We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem of a cottage in a lovely village location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Reighton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JaneMYOB
Tunstall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a cottage in a lovely village location”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful little cottage with a homely comfortable feel finished to a high standard. The fully enclosed garden was perfect for the dogs and very private in spite of the fact that this is a mid terrace cottage. This little gem of a cottage has a very relaxing atmosphere and the log burner was perfect for cosy winter nights in - it was even laid ready for us to light on our arrival. Although we didn't use the summerhouse we did have a peep inside and it would be perfect for the warmer weather and the decking just lends itself to alfresco dining. We had thought that the parking would be a problem but the village is so quiet that it was no problem at all. We wished we could have stayed for longer and would not hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Not being able to bring the log burner home with us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan W
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage and perfect location.”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I'd very much like to tell you how awful the cottage was and how you shouldn't book, but that would only be because I don't want competition when it comes to booking it again. Because actually this cottage is fantastic. I could not find anything that once made me think that something could be improved.

It has been very well thought out, the owner provides everything you might need during your stay from all your cooking utensils, internet access to comfortable furniture and beds (the beds are so comfortable that you find yourself torn between laying there comfy and knowing there are so many places to visit nearby. For those with kids, like us, there is a great summer house with a pool table. We found ourselves spending some great together time giggling at our snooker/pool playing kills between us all. There is a lovely yard if the weather lets you have a BBQ, and its a quiet location. Parking is a little bit away from the house but in a very safe quiet place so we had no problem at all. Even the neighbours we bumped into are very friendly too!

So in summing up, this cottage is lovely clean, quiet, warm and wonderful. The location gives you easy access to various Beaches, Bridlington, Filey, Scarborough, York, a bit further to Whitby (or pick up the North York Moors Railway and travel in style), but an easy drive... and so on.. even the local Beach is great.

It gets 5 stars from all of my family we've already booked our next visit!!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely comments. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope next year is just as good for you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ideal for young families but not for older generation”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Cottage not suitable for the disabled or less mobile but good for those with children . Well away from beach, car necessary but very limited parking. Good pub, the Honey Pot, serves excellent meals for all family. Enjoyed stay, summertime and patio areas great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: summerhouse and patio
Liked least: bedrooms and en suites
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonno32
daventry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights from July 14th - July 17th.Sue the owner is easily contactable if necessary but we didnt need to,everything was perfect.The cottage is fantastic,both bedrooms are beautifully furnished,both with en-suite.Lounge and kitchen area are also beautiful.Everything required to make your stay comfortable was there.We ventured out everyday.Filey,Whitby York and Scarborough are within easy distance.The beach at Reighton is a brisk walk away,careful of the steep hill though.My only issue was internet access.As somebody who likes to stay in touch via network sites i found this a struggle.Maybe broadband for the future ? of course this isnt a slur on the cottage,just personal opinion.i would recommend this cottage to anybody young and old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decor and home comforts
Liked least: no broadband
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2014
Thanks Martin, I am planning to put internet in the cottage. Hopefully by the end of September. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaunaMad...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely little place, way more than it appears on the listing, so made for a really pleasant surprise. It is clean, very cosy and comes with anything you could need for a stay in Filey. We didn't want to leave! It's just outside of Filey so would recommend a car. Gorgeous place, owner lovely and facilities great.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnoLeic...
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem of a cottage”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights over Easter and fell in love with the place. The cottage is a real home from home with excellent facilities. The kitchen is better stocked than any other rental I've stayed in and the summerhouse (with heating, chairs, bbc and pool table) is an added bonus. Both bedrooms have an en-suite and there was bags of room for 4 adults and a baby. We will definitely be staying here again soon - I just wish we could have stayed longer this time!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsR2BBra...
Bradford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little cottage on the coast”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for 3 nights midweek in early April with my husband, 7 month old baby and my parents. The cottage has two bedrooms, a twin and a double, both ensuite. We were in the double and there was plenty of space for the travel cot.
The cottage was easy to find and in a quiet little village just a few miles from Filey and Bridlington so ideally located to visit said resorts.
Parking is up the road which was a little difficult for loading and unloading but we didn't mind.
The owners left detailed instructions for arrival and departure. There were instructions for equipment such as the cooker.
The cottage was well equipped with everything you need. Added extras include board games, dvds and even binoculars!
The cottage was warm so we had no need to use the log fire but it was a nice focal point and would be beneficial in winter.
The gem of this place has to be the heated summerhouse at the end of the garden. The owners bought a pool/snooker table the weekend before our stay, it definitely added to the experience! The bbq looked brand new too, we utilised this as the weather was lovely for April.
All in all excellent value for money plus a great service and communication from the owner Sue. Would highly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing