We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2C - An almost perfect stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Brewery Guest House
Ranked #6 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Porpoise Spit Oz
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“C2C - An almost perfect stay.”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Old Brewery is set in an idyllic location at the end of a quiet green behind a beautiful old chestnut tree. On arrival the manger checked us in a very friendly and efficient manner. Our room was spacious, airy and overlooking the garden. One of the largest and most comfortable beds so far on the C2C. On the recommendation of the manager we dined at The Black Bull in town. The atmosphere, meal and pint was so nice that we decided to return for our second night.

Breakfast was also one of the best along the Coast to Coast. Quite a variety compared to most B&Bs and the Fijian staff were very chatty.

Our stay was marred to some extend by a group of revellers returning to the hotel at various times during the early hours of Sunday morning. I was advised by the manger this was the exception rather than the norm. Our second night’s stay was tranquillity itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeWobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    50
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
31
89
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lower swanwick
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

we had a annex room very nice plenty of space and lots of extra pillows if needed ,Breakfast was excellant plenty of choice lots of it ,There are lots of restaurants in town dont wear heals as its quite a walk into town .

Room Tip: annex rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were in a room in the annex, which was well appointed and modern. The bathroom, although private was accessed via a common hall. The Old Brewery is not in the centre and requires a steep climb to the main area with pubs and restaurants.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and our breakfast was superb with a choice one would expect in a top class hotel.

I was surprised to find a laminated sheet, which had a critique of Trip Advisor and a claim that legal action would be taken against anyone posting a review. This is something I have never seen before.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We met up with fiends who were walking the Coast to Coast path. A very comfortable room and an excellent breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and Richmond is a great place for an overnight stop. Recommendations for eating locally were good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BigKevTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here at the recommendation of the Tourist Information centre and was very pleasantly surprised. It's a friendly well run B&B with comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast, just what's required at the start of a hard day's walking; in fact the bed is just what's required at the end of a hard days walk!
Richmond is a lovely place to visit and the only drawback is that steep walk up the hill back into town; however it's nothing compared to some of the C2C climbs that have come beforehand.
I'll come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at start and end of our C2C walk. Room in main building average and bathroom very very small with tiny wash hand basin. Room across courtyard so much better with bigger more comfortable room and lovely big bathroom. Breakfast very good and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This B&B mainly caters for hikers and cyclists, however do not let that put you off, we stayed here for a couple of nights in June (when the weather was glorious) and because of its location we enjoyed the peace and quite, unlike Richmond town centre where it can be loud with people leaving pubs and clubs very late/early hours.

Room Tip: I woud recomend staying in room No 1 (if avalible) which looks out onto the Green
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncummins174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Willance House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Brewery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Brewery Guest House

Property: Old Brewery Guest House
Address: 29 The Green, Richmond DL10 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stones throw from the River Swale, at the foot of Alan the Reds magnificent castle (circa 1070) and just a few minutes from the largest cobbled market place in Britain, the house retains its old world charm, is tastefully decorated, and offers every modern comfort. Each guest room enjoys attractive views and has a private bathroom or shower room. Guests also have the use of the communal sitting room with an open fire, TV, and a small library of books and periodicals. Guests are also free to relax in our peaceful patio garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Old Brewery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Brewery Guest House Hotel Richmond
Old Brewery Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing