We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”
Review of Brompton Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brompton Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed here with family for one night and the place was amazing, beautiful view of the lake from the lodge. They had a wood burner in lodge for warmth was so cosy. Rooms were clean and very well designed lodge with plenty space. Lots of places around to visit so ideally located. very peaceful place ideal for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay here - there are plenty more places nearby to visit so we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    28
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
134
41
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have just had the most amazing three night stay at Brompton Lakes. Everything is first class.The lodges are all amazing with fantastic pod log fires, endless logs...in fact everything you needed to start your holiday including dishwasher tablets etc were provided. The bed linen, towels were luxury, everything was immaculate....I could go on and on! a slice of heaven that we will go back to again and again...thank you so much x

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your review - we're really happy to hear how much you enjoyed your break here. Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This was booked for a 50th birthday party by a friend. It was an awesome experience. The first night we barbecued in the scandanavian barbecue hut (we dressed as Vikings for the occasion). Everything except the food was provided it was cosy and fun. The second evening we were treated to the experience of a chef and waitress coming to our lodge to cook a fantastic meal for us they did everything from setting the table to washing the dishes. Best weekend in the world thoroughly recommend for any occasion. The lodge was spotlessly clean with large very comfortable beds it was amazing to listen to the owls at night and watch the swans fly in whilst eating breakfast. Really hope to come back soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thompas155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Glad everything was right for your special occasion - Vikings in the Scandinavian BBQ House is a new one - sounds great fun! Hope to see you back here soon. Thank you for choosing Brompton Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Where to start!!!! Wow!!! The lodges are beautiful exactly as the pictures on the website!
The area is peaceful relaxing and so picturesque.
The lodges are well equipped with everything and more you will ever need. The welcome hamper is a lovely touch as well! The shortbread biscuits and wine didn't last long!!!
We are already looking to book back up with friends! Hope to see you all again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in Louis would say it's 1 of the more private ones. But whichever you choose you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your review - we're so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Brompton Lakes and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have just returned from an 11 day break at Brompton Lakes. The age range was from 11 years old to 78 years old and everyone loved it. The lodges are exactly as shown on the website and have everything you should need and good wifi. The setting is perfect and stress just falls away. The surrounding area, the river, the lakes and walks to Richmond are so picturesque. There is plenty to visit and see the Station in Richmond is well worth a visit as is the swimming pool. Aysgarth Falls are just breathtaking and the drive to Hawes and the village itself is a must.
The staff at Brompton are great too and really helpful and my son loved Lola the dog. Looking forward to returning in June and trying out the new hot tub and sauna which is being installed soon. Many thanks to all the staff and Craig for all the fishing information.

Thanks for a fantastic holiday. Ed, Jan and Thomas (Lola Lodge)

Room Tip: All the lodges look fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback. We enjoyed welcoming you all here and look forward to seeing you again in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We was lucky enough to be invited to stay with our friends/family for the last weekend of their week's stay here, when we arrived (which the sat nav couldn't find it, just simply follow your nose when you hit richmond as its not a big place) we where blown away by house seculded it was, there like little hobbit holes... Thats probably the best way for you all to picture them...

The lodges are huge inside, so much room to cook, host and chill out in. and the decor is amazing; although I think they are different in each one & the lodges have names (I THINK we stayed in Flora)

If your into fishing then this is a winner for you as each lodge has its own fish post for the lake; honestly the views are amazing - you will not be disapointed if you book to stay here. Visit the website for the pictures and they are exactly how it all looks on there. There is a nice stream as well which in the summer you could easily do some wild swimming in.

We hired bikes from the site and rode into the town which being an avid bike rider was amazing (wish I'd taken my own bike though...) we got some meat and fish from the market and then cycled back with it all in our packs; as we had hired the BBQ hut for the saturday night, which I advised YOU ALL DO!! - We got given a iPod docking station to have in there too by the owner which was a great touch, had music blasting (can be as loud as you want as you're away from the lodges but still on the site) you could easily fit 6-8 people in it... maybe even more!! The food was great being cooked on there - and the BBQ itself is nice and big to fit plenty of things on. There is a little bench outside the hut to eat on, you don't get smoked out being inside it either which is nice.

I would say spend a week here as there is so much to explore around the are - I advise going to Fountains Abbey nearby or one of the waterfalls near Hawes or Aysgarth (Hardraw Force is my favourite nearby)

ENJOY!!

Room Tip: All the Lodges are on the lake so you don't have to worry about that, we stayed in Flora so I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godders_Only_Knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks so much for your terrific feedback - great to hear that you had such a wonderful time here and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went with our two year old and friends. fantastic time. Highly recommend. Booked up for next year same time same cabin. 5 star cabins. Walk to richmond was lovely! staff fantastic! everything catered for. couldnt ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Cara cabin wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallabars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for such lovely feedback and we're really pleased you had such a great time here. See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
2.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
753 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
8.2 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
156 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holly Hill Inn
Holly Hill Inn
#14 of 51 in Richmond
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brompton Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brompton Lakes

Property: Brompton Lakes
Address: Brompton Lakes | Easby, Richmond DL10 7EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brompton Lakes is an exclusive development of luxury eco lodges situated just two miles from the historic market town of Richmond on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Set in 26 acres of privately owned land, the 5-star lodges are designed to complement the natural features of this stunning lakeside location, the award-winning lodges are distinctive and contemporary and are built on the shores of two lakes, surrounded by woodland and open countryside.Hot-tubs, tennis court, Scandinavian BBQ house, lake and river fishing and mountain bikes all exclusively for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brompton Lakes Hotel Richmond
Brompton Lakes Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing