We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartforth Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We had a fabulous family wedding at Hartforth Hall. My Husbands daughter and her new husband had a wonderful wedding day here. The day before the wedding we were welcome to dress the room as we wanted and given the earliest check in ever, 2pm the day before! We were made most welcome and had full run of the Hall. Young people (and young at heart) on the dance floor others chatting and socialising in the bar and drawing room, perfect. Many of us stayed overnight in the period bedrooms and enjoyed a lovely breakfast together before a walk around the beautiful grounds. The stunning location made an amazing background to our photographs.

Room Tip: Front room 2 gorgeous views
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellsmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hartforth Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

I attened a close friends daughters wedding, oo the 4th off june. As we made our way up to the hall, it was set in the most beautiful countryside a good start. We got a warm welcome and were shown to our room, whiich was clean and comfortable, dated decor but any thing modern would not off fit in wiith this grand old building. I was a lovely service in a nice room, but i think the chairs could off been changed to face the fire place to give the bride a longer entrance walk The room the wedding breakfast was in was in looked lovely. .We had soup, Roast beef, and cheesecake to finish and pleanty off wine supplied. The food was a typical wedding fare i have had better and worse food but i cleared my plate so that says something. The eveing buffet did look a bit bland, but i have to say i wasnt hungrey and didnt have anyhing, i was to busy enjoying the eveing having a drink and enjoying the good company off friends. Had a fab weekend. I

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annhartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Attended my cousins wedding on 4th June 2011 and was shocked at the Hospitality on offer at Hartforth Hall Hotel. The people that own this establishment really need to take a reality check and some serious lessons in manners and how to talk to customers.(Note the people that run) They were rude and obtuse where as their workforce were nothing but exeptional.

The food that my cousin informed me he payed £50 per head was nothing short of disgusting. How they had the gall to charge £50 per head for tastless soup with rock hard veg (theres al dente then theres not cooked) how the Chef can call himself a Chef i do not know for that amount of money you would expect Proper Roast Beef with the proper accompniaments (fair they did have Horseradish Sauce but it was on the plate and rather crusty like it had been on the plate for 2 hours before they put on the rest of the meal. we had frozen Yorkshire Puddings and things that resembled Roast Potatoes and a watered down jus lie (Gravy). The vegetables where amazing (amazingly bad with yet again over the top al dente carrots , broccoli, and about 5 green beans for four people. But they did save the best till last cheese cake to die for yes you would have died if you had ate it my nans was still frozen yes it was sara lee cheesecake (or its cousin Nettos own )

We then had the delights of the buffet which i would definetly not feed to my dog the egg vol au vant was a death trap having obviously been cooked the day before with the texture of a rubber, the fact that the food had obviously been sat on the side most of the day and had not been covered overe or refrigerated (both food safety no nos ) this was noticable by the fact the sandwiches were crusty but where made with soft rolls. the tuna mayo had a crusty top and had to stop my son from eating it good job i did becase when i grabbed it off him my finger went in the tuna and yes it was warm surely a food safety officer should really have a good look at there catering practises because they could easily give someone a a nasty illness with there practises. the pizza was cold and had congiled cheese and as the vol au vants cooked the day before.

They wouldnt open the bar where the reception was being held so you had to walk through the hotel to the other bar not a problem but you lost the wedding atmosphere because half the wedding party where in either location.

the day itself was a fantastic day ruined by sloppy rude obnoxius stuffy hotel owners who wouldnt know how to host if their lives depended on it such a shame the venue itself is nice but does reqiure a tidy and a lick of paint the things you could do with this place it could be magnificent but is drastically let down by its owners.

Room Tip: dont book here
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Armychef_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

attended a wedding breakfast and evening buffet 04/06/2o11. The wedding took place in a room that should have been lovely. Except the 2 rows of sofas in front of the guest chairs. The brides entrance was ruined by lack of space, she had to squeeze past these sofas to reach the groom no grand entrance more of a great struggle. The wedding breakfast was horrible ,food at it worst or so I thought?? Staff worked very hard,but there were too many guests for the amount of staff. Soup was cold on arrival and completely tasteless. The roast beef dinner was covered in horse radish sauce, fine if you like it. Cheesecake for afters? My friends love a good buffet and as dinner was not good, looked forward to the buffet, big mistake, it just looked so uninviting that my friends refused to eat it. The ladiies toilets were on the 1st floor.Some guests walked with walking aids.You had to walk through a maze of corridors to find the toilet, one older person nearly tripped on the stairs after managing to find them. The bar was several rooms away from the disco, so most people ended up in the bar and stayed there as you had to carry drinks through busy corridors to access the tables near the disco. Tnis resulted in the party atmosphere being completely lost. We went home vowing never to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deedee269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Couldn't fault this hotel, olde worlde with lots of history. The owners were extremely pleasant and helpful and breakfast was lovely. We had a very large bedroom and bathroom with beautiful views over the fields. Our friends had a lovely room with 4 poster bed. We would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

If you want a brash modern hotel with pool and 'pampering' this is not your place.It was ours. A beautiful old house and fascinating history. I loved the decorations and the curtains. Our downstairs room was a little cold but the radiators were red hot and the ceiling was high, We loved it.

The ambience was relaxing and the conversation with the owners delightful.We enjoyed all the food,. The breakfasts were excellent and the sausages delicious.

The Romanian waitress was attentive and meticulous. We talked with her about her country which we know well.We look forward to returning

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

myself and my husband were dreading going to hartforth hall because of the reviews on trip advisor, never the less we went, and all i can say is it is what it says in the book !if you are wanting a modern hotel then go to the hilton!,Its a beautifull old large house set in lovely surroundings,i was dreading meeting Anne and Dave after some reviews but they could not have been more friendly,they are both really lovely people and think it is really unfair the way they have been portraid on here ! the hall was quite cold but we put the radiator on in the bedroom ,which had old furniuture in obviously as its a old house,nice comnfy bed and lovely view.Anne give us a key as we were going into richmond for the evening and didnt know what time we would be back ,not a problem ! we went into richmond and had some lovely food in the turf inn,£9 in a taxi to richmond.We had a lovely breakfast the next day couldnt fault any of it,delish ! my husband chatted to david about the photographs in the hall which were of his sons and family ,we usually go for a more lively night out in newcastle or manchester but we knew it was going to be quiet here so did not expect modern ! had a very nice stay in hartforth hall .

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
798 reviews
3.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
247 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartforth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartforth Hall Hotel

Address: Gilling West, Richmond, North Yorkshire, DL10 5JU, Richmond DL10 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartforth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hartforth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartforth Hall
Hartforth Hall Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing