We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret Garden, A little bit of Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millgate House
Ranked #1 of 49 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Secret Garden, A little bit of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We're just booking a second visit - YAY!
Once you're over the excitement of the garden (in all seasons) - just a delight and I wish I could recreate it at home... The beauty of the house in all its glory awaits. It's luxury but understated and you feel like your part of a secret club. The first time we stayed here - our boys scout trip got cancelled at the last minute so we had to bring them with us. Austin and Tim made them very welcome, particularly as I think it's not usually a place that attracts young families. The boys loved the dogs and to them the house, coach house and garden was an adventure for young imaginations! I particularly loved the breakfast. Every detail perfect and sumptious. Bon Maman jam, Dorset cereals (in abundance), innocent juices and smoothies, fresh berries, warm croissants and a delicious, perfectly cooked, english breakfast - all items just right.

So, cant wait to return - this time the 2 of us. We're booking the Garden apartment. Delightful. I think we'll just stay put, take in the slendour of the springtime garden, and just eat delicious things.
I cant recommend Millgate House enough for boutique hotel lovers who want that ultimate individuality. Gorgeous in every way.

Room Tip: Any of the garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
122
380
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family and I enjoyed a splendid two night visit at Millgate last summer--one of the highlights of our trip. It is rare indeed to stay amidst such fine (and beautifully arranged) antiques. The house itself is also notable, architecturally, but what a pleasure to enjoy Tim and Austin's collections and great eye for beauty. Millgate also offers a superb and charming garden, on two levels, that itself is well worth the visit. We enjoyed fabulous breakfasts and Richmond town is quite charming and well located for touring the many beautiful historic houses and sites of Yorkshire and its environs. Millgate is one of the best inns, if not the best, we have ever had the pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfromric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have lost track of when we first stayed at Millgate House, it was many years ago and when they got the Cesar award for B&B of the year for 2011, it was richly deserved. Every year Austin and Tim have made improvements which is the sign of a top class establishment and having reached the top, as they say, it is just as hard staying there. I am delighted to report Millgate is as good as ever. You step through the front door in to this beautiful georgian house knowing you are going to have a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed, wake up to a view over the Swale and falls and then go down to have a superb breakfast in the magnificent dining room with the log fire ablaze. The whole experience is one of life's pleasures and one to which we look forward every year. Austin and Tim are brilliant hosts and do what they do with panache, warmth and charm. We watched the Gardeners' World feature in the summer which summed up their approach to life and what they seek to achieve. Now to dinner for a family party of 20. First of all we had a champagne reception in the lounge with canapés. This year the menu was antipasti (bought in Italy where they have a house), curried parsnip soup, followed by locally sourced venison and Austin's special trifle with fresh fruit and then cheese. Austin cooked everything to perfection and the venison was so tender. The service from Tim and the team of youngsters was seamless. A pure delight and a memorable evening. Wonderful, relaxing R&R with brilliant hosts and staff in a beautiful setting. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovethecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skinheadfood, Owner at Millgate House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Always reassuring and affirmative when clients come back year after year after year! And still find new things to say and enjoy...and indeed book for the next New Year's Eve a year in advance!!!! And a for a ninetieth birthday in March. The same happened with our Christmas clients too. A real vote of confidence suggesting we must be getting something right!!!
A Happy New Year to all our visitors...old and new...... and thank you for all the positive feed back over recent months both on this site and elsewhere...great to have such encouragement.

...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Millgate is like entering Aladdin's cave, a rich haven of treasures that never fail to delight.
The ambience is perfect, warm, personable and well considered,with every need anticipated to allow maximum indulgence. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished, but remain cosy and comfortable and if the breakfasts were not just about the best we've ever had it would be tempting to lie in until checking out time. Every morning offers a feast of finely sourced ingredients, nothing spared so be prepared!! Wonderful varieties of fruit compote and assorted yoghurts followed by kippers or full English with delicious locally sourced eggs. No shortage of anything and all cooked to perfection.The garden is simply gorgeous all year around and we always come away feeling inspired to do more with ours!!
The owners allow you to feel totally at home, very chilled and laid back with a very high standard of service provided by their staff. We just can't get enough and have already booked our next trip. Very popular so booking in advance highly recommend. It just gets better and better....

Room Tip: All of the rooms in this house are beautiful so would recommend all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked Millgate House at short notice and also needed accommodation that accepted pets. Austin & Tim (owners) were very helpful and we were booked into 2 rooms and welcomed with our dog. I can not recommend Millgate House highly enough. We arrived quite late into Richmond (which we were told was no problem, so nice and refreshing compared to other b&b's we've stayed at) and then got a little lost. We were guided in by phone and made very welcome, even though by now it was 11pm. If this was not enough in terms of hospitality we were then offered a bottle of wine and a seat in front of the fire. After a frazzling day, I could have hugged them both. Austin & Tim - Thank you so much for a lovely overnight stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Scott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Arriving at Millgate House is simply amazing. The warmest welcome one can imagine (a freshly brewed coffee after a very long and cold day just does the trick) - Austin and Tim just make you feel like you are at home. To describe Millgate House is impossible; you have to really experience it. It is mostly like walking into a film set that has just come alive. The rooms are full of wonderful antiques, clocks and paintings, and of course there is the garden.

The breakfast is just something else, I have never seen so much fresh fruit on one table before, you just want to keep on eating as there is so much choice. It was by far the best I ever had in a B&B. It sets you up nicely for a long walk in Swaledale!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skinheadfood, Owner at Millgate House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It is so encouraging to have such positive feed back...we aim for the best...and clearly you felt we are achieving it... from the welcome to the coffee...to the breakfasts...the garden and the house...
Our guests continue to find new things to say which is heartwarming. Thankyou to all those who have written over the course of this year and a Happy Christmas... Austin and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our third visit to this excellent B&B. Austin and Tim, as always, were very welcoming and helpful.
Beautifully furnished and very comfortable.
Fantastic Breakfast ~ Craster kippers available!
Thanks very much ~ we'll be back.
Paul (Birstall).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGloverLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
4.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 49 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
5.8 mi away
West Layton Manor
West Layton Manor
#3 of 49 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#15 of 49 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate House

Property: Millgate House
Address: 3 Millgate, Richmond DL10 4JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alan Titchmarsh Britain's Best Gardens 2015. Winner of a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award 2016 .... Named as one of the best ten BBS in the UK By Trip Advisor 2016. Named B & B of the Year UK and winner of a National Cesar Award ("oscar" of the hotel industry awarded by The Good Hotel Guide)...Amazing Georgian townhouse with walled garden(National Winner out of 3200 entries)(featued Gardeners' World BBC TV) in the centre of town but tranquil and peaceful. Referred to as "one of the nicest guesthouses in the UK" by Lonely Planet. Located in beautiful Richmond ...Ideal for touring the Yorkshire Dales.BB for to from £125 to £165 per night.Hi speed Broadband free.More on our website. Our Italian house is back ...Casale ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millgate House Hotel Richmond
Millgate House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing