here twice. It is totally gorgoeus, we loved the personal touch. I would hightly recommend,

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMCRHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
122
380
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Our daughter chose this venue for her wedding for 30 people and she could not have chosen better. The house is beautiful, elegant and stylish, packed with wonderful furniture and antiques. The bedrooms are very individual with some lovely bathrooms and not only are tea and freshly ground coffee provided but also small snifters of malt whisky. Where else would you find that? Our hosts, Austin and Tim, could not have given us better service and went out of their way to make sure everything ran smoothly and make it a weekend our daughter will never forget. The wedding meal they provided was superb, definitely the best lamb we have ever tasted and the breakfast could not have been bettered by a 5 star hotel. All in all we had a wonderful weekend due in no small part to the wonderful house and the warm welcome we received. The wedding was everything we had hoped for and more. This really is a hidden gem.
Ian & Joan, Cheshire

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

We stayed in Millgate House for two nights with a number of family and friends occupying the bedrooms and the coach house. Oz and Tim are outstanding hosts and will happily satisfy any request from freshly ground coffee for your room to a query about any item of their outstanding collection of objects of beauty around their wonderful home. You are a guest of two people anxious only to please and share with you their love of the good things in life from music and books to paintings and plants.

As a larger group , we took the opportunity to arrange a dinner in the glorious dining room. This was a privilege, one of the most memorable meals of my life. All the food was locally sourced and of a very high standard, served in outstanding surroundings by courteous,smiling staff and owners. How they manage it with the facilities at their disposal is a testament to their very high standards of care, management and professionalism.

The bedrooms are eclectic, individual and extremely comfortable, the reception rooms are wonderful, the garden a magical place and the owners seem like old friends.

A word of warning though, don't be too cynical about all the previous reviews; no one is
exaggerating !

To paraphrase George Orwell from his description of the perfect pub, there may be no such place as The Moon under the Water but there is a place called Millgate House and it will live forever in my soul.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedSManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

This might just be the finest guest-house I have ever stayed in. During my stay here, in November 2009, I was impressed with everything that Millgate House had to offer.
The house interior is nothing short of beautiful with its fine attention to detail; polished silver in abundance, stunning pictures, elegant furniture.............. the views from the back-facing rooms are stunning with the spectacular River Swale visible, and hills in the foreground. The breakfast was excellent and far superior to what you normally get in an average guest-house. The garden reminds me of something you see next to an Italian Villa with its lovely sloping paths and huge variety of all things botanical !
Tim and Austin are both impeccable hosts and have time for all their guests. Nothing is too much trouble for them. In short, Millgate House is sublime.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umbria99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

Or was it October 1809... that's what it felt like! So: ' To Richmond, North Yorkshire, to attend this charming town's book festival and to promote my own modest tome about 'The Archers'. Alighting from our carriage in the market square, we walked a few paces to Millgate House, our residence - I may say 'home', - for our two-night sojourn. The proprietors, Messrs Lynch and Culkin, informally known as Oz and Tim, were immediately on hand to assist with my reticule and to show us to our delightful chamber, complete with its own wigging room, which housed a clever device for brewing one's own tea and coffee. The room was furnished with every comfort and after a good night's sleep we descended to the sunlit dining room to the strains of Mr Haydn to partake of an exceptional repast of fruit and cereals with more substantial fare should one desire. The appreciative sounds of other diners testified to its deliciousness. The weather permitted us a stroll in the delightful garden, a wonderful example of the coming 'romantic' style, its roses and clematis still flowering despite the season. What, I wonder, will become of this place 200 years hence - the year 2009? Doubtless the tradition of hospitality and the pursuit of excellence in every detail will remain.'

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silentcharacter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

The best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. Sumptious, beautiful house, fantastic breakfast and the finest garden in Yorkshire.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derwent16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Austin and Tim were helpful and accomodating even before I arrived, with quick travel tips based on my interests.
As an RHS member, what could be better than staying in a home that is part of a recommended garden? I needed more time than I had to completely explore the garden.The booklet with plant list was excellent and a great source.
As someone interested in things Georgian, I appreciated the home, antiques and books, coming away with a number of decorating ideas. I was able to buy a couple of prints and will frame and display a la Millgate.
Breakfast was incomparable with a buffet of bowl after bowl of delicious fruit and a large variety of intriguing cereals. Hot breakfasts too were available. One morning there were a number of guests, all talking, who suddenly stopped when classical music started.Peace descended on the room and we were all able to enjoy breakfast, the setting and the views of the garden.
What I loved most:
The gothic wrought iron railing on the balcony that repeated in the garden.
The whippets and their naps.
The small decanter of whisky in my room. The view of the garden and hills from my room.The sound of the River Swale rushing by at night.
The velvet Queen Anne wing chair where Austin does his emails.
The window on the landing with its' collection of treasures.
Tim's advice on the route I should take through the Dales on my return to Manchester. The drive was incredibly beautiful and I got many of my best shots. The garden behind The King's Arms was splendid.
The recommendation of the Frenchgate Hotel for dinner - fantastic-see my Trip Advisor comments.
And of course Austin and Tim, who even though they see thousands of people pass through, have a knack of making you feel as if you are a family friend.
I would visit again and I would highly recommend Millgate to discerning travelers who can appreciate what Austin and Tim have accomplished.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevoraPanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
4.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 49 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
5.8 mi away
West Layton Manor
West Layton Manor
#3 of 49 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#15 of 49 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate House

Property: Millgate House
Address: 3 Millgate, Richmond DL10 4JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alan Titchmarsh Britain's Best Gardens 2015. Winner of a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award 2016 .... Named as one of the best ten BBS in the UK By Trip Advisor 2016. Named B & B of the Year UK and winner of a National Cesar Award ("oscar" of the hotel industry awarded by The Good Hotel Guide)...Amazing Georgian townhouse with walled garden(National Winner out of 3200 entries)(featued Gardeners' World BBC TV) in the centre of town but tranquil and peaceful. Referred to as "one of the nicest guesthouses in the UK" by Lonely Planet. Located in beautiful Richmond ...Ideal for touring the Yorkshire Dales.BB for to from £125 to £165 per night.Hi speed Broadband free.More on our website. Our Italian house is back ...Casale ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millgate House Hotel Richmond
Millgate House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing