We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably better in summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartforth Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed hear for one night, lovely Hall very beautiful and lots of history a very nice setting, but so so cold, we arrived in our classic car which had just broken down in Richmond but we fixed it an headed to Hartforth, we were greeted at reception with a I hope you don`t want to eat tonight as we are not serving food, our plan was to get to the hall and eat dinner there never thought that there would be no food available. The Hall was deserted only two other guests staying, the Hall was not very warm the landing was very cold, had a drink in the smoke filled bar (from the fire). Got changed and had friends pick us up to take us to Richmond for dinner, we returned at 10pm ish the bar was locked our room was cold they turn the heating off over night, the duvet was short any only went to your chest spent a very cold night in bed, the heating was switched on at 7am, had a shower which was just a dribble. At breakfast (which we had to book a time for we were told the other couple were eating at 9.30 so we felt we had to eat then) it was freezing the Wedgewood room was so cold, breakfast was okay a bit greasy and undercooked bacon, the staff very helpful enough but you did feel that they were doing you a favour letting us stay there, for £90 for the two not overpriced just so so cold and so empty, it could be a fabulous place with heating and better service. If you are going go when its summer and make sure you can get evening meal, the pub in the village serves food but more of a pub than a eating place. Take a warm coat for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 173 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

When we booked, in the freezing february weather, the owners asked us what time we were due to arrive - and when we rolled up at 6pm, there was a blazing fire to welcome us. As it was out of season, we were the only guests and we felt so privileged to be staying there. We had a beautiful room with a four poster bed and views of endless fields towards the Yorkshire dales. The service could not have been better - anything we asked for was given, and we so much enjoyed exploring the fabulous ancient rooms of the hotel, every single room lovingly cared for with individual furniture. The breakfast in the beautiful Wedgwood room was delicious - even given a fresh platter of fruit with 5 different fruits in it. The owners could not have been more friendly and accommodating and we are certain to go back.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The manor house was lovingly updated; through the restoration all its original features have been kept. We are always looking for something different when travelling, and this manor house definitely has a touch of magic. The place is very quiet, the garden is huge, and the interior is breathtaking. I would like to take the opportunity to say thanks for the lady of the house at Hartforth Hall Hotel in Richmond. She let me have a wonder all around the house by myself and take photos so I have enclosed some of them which will speak for themselves.
We have picked a very cold night to stay in this delightful manor house where we were the only guests at the time, which is owned and managed by a wonderful albeit a tad old-fashioned couple. (which I just loved !!!) We were looked after from the very moment we stepped through the door. We received a key to ensure free access as well as breakfast made to suit all requirements (I’m a very fussy eater) by the lady of the house. Our room was lovely, food, drinks, service excellent but as always a nice stay is based on the little touches that makes it special...felt like staying at grandma’s again... thank you sooo much for bringing a touch of sunshine to our day!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wk1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

When we found out at 9pm on a December evening that the Travelodge had overbooked we weren't too chuffed but then they redirected to this beautiful place. We probably didn't see it at it's best because the room was fairly cold, they weren't expecting us, but the welcome couldn't have been warmer. Our 15 year old got his own room which like ours was full of glorious old furniture and prints. The owners were happy to give us information and guided tours and the house has so much history it could have it's own series. It is not very often you can stay in a privately owned historical house which is elegant without feeling stuffy and especially when you were expecting to wake up next to the A1. We will definitely be back but perhaps in the summer and with a bit of warning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliWdhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hartforth Hall is a beautiful old mansion house steeped in history and has a wonderful homely feeling enhanced by the personal service you will receive from the family who own and run this great Hotel.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in North Yorkshire and want a very special experience then look no further than Hartforth Hall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is beautifully set in the Yorkshire countryside, quiet and secluded, sheep grazing, big views. Very personally run by the family that restored the building from a wreck many years ago, it is charming and more of a country house than a hotel. Oringal features restored. A personal welcome and friendly service and as one of a big party it was an ideal base. The various reception rooms and dining rooms are stately, plenty of places to relax, open fires, warm bedrooms, large views and comfortable. Not for those that like 'hip' hotels but for those who appreciate a bit of old world life.
Food acceptable, good service, plenty to eat. Ate in the Wedgewood Room which was gorgeous.
Would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: I looked at a few rooms on the front, all were large, light and well furnished. A very good room do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just arrived home from a lovely stay at Hartforth Hall Hotel.
The house its self is beautiful as is the setting. We were made to feel welcome and the room was very warm and very clean. I didn't go a bundle on the food and I get the impression that the proprietors have a very old fashioned understanding of the hotel business.
I guess I would say if you are looking for a high class modern country hotel this is not the place for you. However if you are looking for a clean, friendly base for your holiday, this is it. It was worth the money we paid and it was a real treat to stay in such a fantastic house.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Richmond
194 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
7.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartforth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartforth Hall Hotel

Address: Gilling West, Richmond, North Yorkshire, DL10 5JU, Richmond DL10 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartforth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hartforth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartforth Hall
Hartforth Hall Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing