We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime B&B”
Review of The Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle House
Ranked #2 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sublime B&B”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the Castle House for a single night as part of my partners birthday celebrations.We stayed in a splendid room at the top of the house with superior furnishing's and stunning view's of the surrounding countryside.The room was filled with lots of lovely welcoming touches that showed a real depth of feeling for the kind of establishment that Lucy and Ian are trying to build.The overall ambience is one of love and an appreciation of the kind of things that will make this a place to visit time and again.The Castle House will forever be part of our lives in the coming and distant future, thank you so very much Lucy and Ian for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the top floor with a superb bathroom with a wonderful view of the market plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 211sunshinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
636
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed four nights at The Castle House. On signing out, I wrote in the visitor's book that we loved everything about it and every second of it, and looking back on our stay as I write this, I realise what a very special place The Castle House is. There have been numerous positive comments posted on Trip Advisor - we can totally agree with every one, from the warm welcome to the wonderful breakfasts; the superb room (Wensley) to the friendliness and ambiance which can only be created by such lovely hosts.
Readers - book a stay at The Castle House, and be prepared for a treat!

Room Tip: The Wensley room has a lovely big bed, lots of wardrobe/drawer space and is very quiet - heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I said I never would but as the saying goes never say never so here you have it my first ever review. Thought about bullet points but too formal.Fantastic welcome from Ian and Lucy. Stayed in the Richmond Suite not one fault. In fact to cut it short and get my point across The Castle House is faultless and in my opinion the only place to stay in Richmond.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2151345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
I have to admit that the word 'overwhelmed' by your review hardly seems appropriate or worthy of what you have so kindly written.

All I can say is that it is all our wonderful guests like yourselves that make The Castle House so special, all Ian and I try to ensure is that you are looked after and made to feel at home. Hopefully we have created an atmosphere that makes you all feel just so.

Thank you for your very generous and kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Owners very accommodating and friendly on arrival mid afternoon offering tea, coffee or a glass of wine. Served with some cake. Made to feel very welcome and provided with recommendations of where to eat and an offer to book a table. Also helpfully explained the situation re parking as there is no car park and it's restricted nearby until 6 pm. We managed to park outside the front door overnight however. Beautiful house, well located and great rooms. You could see part of the castle walls from the room - found this very atmospheric. The cooked breakfast was very good. Had a peaceful comfortable night. Would definitely stay again and have no worries recommending The Castle House to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancelot53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we stayed as here on an over night one off as we toured yorkshire and wished we had stayed for the duration of our tour,the rooms were lovely and the breakfast was superb and richmond itself is spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed on Saturday 24th August with my husband and two friends, we were made to feel very welcome by Ian and Lucy and the rooms were very comfortable and beautiful and we had a lovely view from our window, a gorgeous glass of wine on arrival that we sat outside and enjoyed before going upstairs to get ready for the evening. Breakfast was excellent and we will definitely go back highly recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, its hard to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great central location, lovely hotel building and en suite room, very friendly and welcoming, good breakfast. Nothing not to like. And there's nothing more I need to say, but tripadvisor is insisting I type 200+ characters before it will accept my review. And now it's telling me that I have to create a tripadvisor account to submit my review, doubtless so it can spam me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
719 reviews
4.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#17 of 51 in Richmond
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Willance House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle House

Property: The Castle House
Address: 9 Castle Hill | North Yorkshire, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast situated in the shadow of the famous castle, overlooking the historic town of Richmond. We aim to ensure that all our guests feel pampered and offer boutique style accommodation in this beautiful 18th century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Castle House Hotel Richmond
The Castle House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing