We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!!”
Review of The Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle House
Ranked #2 of 50 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Enjoyed an excellent stay here. A warm welcome with a glass of wine & nibbles. Wonderful hosts, super room with quality & tasteful furnishings. Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit, local produce and nothing was to much trouble. We were well looked after, and would highly recommend this B&B to family and friends. Superb location right next door to the castle and overlooking castle/market place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
624
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at castle house on the 11th may 2013, we thoroughly ended our stay. Everything was provided to make our stay a wonderful experience. It's is conveniently placed for lots of lovely places to visit. The breakfast second to none. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of April and found this a really excellent B and B. We received a warm welcome with a beautifully prepared afternoon tea. The room was well furnished and spotlessly clean. There was a really nice bathroom equipped with a wide range of toiletries. The following morning we were sent on our way with a first rate breakfast. This is an establishment that we would not hesitate to use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at The Castle House and your review was lovely to read. We do hope that you are able to return again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

the nicest b and b we have stayed in, the rooms are amazing as is the breakfast and the general service you get from Lucy and Ian, with amazing attention to detail. It is definately a place we would visit again and recommend highly to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumbo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments and it was an absolute pleasure having you as guests. Our aim is to make everyone feel relaxed and comfortable with a few little treats along the way and we are so delighted that you enjoyed staying so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our stay at The Castle House was as good as it gets for B&B. Even before we arrived, Lucy and Ian helped us with our travel arrangements for a 3 day walking trip in the area, which was greatly appreciated. On arrival we were warmly greeted with a glass of wine and help with evening meal arrangements. The rooms are superb - spacious, character, high quality of furniture/furnishings, lovely bathroom and all the little extra touches you wouldn't normally expect. Breakfast was again superb and set us on our way. If you're thinking of visiting the area, try and stay at The Castle House.......you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got lucky with parking and managed to park right outside The Castle House (otherwise it might have been a walk up a hill from a car-park). It's located just along from the castle gates - so you have to expect parking hassles for the convenience of the location. We were offered drinks on the terrace in the glorious May sunshine. Our room was gorgeous - its photograph is used in this review. Lovely and clean. The bathroom had a clawfoot(?) bath and there was plenty of hot water available. Our host offered to book restaurants for us - we decided to wander and ended up choosing one of their recommendations anyway.
We even found night-time chocolates on our door-handle at bed-time!
Breakfast was excellent - we're both vegetarian and had the 'full english' ... being very picky the
portions might have been larger - but then again I'm a pig like that.
Wi-fi was free and a good speed
I can't comment on the value as the trip was a birthday present - so I don't know
Not much else to say other than - can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wensly Suite on the top floor - up a few flights of stairs (watch those low doorway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayThe4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review which is greatly appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at The Castle House and Richmond, it really is a gem of a place and even more so when the sun is shining.

We have taken on board your comments about the vegetarian cooked breakfast and thank you for your thoughts. We don't want anyone to feel that they would of liked more (although credit to the chef, it must of been enjoyed). There is always plenty and we can easily prepare more if our guests would like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want luxury, comfort, homeliness, excellent hosts, value for money, freshly cooked delicious food PLUS all the extra touches like chocolates to wish you goodnight and everything in the room anew daily, at really affordable prices, just go there!!! Drink it all in relax and enjoy as there is nothing too much trouble for Ian and Lucy in their beautiful home. You will certainly return. We will!! Thankyou to Lucy and Ian for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, we are both delighted that you enjoyed your weekend here, it was a pleasure having you both and hope you return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
4.9 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 50 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#18 of 50 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Willance House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle House

Property: The Castle House
Address: 9 Castle Hill | North Yorkshire, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast situated in the shadow of the famous castle, overlooking the historic town of Richmond. We aim to ensure that all our guests feel pampered and offer boutique style accommodation in this beautiful 18th century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Castle House Hotel Richmond
The Castle House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing