We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service should visit more”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox and Hounds Inn

Fox and Hounds Inn
Ranked #22 of 85 Restaurants in Northallerton
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
154 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good service should visit more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Visited after a bit of a wild weekend on a Sunday evening, just what we needed. Good choice of food and a lovely log burner to keep us warm. Should visit more often as it does exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    16
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Completely satisfied - must go more often”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We went for a meal on the evening of Valentine's Day and were pleased to see that it was the standard menu and not a "special" or "set" menu being offered at greatly inflated prices by certain other restaurants. We had drinks and three courses and we both thought the food was very good indeed and the final cost was surprisingly reasonable. Everything was fine and there was absolutely nothing that we could possibly even thnk of complaining about. I really like this place, having been several times over a period of more than thirty years - must go more often!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrahamA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gl0betr0tter-1971
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service with a smile, supereb food, excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Held a birthday party for my mother in law at the fox and hounds inn at bullamoor,
Food was truly out of this world!
They accomadated our party, nothing was a problem 5 adults and 3 children all fully enjoyed our time there and have already planned to revisit!

The staff were excellent and provided true value for money!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gl0betr0tter-1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went for a family reunion on a Saturday lunch time. There were 30 of us ranging from 1 to 91, everyone was looked after very well. The food was super and plenty of it. Everyone enjoyed themselves and could not fault the service or food. Thanks so much to mine host and staff. We recommend this place to all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancesandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Service with a scowl!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Where to start...
The staff were extremely rude from the outset and on reflection I'm not sure why we bothered to stay?! Big mistake!!!!
The landlord was probably the grumpiest/ unfriendly landlord I have ever come across and the lady behind the bar (possibly the manager) was not much better.
We went here with friends and their two daughters (2&5yrs) and they were made to feel very uncomfortable and a massive inconvenience!
The food average and over priced.
The service was rushed- plates cleared the moment we put our cutlery down!!
We left feeling very upset and will definitely NOT be returning!!!!!!
Such a shame as we are local to this pub and it has great potential as the location is idyllic.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ck0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds Inn also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing