We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday lunch”

Barkers Tree View Cafe
Ranked #35 of 88 Restaurants in Northallerton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Restaurant details
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We came to the tree view for Sunday lunch last week 9th February and it was fantastic we had the beef and it was cooked to perfection. We came one Sunday and it was very bloody and tough. Yorkshire pudding were huge and the portions were great value all round. The veg was great but maybe sliced carrots instead of the same veg would be nice change for us. The soup needs to ring the changes too as it seems to be the same one most days we are there carrot or lentil but it is still fantastic if a little too thick! Great service if a little slow and the girls need to keep checking tables. But great food. We will be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A little Oasis”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Met some friends for lunch and found the food to be excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, proper tea ( not in a bag) and first rate coffee. Haven't been to Northallerton for years and loved the whole of Barkers. What a wonderful store stocking things out of the ordinary.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelled79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing hot chocolate!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

My sister has recently moved to live in Northallerton and we have found this is a great place for lunch. The Rarebit is absolutely our favourite lunch, but it is the Hot Chocolate which gets the gold medal from my daughter's point of view! Gorgeous wide glass mug, lashings of cream and marshmallow! Service at the counter can be slow when it is busy but it is worth the wait!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Busy”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Love this little department store. Must be about six years since we last come to Northallerton and we called in here for lunch. It was as busy as the first time we called and the food was just as good. Traditional choices and nice big portions. The place was full for a Tuesday afternoon which shows how popular it is. You must visit the toilets , they are a one off !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alymoo197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I opened with the title of boring because that is what I found. This cafe is now offering Sunday lunches which myself and my good lady decided to try. In my opinion this cafe should stay with offering snacks and coffee as the Sunday lunch was average at best meaning that the food was not hot, the meat content and quality was average and the vegetables were overcooked (very soft). It seems a shame as Barkers normally have a reputation for quality and the store itself (in which the cafe is sited) gives off that ambience. One of the staff was friendly but the others appeared to be less than happy that they were working on a Sunday? Within Northallerton town there are much better offerings from quality and value perspective.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barkers Tree View Cafe also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Barkers Tree View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing