We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Lion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really bad food”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We came to dine at the hotel as part of a day trip to Richmond. We didn't stay at the hotel and I hope it is better than the food they serve. in one word: horrible. We came in for lunch and everything was bad; our table was dirty, the waitress was not professional and the food was not edible. We were 5 very disappointed customers who would NOT recommend this place for food.
Do yourself a favor and save your money for a place worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    139
    49
    19
    12
See reviews for
72
184
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We arrived on Monday the 19th of March and were quite disappointed with the room overnight.
At breakfast next morning the manager approached us and asked if everything had been in order. We had made a list of several (to us) important points and given our e-address and mobile number.
Later that day we received an e-mail from him explaining that he and his wife had only just (the last week) bought the hotel and offered us a free night for our trouble.
We returned on the following Friday and were given the same room....
ALL the points mantioned had been efficiently dealt with and a bowl of fruit awaited us in our room.
Breakfasts on both mornings were excellent, as was the overall cheerful and friendly attitude of all staff.
What a service, Keren and Kem; we shall return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Well the newly revovated Black Lion Hotel was a real find the staff are friendly and really helpful, the rooms charming country cottage style { but not too fussy} great bathrooms with lovely towels and then the breakfast if you can eat it all you may not have to eat for the rest of the day. We would have no problems giving the black lion 10 out of 10 and will be staying here again

Room Tip: Internet everywhere but top floor best reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We booked this hotel for a Sunday night as part of a short break taking in the North of England and Scotland....we wish we hadn't! To make it simpler for people reading this review's we've listed the bad things and good things below...
BAD:
Unwelcoming atmosphere and no ambience in bar area
Being asked to pay up front Apparently nobody to take the payment in the morning!
Cold room - Heating only on between 4pm and 8pm on a snowy day we were told.
Rotting window frame
Loose toilet seat and toilet that was hard to flush
Light above bathroom mirror didn't work
Matress than dipped in the middle
Flat pillows
Old fashioned portable TV set with only 4 channels working
Small car park with steep approach that was not gritted making it dangerous in icy conditions.
GOOD:
The breakfast, and that really is it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I have stayed here several times recently.

I have been in two different rooms. One of the rooms has the bathroom over the corridor from the room - there is a fire exit route between the two. This bathroom has a shower attachment rather than a shower proper. Apart from this one room I believe all rooms to be en suite. The rooms are comfortable and clean. My first room was smaller than the second but was more than satisfactory.

The food, at breakfast and dinner has been very good. The atmosphere in the pub/restaurant area on the ground floor is very good. The boss was waitressing on one evening and had a good balance of efficient and fun.

Richmond is a lovely location in itself. The main square is picturesque. There are a range of alternative eating options within easy walking distance, including a nice Thai restaurant, should you wish to sample the options. The Black Lion is also within easy walking distance of the impressive castle ruins that dominate the town.

The parking is a little limited but I have never been unable to park in the car park.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famsol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Amenities are pretty basic, but rooms are clean, if a little dated, the location in Richmond is very central and the free off-street parking is handy. We received a warm welcome and solid breakfasts the next day (although bit more of the excellent bacon and a bot less of the beans would be suit me). Gammon, egg and chips for dinner in the lounge bar was excellent. But one too many and you'd run the risk of not fitting in the snug showers! To address a previous comment which appears to be taken on board, the in-room tea/coffee facilities now come with biscuits. Beds were comfy - admittedly some noise from late patrons, but it seems churlish to expect otherwise from a working hotel. In summary, good value for a comfortable but basic hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payattention007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed at the Black Lion on the 1st October 2011. Had mixed feelings about the place. Food and beer was very good, staff were helpful. But the room, in particular the en-suite was dirty. Also during the night ( which to be fair wasnt the staffs fault ) we were disturbed by some inconsiderate louts staying at the hotel. They woke us about 3.45am screaming and shouting were locked out of the hotel and banged on the back door for 2 hours until someone let then in.
Wasnt the best nights sleep we have had, but again breakfast wasnt bad hence the mixed feelings about the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlj1634200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#18 of 51 in Richmond
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holly Hill Inn
Holly Hill Inn
#13 of 51 in Richmond
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Brewery Guest House
Old Brewery Guest House
#7 of 51 in Richmond
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Lion Hotel

Property: The Black Lion Hotel
Address: 12 Finkle Street, Richmond DL10 4QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Lion Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing