We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect and better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thief Hole Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northallerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thief Hole Cottages
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect and better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have stayed at Thief Hole Cottages twice. Firstly as a family and had a really wonderful time. We had two young children with us and they had provided so much for them which made packing so much easier for us and they loved all the lovely toys, teddies, books, magazines that they could play with. It was real luxury and we loved it so much that we booked for the year after to go with all our family for my Dads 70th birthday celebration and we used all the cottages. Again the standard was fantastic and we ha everything we needed and more. They even decorated the cottages for the birthday with gifts and cake. They really have that of everything you need in these cottages to make the stay so easy and enjoyable. We really hope that we will be able to go to Thief Hole cottages again and again especially as there is so much in the nearby area to do and explore.

Room Tip: All really excellent. We loved Thief Hole got our family, lovely views and lots of space. The Barn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEnglandHotstuff, Owner at Thief Hole Cottages, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Alice K,

Thank you for your lovely comments and for your loyalty coming back to stay with us on more than one occasion. To say a special thank you please quote Trip Ad when booking for 2014 and we will offer you a discount.

Thank you again,

Jessica Barker
01845 537818
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We're losing count of the times we've stayed at Thief Hole and we've sampled all the cottages bar 'Turpin'. There's only one standard here; excellence! Each time we stay we see continual improvement. Jessica's always trying to exceed the expectations of her guests.

All the accommodation is appointed to a high standard with quality fabrics and furnishings. We think that Thief Hole is the only place we can walk into and settle within 5 minutes or so. Its very homely and comfortable and we don't have to check the cutlery or crockery for cleanliness; this is much more than we can say for many other places. The cottage is always warm and welcoming on arrival. Parking is easy and close by your cottage.

Its obvious from presentation that the Thief Hole Team take great pride in their work and and interest in their guests. Any issue is addressed promptly.

We'll be heading down again shortly and we look forward to our return visits. The region itself is stunning with its moors and dales and quaint places to visit. The City of York is only about 50 minutes away; use the park and ride facility and take a city bus tour, its well worth it! So is the Railway Museum.

We've been pleased to recommend Thief Hole to friends and they too have greatly enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: The Barn holds the best views over the countryside. Swift Nick is open to the pleasant courtyard fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RobbieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEnglandHotstuff, Owner at Thief Hole Cottages, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Robin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind post and your continuous loyalty is very much appreciated. We would like to say a special thank you with a 2014 money off offer, please quote Trip Ad when booking for next year.

Thank you again,

Jessica Barker
Thief Hole Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have stayed at Thief Hole a number of times and in a number of the different cottages. One thing that is a constant is the quality of the place and the attention to detail in making your stay a relaxing one. One stay was for a special birthday and the team at Thief Hole could not have been more helpful! Would highly recommend

Room Tip: All the cottages are superb, but for a celebration with friends..the barn is tip top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WiganHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEnglandHotstuff, Owner at Thief Hole Cottages, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear WiganHiker,

We cannot thank you enough for your ongoing loyalty and your time taken to write this kind comment. We would like to say a special thank you with a 2014 money off offer, please quote Trip Ad when booking for next year.

Thank you again,

Jessica Barker
Thief Hole Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Best cottages I have ever rented, good location, well equipped, comfortable, cleaned to perfection, well maintained, Jessica is a really helpful owner. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. Would recommend to the most discerning "traveller"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEnglandHotstuff, Owner at Thief Hole Cottages, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Pete,

Thank you so much for your time taken to write this wonderful comment and we would like to say a special thank you with a 2014 money off offer, please quote Trip Ad when booking for next year.

Thank you again,

Jessica Barker
Thief Hole Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

It was impossible to find fault with anything. Jessica, Philip and their team have such an eye for detail right from the initial paperwork to when we sadly departed. We were 4 family staying in Swift Nick which was fabulous accommodation. Spotlessly clean with fresh flowers and a welcome basket of local produce and never forget the Champagne in the fridge. Simply the best welcome we have had anywhere. The setting is great with wonderful views and only a few miles to Dales or North Yorks
Moors.
Everything in the accommodation was top quality, even the loo paper! You will not need for any equipment...it is all there.
We look forward to returning and meeting Jessica and Philip again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEnglandHotstuff, Owner at Thief Hole Cottages, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Jaguarpippins,

It was wonderful to hide you all for your July break, thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we would like to say a special thank you with a 2014 money off offer, please quote Trip Ad when booking for next year.

Thank you again,

Jessica Barker
Thief Hole Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in Thiefhole Barn in February for the third time and it just gets better & better. As a couple we have also stayed in Fawkes & Turpin cottages. Jessica & Philip take great care in providing you with everything you need and nothing is too much trouble. The cottages are situated within easy access to Thirsk and Northallerton. We have already booked two further breaks for 2014 in Thiefhole and Fawkes cottages and we cant wait for our return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pett0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEnglandHotstuff, Owner at Thief Hole Cottages, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
To the Petto family, We really cannot thank you enough for your kind comments but what is really appreciated is your ongoing loyalty. It will be wonderful to see you again in 2014 and once again a huge thank you!

Jessica Barker
Thief Hole Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here end March and end August 2012. We were an extended family party grandparents parents grandchildren even a nanny as we were in Yorkshire for two family weddings. We had a fabulous stay both times with all the extras required for young children. The barn was comfortable warm and there was nothing more that we could have asked for.
The views, swallows and ducks walking past us twice a day were an extra bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank spinone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEnglandHotstuff, Owner at Thief Hole Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, it was lovely to see you all twice last year and we do hope to see you again in 2014. Please quote Trip Ad when booking for 2014 so that we can say thank you with a token discount.

Jessica Barker
Thief Hole Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northallerton
2.4 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
21.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Wellington Heifer
The Wellington Heifer
#5 of 23 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thief Hole Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thief Hole Cottages

Property: Thief Hole Cottages
Address: Thief Hole Lane | Thornton-le-Moor, Northallerton DL7 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Northallerton
Hotel Class:5 star — Thief Hole Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Thief Hole Cottages Northallerton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing