We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Lodges in an ideal setting”
Review of Brompton Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brompton Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Luxury Lodges in an ideal setting”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We booked the Rebecca lodge for 2 nights for a family gathering to celebrate my Dad's 60th birthday. All I can say was it was perfect - the quality of accommodation is fantastic, the setting is beautiful and the lodges are very well equiped.

We booked Paul and Dennis to cook in our lodge on the Saturday night - the food was exceptional and it was so nice to have a lovely meal in the lodge and not have to worry about taxi's or driving.

The staff were very friendly and helpful too and the hamper on arrival was a nice touch too.

It's great that they distinguish between Pet and non Pet lodges - we don't have any pets and therefore it was great to be able to book a 'pet free' one.

Each lodge is individually designed, and we are already looking at which lodge we wil book next! A great weekend away, but we could have easily stayed for longer!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesnowmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    27
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
133
41
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This place really is second to none in terms of quality of accommodation and attention to detail. We had stayed somewhere similar in the area a few years ago so weren't sure about trying Brompton Lakes but we're so glad we did. The surroundings are so beautiful, the properties so perfect. Our only gripe was the fact that we stayed in a property that was supposed to be wheelchair accessible and yet the bathroom (and all those in the other accessible properties) have a shower cubicle rather than a wet room. That meant there was no way of my nephew showering as he couldn't get in due to the step down on the inside. Anyone who would have to transfer from a wheelchair to a seat would have no chance at all. It was a real shame as it might stop us going back other than for a very short break. Other than that though you couldn't do better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to Brompton Lakes and we booked for our 3rd 3 days after arriving home.

What can you say. If you want a nice relaxing peaceful break in gorgeous tranquil surroundings - Then look no further than Brompton Lakes.
The lodges are beautiful. The kitchen was nicer than in our house!! He He. The first time we went it was for my wifes 40th birthday and i paid for a bunch of flowers to be waiting in the lodge on our arrival. There is no set price as such. Just tell them what you want to spend and they get you flowers to that price. They were lovely! We planned to go our into Richmond on our first night for a meal - But to be honest - The lodge was so nice, we went to the local Tesco and git some food and stopped in! The RedWine in the welcome hamper soon went!!
We walked into Richmond the day after and its a lovely walk by the river all off road right into the heart of Richmond center - Perfect seeing as we had our dog!
The log burners are wonderful and i can imagine that in winter and Xmas its simply magical! Makes you want one at home!!
When we returned this year with friends they also fell in love with it and we arranged straight away to return next year!!

If you haven't booked yet - DO IT! You won;t regret it at all.
Thanks Brompton - See you again soon......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mx5Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have just returned from our first visit to Brompton Lakes and we were absolutely delighted with everything. Our lodge(Cara) was perfect, facing the setting sun and superbly equipped. Richmond is a delightful market town and we walked along the river calling in at Easby Church on the way. We decided to get the local bus back to Brompton and the very friendly driver dropped us off at the entrance. We would highly recommend this place and the surrounding area for a short break, as well as a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just come back from a one week stay at Brompton Lakes. Everything about this place was fabulous!

The lodges are beautifully designed, and equipped to a very high standard with everything you could want for. It was like staying in a 4/5 star hotel. As it rained for most of the time we were there we spent more time in the lodge than we would normally do and it was perfect for hanging out, watching the rain pit pat into the lake, and observing the ducks cruising from lodge to lodge in search of bread.

The site has been very sensitively landscaped and borders the very beautiful river Swale which, in the time we were there, went from a gentle stream hugging the gravely river bed, in which children could safely paddle, and build dams, to a torrenting river which would have been perfect for white water rafting.

It was the most perfect place to explore the Yorkshire Dales from. The market town of Richmond is only minutes away by car and has all the shops you could possibly need. I would particularly recommend The Station complex opposite the river which has a good cafe and an artisan bread shop selling speciality breads, cakes, and quiches. They also have other artisan food shops on site.

If you decide to go to Brompton lakes I recommend choosing a lodge on the lake that has Willow lodge (this was the lodge we stayed in) as it is better landscaped than the other lake and provides more privacy.

Don't though rely on the free wifi! It is very very patchy and unreliable. Mobile phone signal was good though.

Room Tip: Choose water side lodges on the lake closest to Richmond (on west of site)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillNoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The proof of a how good this place was should be apparent as we booked for next year whilst we were still there!

The accommodation is fantastic. We stayed in Lodge Flora which was 3 bedroom.

Equipment level in our lodge was exemplary. Fully fitted, modern kitchen, complete with fitted oven, hob, dishwasher, etc etc. All cutlery, crockery, glasses provided and of good quality; not value items you may expect in holiday accommodation.

Bedroom 1 has e-suite. Large shower + bath and modern, clean feel. Bedrooms 2 & 3 are both fitted with double beds.

The lounge, kitchen, dining area runs the full length of the lodge. The whole front of the lodges are glass fronted and overlook the lake we were sited on. Stepping out of the double glazed patio doors onto your own private veranda for breakfast, lunch or dinner was perfect.

Fishing was excellent. Family of four and we all caught fish whatever day we fished. Make sure you take reasonable tackle as the water was a little shallow they fought all the way in. We were also pulling double figure carp out and were told a 24lb fish is in the main carp lake.

Very quiet location and the river Swale runs round the perimeter that you can also fish. Standing in the middle of a river for a couple of hours throwing a rod out was one of the most relaxing, tranquil things I can say I have done.

All in all, a great place to relax for a week and as already mentioned, it was so good we booked for next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJH_EHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We have just returned from our holiday at Brompton Lakes and can honestly say we would not have changed anything about our stay! From the moment we arrived, we were instantly relaxed due to the stunning views across the West Lake and fantastic living accommodation. The lodge definitely had the 'wow factor' when we walked in. Great décor and extremely well equipped, the lodge certainly had a home-from-home feel about it. We were first impressed by the size of the lodge and that every area of it had a special/bespoke feel about it. Each of the 3 bedrooms were a really good size, and we really liked the open plan living space and the doors that opened out onto the decking area.

We thoroughly recommend the 'dine-in service' that is featured on the website. Liz Fairburn (Food for Thought) cooked for us on one of the nights and meal was fabulous and in our opinion, great value for money for the service and amount of food you get. We opted for the fine dining menu which was £210 for 6 people. Liz and another lady arrived about an hour beforehand and created a relaxed atmosphere as soon as they walked in. We were told to just sit back and relax and they would do all the rest, and they weren't wrong! As it was nice weather, we had canapés on the decking overlooking the lake and then went inside for the meal itself. Food was delicious, could not fault it in any way. Everything was cleaned away afterwards and the kitchen was spotless. A very special evening which only accentuated our opinion of Brompton Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
2.0 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
2.9 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
235 reviews
4.5 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
723 reviews
10.5 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#9 of 21 in Darlington
154 reviews
2.4 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brompton Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brompton Lakes

Property: Brompton Lakes
Address: Brompton Lakes | Easby, Richmond DL10 7EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brompton Lakes is an exclusive development of luxury eco lodges situated just two miles from the historic market town of Richmond on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Set in 26 acres of privately owned land, the 5-star lodges are designed to complement the natural features of this stunning lakeside location, the award-winning lodges are distinctive and contemporary and are built on the shores of two lakes, surrounded by woodland and open countryside.Hot-tubs, tennis court, Scandinavian BBQ house, lake and river fishing and mountain bikes all exclusively for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brompton Lakes Hotel Richmond
Brompton Lakes Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing