We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Royal George

Old Royal George
Ranked #29 of 85 Restaurants in Northallerton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best steak around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Staff always friendly and welcoming, food delicious, atmosphere a pleasure. Can't fault this treasure of a pub. Kids welcome and fussed over, excellent quiz night and just a cracking pub all round.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shmeidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    6
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST STEAK MEAL AROUND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The old royal George is one of our favourite Steak & Fish restaurant.The Food is always Fresh and cooked to perfection. I'm a fussy steak man and Jamie never fails to get my steak 100% perfect. Janet's a plain food eater. Loves all types of Fish, loves Beef & Lamb dishes, Jamie gets Janet's taste buds going every time. Watch out for Jamie's specials I love his cod loin & king prawns in a creamy sauce is fantastic and is joined by many other fabulous dishes. Don't forget the Sunday lunch, Now that's a feast you don't want to miss.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were holidaying in the area from Newcastle Upon Tyne (see Lindale Holiday Park...its brill)

We wanted a meal but left it really late with a 3 and 5 year old as we do. We drove through town and village as we looked for the perfect pub (not too tall, not too wide etc) we stumbled on the Old Royal George just as we were to head back to McDonalds at Leeming Bar (yes very sad). The pub has ample parking opposite. Its a bit old style chintzy inside and we feared the worst with two young ones but it was 8pm, this was last chance saloon or chicken mcnuggets. We were late so the menu was not as full but I noticed some people finishing some good looking scampi and chips. We went for the sunday lunch, an old couple kindly tipped us the wink the portions were huge so it was two small sunday lunches for the adults and a shared kids one for the young uns. Sometimes Yorkshire people can come across a bit straightforward and gruff for my liking and in our early sparring with the staff I wasnt sure we were welcome but as time went on i realised it was me not them and it was simply their style. They gave the children toys to help occupy whilst we waited and as the meal went on were very attentive.

The reason for the review was the meal. Superb. Ok I was hungry and we had driven for miles through dale and town but this was good and i mean good. The small was not small it was massive. The meat was perfect, the yorkshire pudding perfect, the roast and boiled potatoes perfect and the vegetables as we like them, with a bit of bite, not boiled to death. The best sunday lunch i can recall.

Everyone ate the lot even though the supplies were plentiful. I told the manager who seemed a real nice chap and he had a look of pride which made me feel happy as people should compliment as well as complain.

Afterwards as a nice touch the staff brough a bowl of sweets for the children and some for the adults as well. It was all really well priced.

Look beyond the cushions and the ornaments as this is an absolute gem of a place and I cant tell enough people how good this sunday lunch was.

If we are back in the area we will be back here no doubt. I wonder how big the large sunday dinner is....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hickster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were told by the locals that the chef was ill and that his mum had taken over! We found out because before then we'd just complained about the food, my boyfriend got the steak pie... it was bland and came with chips and frozen peas. I got the one course set menu on a 6oz steak with chips and peas. The steak didn't even taste like steak and was dry. We got the pie free int the end however we can't recommend going here even though we loved the look of the pub which is a shame.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clairelesleywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“fab sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

hubby and i called in yesterday on the off chance.so pleased we did..we both had starters.....big mistake! main course was enormous and we went for the small option!! we both had lamb which was so tender and tasty and if that was a small portion of meat i dread to think how big the normal portion is! home made roasties and i big yorkshire pudding came with the lamb then along came new potatoes,mini carrots,brocolli,cauliflower and cabbage and a gravy boat of lovely gravy. like i said, wish we hadnt had the great starters then we would have been able to eat more of the main course.all this for £8.95 each.if we had been able to eat a desert it was only another £2.great value,great food great hosts.we will be back and will miss the starter next time and maybe after a rest we may try the deserts!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Royal George also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Old Royal George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing