We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nearly good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartforth Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Devon,England
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So nearly good!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chosen for the location, and having seen the mixed reviews we wondered what we would find!

It is a lovely location, down the drive, through the ruined arch to the hotel. Very peaceful and lovely gardens around and fields of sheep. We had booked a standard room but were put in a superior room as the owner explained that they shut part of the house in the Winter. It was a very cold day, but the room and bathroom were wonderfully warm and well heated. A very large bedroom with triple windows looking out over the drive. The bathroom was well equiped despite the rather strange shower screen arrangement, and had Molton Brown soap and bathrobes, but the towels were rather small. Plenty of hot water, shower was just about adequate.

There was a guest sitting room with open fire, which we did not use but looked comfortable if a little chilly. We did not eat in the hotel.

We had a good and blissfully quiet night. Woke up to snow the next morning which made everything look even more beautiful! Breakfast was in a lovely Wegewood blue room. It was a bit chilly but it was snowing! Breakfast was very ordinary. Coffee did not have much taste and the cooked part was nothing special, but the waitress was friendly and smiley.

We were offered de-icer for our car which was a nice touch.

This is an antiquated hotel. It has loads of character and lovely old furnishings. It is not a modern stylish place, if you want that go somewhere else. Yes, it could do with a bit of a face lift and the teddy bear in the bedroom is a bit strange, but if you don't mind a slighty frayed at the edges country house feel in a peaceful location, you could do a lot worse than stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSunshine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    59
    15
    11
    28
See reviews for
26
100
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

When we arrived, very tired and wanting a shower and some food, the owner insisted on showing us around this crumbling, shabby and tired accommodation. No offer of helping with our luggage to our room. The accommodation was very cold and the dinner poor and expensive. The breakfasts were mediocre with very limited choice. On the plus side the beds were reasonably comfortable and were clean. There were no 'fluffy bathrobes' as described on their internet site. On the whole poor value and I would not visit again or recommend.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glynne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very nice owners, accommodated us late and at short notice. Very comfortable four poster bed and the property is impressive. However, some elements are in need of modernisation - the bathroom and tv for instance. The breakfast was good although, as with the whole stay, I would have expected more for the money paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driffield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I found this Hotel on the internet which was a surprise weekend away for my wife's birthday. We were not disapointed, our room was warm and very comfortable with excellent views from our three windows. As there was no menu info on the web site, I decided to book evening meals eslewhere. ( "Shoulder of Mutton" nearby was excellent) I was glad of this as there were only three other rooms booked and I believe they went elsewhere to eat, thus no atmosphere in the Dining Room. HOWEVER the staff were excellent and the grounds were a pleasure. Yes I would agree that the Hotel felt a bit tired but after all it is privately owned and would take a small fortune to upgrade to modern facilities. The price for our stay was very reasonable. If you want a modern hotel stay at a travel lodge... IF you want atmosphere and something a bit different try this Hotel. We will certainly come back for more.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the house as the sun rises from that direction. Back of the house is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The first thing we noticed was the ashtray filled to the brim with rainsoaked fag-ends (it was a sunny day) by the front door,followed by a musty dusty smell as we entered the hall.We rejected 'Byron'...bed too small,air freshener on mantlepiece,a large crack in the window,didn't much like the look of the teddy on the bed.Then shown to 'Milton' ...featuring 2 double beds (?) tho' only one teddy and a clutter of grubby,cheap,dacron/velour furniture and a telly sagging off the wall.The bathroom fan packed up after precisely 5 minutes. ARTICALLY cold...foam pillows,polyester duvets,last view as we turned out the light was of three large black spiders crawling in different directions on the ceiling.Met a fellow guest at breakfast trying to warm up by the toaster.Cash and Carry catering at 4* prices...as for the ghetto-blaster belting out Pavarotti during dinner.....!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fred_erick686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my husband had stayed at Hartforth Hall Hotel,for one night 8th of September and it literally was a step back in time.We drove through the gates and was met with a wonderful old Archway,it felt very grand.Before being shown to our room,i was shown around the lower floor into what can be described as charming,Historic and olde worlde.We loved it.As said in other reviews,we had pre dinner drinks and ordered from the menu,then later shown to our table,in the Arches Restaurant.The House is set in its own grounds and the views are a gem.So quiet and peaceful.Our room was number 21 a four poster.Very quaint and atmospheric.I hate to say this, but the room was a little tired and the ensuite rather small and needs updating.Food was lovely and very reasonably priced,the staff were lovely and friendly.It is an ideal place to reach all the attractions in North Yorkshire.All in all we will definitely be going back.Going back down the drive under the Arch,you have an image in your mind of the coach and horses in the 1700s winging their way down there to the house.See for yourselves just what this hidden gem is like.If you want to get away from the ratrace,then this is the Hotel for you.

Room Tip: The hotel is very quiet and does not have modern conveniences,such as wifi.Relax and have a drink,re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane_walsh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have recently held our wedding reception at Hartforth Hall. It was truly an amazing day! We booked Hartforth Hall for a number of reasons. It is a stunning, historic property set in beautiful grounds surrounded by views of the beautiful countryside, we fell in love with the place just driving in! The owners, Mr & Mrs Johnson, are extremely passionate about the history of their home and we were given a wonderful detailed insight to this on our first viewing. We liked the fact that Hartforth Hall is not a chain hotel, we dealt with Mr & Mrs Johnson through every aspect of our wedding, start to finish and not a jumped up employed wedding coordinator.

The service from the staff was excellent during the day and at breakfast the next morning. The waiting staff even wear white gloves to serve the wedding breakfast and drinks. We chose a three course meal of Vegetable Soup, Roast Turkey Dinner and Rich Chocolate Mousse with Summer Fruits. The food was beautiful but the dessert was divine! Our evening menu consisted of bacon and sausage sandwiches, which were equally as delicious.

Each room in the hotel is individually styled with decor to fit the period of the property, They are clean and well looked after. We were given the choice of two rooms for our wedding night, we chose the one with the four poster bed (well you've got too!), which was comfortable and warm.

It is difficult to find negatives about Hartforth Hall so we're not going to bother. It is a beautiful place, owned and run by a lovely couple who made us feel a part of their family and made our guests (all of whom have said how wonderful it was) extremely welcome. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
162 reviews
3.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
12.8 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartforth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartforth Hall Hotel

Property: Hartforth Hall Hotel
Address: Gilling West, Richmond, North Yorkshire, DL10 5JU, Richmond DL10 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartforth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hartforth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartforth Hall
Hartforth Hall Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing