We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Stobthorn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Kitchen and dining area
The seating area
Another view of the seating area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom again
Single bedroom
Single bedroom
Bathroom with shower
Private walled garden with seated area for al fresco dining - if it's sunny
You've arrived!
A view from outside the secure garden
A View from Outside the Secure Garden
Exterior view of the Cottage
A few of the neighbours - Gloucestershire Old Spots piglets....
..........and Ryeland lambs
Sutton Bank, one of our Visitors' favourite walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Northallerton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pears2015
Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, a massive thank you to John and Sylvia's hospitality. The warmth of the hosts matched the warmth of the cottage. John and Sylvia very clearly put the comfort of their guests before profit. Beautiful location, fantastically equipped and although we had no need to request anything I was made to feel that I was welcome to ask. I have never felt strongly enough to review before but then again I have never stayed anywhere as homely as this before. Cottage and location were a wonderful experience - John and Sylvia were the icing on an already lovely cake. If you are reading this and considering going ..... Stop considering and BOOK IT :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2015
Thank you for a lovely review, it is very satisfying to know that our cottage is appreciated. I hope we'll see you again on your next visit to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattR1981
Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a fantastic location with great hosts”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very well presented cottage in a great location. We were looking for a high standard of accommodation and were not disappointed! The cottage is very nicely decorated and fitted out with everything you would need. John and Sylvia were excellent hosts and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Especially in taking the time to show our 2 year old all the animals (every morning we arose to him asking "can I see the animals?").
Location was excellent, a great base to explore the North York Moors and the Yorkshire Dales. Nearby Northallerton only 5-10 mins drive for quality market town shopping and all essentials. Would thoroughly recommend to all whether a couple, families with young children or group of adults. You will not be disappointed. We hope to stay again!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABKL0505
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyable Break in a Very Comfortable Farm Cottage”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Stobthorn Cottage for one week, the location is very peaceful, adjoining open farm land, it is also perfectly situated to visit the many beautiful and quaint surrounding market towns and villages North Yorkshire has to offer. Sylvia and John made us most welcome right from the start at their very well equiped cottage. The cakes on arrival were a lovely welcoming touch - as hosts they were very pleasant and accommodating. Our little dog also enjoyed his holiday, especially his walks in the fields around the cottage. We all hope to return for another stay perhaps in the spring only this time with our 'wellies' so we can embrace 'farm life' a little more.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the nicest cottage we've stayed in”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This little gem of a cottage is situated between the Dales and the North Yorkshire moors and is ideal for touring both. The cottage is clean, comfortable and has everything in it you need. John and Sylvia are very welcoming and friendly and the home made cake on arrival was delicious. It's a quiet idyllic spot surrounded by the owners rare breed animals and no-one else. For us the bonus was the secure and pretty garden to let our dogs go free. We will be back again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The secure garden
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing