We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, lovely meal :)”
Review of Wellington Heifer

Wellington Heifer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, lovely meal :)”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. The Beef and pork dinners were cooked to perfection.
We were made to feel very welcome with our two young children, who also really enjoyed there meal. We may well be back next time we are passing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenslater1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    49
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant recommendation”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were 'Up North' for the day and the pub was recommended by a business in Leeming Bar at lunchtime. Off we went in search of the pub and found it in a village called Ainderby Steeple. Typical modern olde worldly pub interior. Good menu choice from a la carte to fixed menu for £12.95 for 2 courses. Cask ale was good and well kept. The food was very good and hot. Not impressed with the number of flies in the restaurant. Will certainly call again if we are in the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ex-pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Have to say I expected better after reading the reviews. Both the Steak and Lamb in indian spices very disappointing - all I can think is that it was the regular chefs night off!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and a warm welcome”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Call in this pub for great food and a warm welcome on my way home - too handy. The menu changes every 2-3 weeks and I am never stuck for something to choose whether it be a light lunch or the al' a carte menu its all served with a smile. Definitely visiting again. Its the sort of place you could relax in all night - its even better in the winter when the fires are lit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
242 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pretty pub, good food.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

On a recent visit to Yorkshire this village pub was close to our accommodation.
We had seen good reviews & were not disappointed.
There is a good choice of food & we chose the lambshank (£14.95) and the Swordfish nicoise (£12.95). Both were well cooked and tasty. The puds were all £4.95 and my other half chose the chocolate torte.
A very pleasnt meal in a pretty country pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellington Heifer also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Wellington Heifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing