We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Inn Thrintoft”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The New Inn is a traditional country pub serving great food and real ale. The pub was refurbished and reopened in January 2013. It is a freehold pub, family owned and family friendly, just 3 miles west of Northallerton.The restaurant, to the rear of the pub, seats 40 and can be booked for private parties. The lounge and bar area is ideal for eating and/or drinking with 2 fires, including a traditional wood burner.All food is sourced from local suppliers wherever possible and is homemade by the landlord and chef, Carl Tinkler. The pub frequently serves cask ale from Northallerton’s local Walls County Town brewery in addition to cask ales from the popular Black Sheep brewery at Masham.
northallerton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Inn Thrintoft”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is by far the best restaurant in the area. We regularly eat out at different venues but this has to be our favourite. The food is superb, beautifully cooked and presented with pleasant staff who really make you feel welcome. Lovely atmosphere and the amount of people eating here speaks for itself. There is only one chef but we have never had a meal which we could find fault with.
We advise anyone in the area to give this a try, they will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthallertonJyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl t, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for the nice review & hope to see you soon.Carl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    21
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedale
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good for Christmas Function”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had the 'works' Christmas meal here. The menu had a good selection, the staff were friendly and service was pretty good for a large party. Turkey and veg were very good, the stuffing and the yorkshire pudding were a tad disappointing, a little on the heavy side. Overall it was fine. This place is a bit off the beaten track but worth the effort to visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cobbcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absent barman”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We used to come here before it's last closure so were keen to try it again. Unfortunately we arrived at lunchtime, stood at the bar for several minutes, then called out, but with no response, so we left. Looking around at the customers, many looked as if they had been waiting for food for some time. In the garden there was a waitress chatting to customers, so maybe she was the only person around? But, as you leave, you pass the kitchen, so someone should have heard us. Sadly we will not be going again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super Return”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have visited the New Inn on several occasions on our trips to Northallerton when it has been under a variety of regimes some better than others. The current set up is by far the best with a warm welcome, prompt service reasonably priced drinks and an excellent selection of food on offer in their menu.
The meal itself was of the highest standard and only made us wish we had gone back sooner rather than trying another establishment nearby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlfieC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northallerton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Left the pub feeling cheated”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

As a fairly regular customer of the pub, I have been pleased with the food on each occasion. The steak pie has been tasty and the salad which accompanied it was excellent. The small quantity of chips given to share between myself an my wife, who had ordered chips as an extra, was a little dissapointing, but we might have said nothing about it if we had not felt so ripped off by the drinks which we had been served at the bar. I had ordered coke for myself and lemonade for my daughter, both without ice, as neither of us like watery drinks. When the drinks arrived, each half pint glass was only half full, presumably leaving the space for the `missing` ice unfilled. What a miserly way to treat your customers. A quater of a pint of soft drink in a half pint glass. If this had not been a family occasion, we would have said something, there and then, but instead I stayed silent, not being in the mood to argue. That is the end of Thrintoft for us. In future we shall go to one of the other good food pubs in the neighbouring area who are generous enough to put half a pint of lemonade into a half pint glass.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank 828mba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing