We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2C two night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Brewery Guest House
Ranked #6 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
293 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“C2C two night stay”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Like many people we stayed here doing the C2C. We stayed two nights, having intended just for one. The B & B was recommended by the tourist office. When we arrived we were pleased to find we had been given a room in the newer part of the B & B at the back of the garden. The room was modern and very clean with a large bathroom and a small courtyard with a small seating area. The breakfast was excellent and the staff worked very hard to cover a wide choice of menu. The American pancakes were yummy.
The B & B is at the bottom of a steep hill but once at the top its flat! We would stay here again. Our one recommendation would be for the female in the office when we were checking out to be friendlier (this was not the lady who runs the place).
Overall a lovely B & B!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_K1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    47
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
28
88
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

lovely and clean room, with tea and coffee facilities. Owners very hospitable on arrival,offering milk for your room on arrival. Large twin room even though occupied by 1 person. Nice and quiet as Market Place can get noisy on weekends. Would stay again. Fell in love though.....with Harry the 12month old Boxer (only because I have one myself)...
Great value for money......Hotels in Richmond charge a lot more

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely overlooking the Village Green,nice and tranquil
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Brewery Guest House on the C2C. It provided all we needed, our twin room was comfortable and the en-suite with lots of hot water was appreciated as that was the night we washed our hair! The garden well cared for and I enjoyed the surroundings. Breakfast was superb and served at our requested time. We were happy after a long walking day to relax, watch TV and have an early night and this accommodation provided all that for us. I would stay there again and recommend it to other walkers. Janet (Qld)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here before doing the coast 2 coast.
This was the second most expensive place on the route and was below average value.
Our early breakfast was late and staff seemed less interested than when we stayed in 2010.
Try elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were recommended and not disappointed. The accommodation was beautiful and comfortable and the little courtyard garden delightful. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.

Breakfast was definitely walker's portions, generous and a wonderful choice, including smoked salmon & scrambled eggs or eggs benedict, not normally seen on a menu in a small guest house.

The staff were very happy and the atmosphere joyful. We stayed an extra night as we so enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

For quite a high price(£55 for single) they should do better. Room was "next door" and made me feel quite depressed as very uncared for and reminded me of a student room. The whole area really smelt of cigarette smoke which really wasnt nice. Previous reviews have made a variety of comments on things they could have easily sorted but they appear not to be bothered. No sign of owners and the place seems to be run by a manager? Having said that the breakfast was one of the best I have had but didn't make up for the rest. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

On arrival not a very friendly lady more interested in walking her dog and not being around for help. Room was nice overlooking green except my bed I could feel every spring - it needs a new one, Bathroom needs a good clean with bleach, toothbrush and hot water round parts of shower ledges and tiles, the vanity top in sink had soap slime left at the back, and tiles needed cleaning of old tile adhesive, mould and again a hot soapy wash, Also after walking we needed a hot bath no water and NObody around to help. It seems we were not the only ones with this problem. The breakfast was very good and the ladies were very nice. As it is SherpaVan Guest House they need to sort out these problems

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 51 in Richmond
825 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#14 of 51 in Richmond
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Brewery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Brewery Guest House

Property: Old Brewery Guest House
Address: 29 The Green, Richmond DL10 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stones throw from the River Swale, at the foot of Alan the Reds magnificent castle (circa 1070) and just a few minutes from the largest cobbled market place in Britain, the house retains its old world charm, is tastefully decorated, and offers every modern comfort. Each guest room enjoys attractive views and has a private bathroom or shower room. Guests also have the use of the communal sitting room with an open fire, TV, and a small library of books and periodicals. Guests are also free to relax in our peaceful patio garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Brewery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Brewery Guest House Hotel Richmond
Old Brewery Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing