We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With A View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frenchgate Guest House
Ranked #23 of 52 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are finally back in beautiful Richmond and our favourite B & B, 66 Frenchgate Guest House. Having walked the C2C five times so far plus many additional trips to the UK and partial walks, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else! We seem to run to Richmond to arrive at this beautiful guest house with it 's million dollar view. Aside from the amazing view, Ralph is a superb host who provides our every need. Lovely rooms with such comfortable beds we want to sleep all morning, bathrobes to lounge around in ( my personal favourite amenity), delicious breakfasts and a convenient central location. During the numerous times we have stayed at Fremchgate, Ralph has never failed to spoil us! We can never wait to return. All the comforts of home with a much better view!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 113 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

Overall this is a good B&B, with very comfortable rooms and a friendly host in Ralph. We were quite happy during our 2 night stay but there were some minor things that could be improved. Although bathroom was clean, minor issues such as dusty towel rack and exhaust fan could be addressed (this sort of thing doesn't bother my boyfriend, but I tend to notice). The main bedroom however was very clean and comfortable. Richmond is a nice town and a good place to stop if you're driving through, but I wouldn't go out of my way to go there. As vegetarians, breakfast was not well catered to - however there was an amazing view from this room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raincoat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were welcomed warmly and professionally by Ralph throughout our stay and found our room comfortable, attractive and well equipped (including an unexpected bottle of wine and chocolates). The small shower room was more than compensated for by the fantastic view over the Swale and Easby Abbey, which was also a feature of the breakfast room/lounge. A good breakfast and easily accessible free wifi were also appreciated. It was easy to access the centre of the town from here and we didn't mind the return climb at all. All in all, a very good choice as a base for staying in a beautiful area, though a 5% surcharge for payment by credit card may seem a little excessive.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witchend1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we stayed at the frenchgate for one night and were not disapointed we had a very warm welcome very clean rooms and a fantastic three course lunch well worth a visit.the town its self is a little hilly but after a lovely walk we had a lovely breakfast ralph and team were fab thank you for a lovely stay would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosi186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 4 nights at Ralph's B & B and we truly could not fault the service. Ralph is a quiet, inobtrusive and very welcoming person with a great knowledge of the area and its history. He recommended two restaurants to us both of which were excellant.

We stayed in room 4 which was very comfortable with an amazing view across the Swale valley. This is the same view as from the breakfast room mentioned by many reviewers. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and Ralph certainly has the knack of getting eggs cooked to perfection.

We were visiting Richmond and the surrounding Dales area and found this a very good location to start from.and a comfortable place to return to.

We have stayed in many B & B's and would place Frenchgate right at the top of the list. We are not easily pleased and apart from the excellant points I have already mentioned, we place considerable importance on the manner of the service, in this we found Ralp's B & B everything we hoped it would be. It truly made the trip.

Many thanks Ralph.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road have the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Review written in the context of undertaking Wainwright’s Coast to Coast Walk. Accommodation arranged by Macs Adventures. At the top end of Frenchgate so slightly off the route. Warm welcome and farewell. Breakfast room and lounge combined, with a good view over the river. Comfortable room. Evening meals not done. Host recommended good local facilities. Good breakfast at two big tables.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I actually ended up staying here by mistake - there was a bad leak in the B&B I originally booked to stay in. Ralph is quiet and unassuming, but very hospitable. The B&B is tastefully decorated and very clean. I stayed in Room 1, which has the most awesome views over the River Swale and Easby Abbey. A lovely cooked breakfast in a dining room which shares the same wonderful views. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Room 1 is quieter, being away from the main road and has spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aniQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Willance House Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#14 of 52 in Richmond
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 52 in Richmond
230 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Inn Hotel
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchgate Guest House

Address: 66 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: $90 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchgate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing