We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot tub and bottle of sparkling”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arandale Guest House
Ranked #17 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Hot tub and bottle of sparkling”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A night away to recharge from the kids and it didn't disappoint. Lazed the afternoon away in the hot tub with a bottle of Cava. Quick snooze in the top floor room 4, which is like a suite with lots of space (although some beams to dodge), then off to the Italian restaurant which was all of 2-3 minutes walk away. Lovely breakfast and welcoming staff throughout stay. Will return again when batteries run flat!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Hazelhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
169
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We received a cheerful welcome on our arrival, and the owner was in touch beforehand to ensure he was there to greet us. Street parking nearby was free and not difficult to find.
Our room was at the back and had a balcony. It was warm (we had to turn the heating down at night) and the decor luxurious. The en suite bathroom was well appointed with a large shower.
One of the extras is a hot tub, which residents can book free of charge. Bath robes and extra towels are provided, and we were given a bottle of bubbly on the house.
Breakfast was well prepared and there were several choices including full English. The guest house seems to have returning guests - we certainly hope to go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Moodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in Richmond for one night returning from Scotland and we could not have found better accommodation to finish our holiday. The building and rooms are immaculate and the proprietor (Paul) could not have been any more welcoming. Even though it was freezing we did use the massive jacuzzi in the back and it was lovely.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable and spotless. We were given a good choice of breakfast options which was plentiful and of a very high standard. A great full English breakfast and coffee to see us off for the travel ahead. Highly recommend Arandale Guest House.

Room Tip: I don' t think you could go wrong with any room at Arandale
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravellingMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I have just returned today April 5 from this establishment and it is one of the finest places we have had the pleasure to stay. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with open arms. The rooms are great we had the room shown in the picture above and it is marvellous; spacious with an en-suite and complete with a separate dressing room. We stayed for 2 nights bed & breakfast and both were definitely5*. The breakfasts made by Paul are out of this world and made to your request. The guest house is in a good location (although on the main road) and its a nice short walk to the restaurants and shops around the market square. As stated the rooms are excellent and inviting. The main highlight (for both of us) was the opportunity to relax in the hot tub outside, this was amazing after a day out in the fresh air, and then to relax with a drink in the cold outside whilst the water is so hot is great!! definitely recommended. Paul also recommended two different restaurants for us and both were top notch couldn't fault either and value for money. We WILL be going back and have recommended to our family and friends. Happy Days :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife booked up a 1 night stay at the Arandale Guest House in Richmond as a surprise 50th birthday present for me and what a lovely surprise it was.
On arrival Paul the owner made us totally welcome, he was very friendly and he gave you the feeling that "nothing was a problem".
We had some really good chats with Paul over our short stay. Paul's family were also very friendly and it was a pleasure to meet them all.
We stayed in room 4 at the top of the house, this was a lovely room, it was very spacious and furnished to a lovely quality. Only one small little thing to note was the noise from the traffic late at night which could be heard from our room, probably due to the roof windows. We normally bring ear plugs with us as my wife is a very light sleeper, but forgot them on this occasion, saying that it didn't stop us sleeping.
The hot tub was so brilliant, so clean and tidy and it was massive, we spent hours in it !!
Paul's breakfast was also gorgeous, worth waking up for, my wife asked Paul if he had black pudding and Paul was pleased to add to this to the breakfast, as my wife "loves black pudding". Paul admitted that after breakfast he had pinched some black pudding "just as a taste".
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Arandale, the quality of the guest house was great and Paul's friendliness was superior.
We will be definitely planning a return trip.
Paul i just to say one thing "its been emotional" !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 789NeilM789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just spent two nights with friends,who had previously stayed before at The Arandale Guest House.The welcome by Paul,made it feel like you were visiting a good friend.The room was so cosy,you didn,t want to leave it.Although the weather was little bit on the cold side,we spent the early evening in the hot tub,sorting the world out,with a few glasses of wine.The choice of breakfast was varied,of excellent quality & well presented.It was a most enjoyable weekend & hopefully we will have the opportunity to stay again...well recommended !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just had the one night here but could easily have stopped more. Hosts are terrific, rooms superb, hot tub a pleasure and then after a great rest in a comfy bed what a breakfast!
Ideally located for the town, Paul made us most welcome and we enjoyed our bottle of complimentary bubbly in the hot tub followed by our box of Terry's finest dark chocolates.
The room was lovelly, clean and spacious with a dressing room off to the left, all you could need for your stay.
Next morning, just as Paul had boasted the best porridge I have ever had followed by Haddock and poached egg, my partner had the Salmon and scrambled eggs plus fresh fruit it really was wonderful, well done Paul and Tina, we would very happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Willance House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arandale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arandale Guest House

Property: Arandale Guest House
Address: 27 Queens Road, Richmond DL10 4AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arandale is a largge victorian town house only a short walk from the town ctr.We offer luxury rooms all equiped to the highest standard. Free use of the Hot tub ,Robes and slippers provided.Free wi-fi throughout the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arandale Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing