We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a restaurant”
Review of The Heifer

The Heifer
Ranked #5 of 121 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A lovely laid back pub, suitable for all occasion...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Booked Sunday lunch on 27 April after reading Trip Advisor reviews. We were so impressed, we booked dinner for the following Friday & were not disappointed. A warm welcome to start, friendly & helpful staff, good choice of food, beautifully cooked & presented. Worth travelling out to Scorton. Wish we lived nearer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    32
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Night!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We came to the Heifer to celebrate a friend's birthday and we were over the moon with the service we received. Fantastic staff, a lovely setting and delicious food. Thoroughly recommend it- especially the fish pie and the parmo!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPearson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a friendly welcome and excellent food.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

First time in the area, and checked out Trip Advisor for some restaurant ideas. This came out No 1 and so glad that I booked it!
From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome and the decor is really stylish, also worth saying that the village it is in is also really pretty.
But the best bit was the food! Excellent choices, and really tasty served by really lovely staff who were prepared to have a chat even though it was busy. All four of us enjoyed our menu choices, and we were so glad that we had chosen the place. Would really recommend if you are in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy Easter Experience!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Booked the Heifer in Scorton for lunch on Easter Sunday on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor as not from the North Yorks area so unfamiliar with places to eat. We arrived to a very warm welcome and were shown to our table where we were continually looked after by a small team of highly efficient staff. There were six of us and we all ordered different choices from the Sunday menu which offered a wider range than just standard Sunday lunch...however we all opted for Sunday lunch and everything was fresh, lots of different vegetables and individual gravies for different types of meat. It's not a big pub and there were two lunch sittings on the day we were there so book if you decide to go. The strength lies in very friendly and accommodating staff, a lovely little gem of a village pub serving good fresh food. We will be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeamerBeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Spotted whilst out for a drive and called in on the off chance. We were made really welcome. The food sounded fabulous and it was. All four in our party really enjoyed our meal and the service was brilliant. Loved the decor and ambience. Well done to all. I would go out of my way ro revisit this gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sues2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Heifer also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
East Layton, Richmond
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Heifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing