We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ewden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ewden House
Ranked #27 of 50 Richmond B&B and Inns
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best B&B by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was by far the best B&B I have ever stayed in. We had family visiting from South Africa and the welcome was very warm and the kids just loved Lynn and all the animals on the farm.The rooms were very cosy and the breakfast was superb. Lynn even gave the kids ice cream one evening-the kids actually said they would love to go and stay there again! I would highly recommend Ewden House for a perfect break anytime of the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We loved our stay at Ewden House. The rooms are beautiful and cozy with all modern amenities but also the quaintness of a real stable door. We wished the weather had been warm enough to open the top of that half door! There is something very peaceful about looking out the window of your room to see horses peering over their stall doors. The porprieters couldn't have been nicer and the breakfast was also excellent. We hope to have the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie437_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is our second stay at Ewden House. We have used this location to break the journey to Scotland. The individual rooms are set in a converted stable block. The rooms are of an excellent standard and the attention to detail in the room is some of the best I have come across. There is the usual tea and coffee and biscuits but in addition there is sherry and sweets. Lynne, the host provided tea and cake on our arrival and provides an excellent breakfast. We will look to stay here again and use as a base to explore the Yorkshire Dales. Richmond is just a few minutes up the road and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltaire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent quality B&B, perfect for weddings at the nearby Middleton Lodge. Hosts Lynne and Keith couldn't do enough for you, ranging from lifts to ironing! Beds comfortable and the rooms come with everything you need. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Email the owners if you require a twin rather than a double as there is one available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaandRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Ewden as we were attending a wedding nearby. The accommodation was a very good standard, with every room having it's own patio area and good views.

The propriertors were very hospitable and as most of the guests staying were at the wedding, came to ask us if we would prefer a later breakfast which was much appreciated. The breakfast was full english or vegetarian if you preferred and was very good, cereals and fruit etc were also on offer.

The propriertors made everyone feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We would not hesitate in recommending anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happywanderers
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My daughter booked this B&B as a surprise - she couldn't have done better!! The room was cosy, exceptionally clean and with lots of finishing touches. Theres nothing like a decanter of Sherry in your room to make you feel like you're 'at home'. Lynne and Keith are perfect hosts, who come out to greet you and make you feel like you are their personal friends. They even gave us a lift into Richmond for our evening meal!! Blessed with perfect weather, and a breakfast fit for a king made our visit a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywanderers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My daughter found this as were travelling to Cattrick for her goddaughter christenig. We were made feel to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, the rooms were spotless and the veiws great,it was nice to relax in the courtyard after along journey. Breakfast was served at a time to suit you and we were asked what time we wanted to vacate our room rather than being told when we had too.
If you are visiting this lovely part of the country i would give Ewden House try you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try one of the stable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margarets44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.0 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Middlemoor House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Willance House Guest House
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#7 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Layton Manor
West Layton Manor
#3 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ewden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ewden House

Property: Ewden House
Address: Richmond DL10 5ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ewden House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing