We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend”
Review of Swan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan House
Ranked #8 of 23 Northallerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Swan House caravan site. We really enjoyed John & Christines hospitality nothing is too much trouble for this couple ( thanx for the loan of the extension lead John ) The toilet facilities are new & spotless & the setting is perfect for rest & relaxation, Set in beautiful scenery with the gorgeous market towns of Stokesley & Northallerton close by, this is somewhere we will be visiting again & would highly recommend the site to others. Nice bar & outside area for drinks in the afternoon or evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babygun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 169 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

The worst thing about swan house was having to leave. Stayed for 2 nights with my wife and two children and had a wonderful stay.
Rooms spotless, spacious, well equipped, well presented and top quality bedding ensured a great nights sleep.

Breakfast was spot on in terms of both quality & quantity.

Childrens play area, toys at breakfast, this is a truly child friendly B & B

Then there's the bar an added bonus with pool table.

But most of all christine & johns hospitality was second to none. It was like meeting old friends. They made us feel like extended family.
Would highly recommend it.
Many thanks from all at Highland Croft

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dale h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Swan house whilst in Northallerton for a family wedding, 8 adults and 3 children. 4 of us with the children had travelled from the Isle of Man, 2 from the Scottish Borders and 2 from Oldham. It was a superb place to stay for a weekend together and within very easy reach for the wedding venue. Christine and John are the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We have another wedding for the same family next year and we asked Christine to pencil us in next years diary so fingers crossed thats another weekend to look forward to.. .. Thank you both for your Yorkshire welcome from a diverse Lancashire family.!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeaniom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had the pleasure of enjoying an evening at Swan House last weekend, which had been arranged as a surprise for friends of ours doing the Coast to Coast. Although we didn't stay over - due to no vacancies - we were looked after extremely well by John and Christine. Had a look around their immaculate facilities and enjoyed a wonderful roast dinner. Will certainly be going back to stay over the summer.

Kim & John

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were one of the other couples for the surprise weekend trip and how I wish we could have stopped over with our friends. We couldn't because at the time of booking, Swan House was full. Christine and John were the most amazing hosts and the roast dinner was probably the best I'd had for as long as I can remember. The place is a labour of love - immaculately clean with great facilities whether you are staying in one of the beautiful rooms (we went in one to look) or the attached caravan field. We had such a laugh with the locals on the karaoke. We will definitely go back and stay with John and Christine at this wonderful Guest House.

Room Tip: We didn't stay over but we did go in room 1 which was averaged sized but lovely decor and except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori_millard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Met some friends doing the coast to coast staying at the Swan House, straight away we knew we should have booked in here too. John and Christine sorted the complete night out for a surprise visit by ourselves and 4 others. The food was excellent and service second to none, throughout the evening there was live music from what can only be described as semi professional singers. We will be booking to get back there and make good use of there flawless facilities.
Thanks
Les & Cheryl

Room Tip: Only went into room 1 I expect all room to be similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riiiiiiiippedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay over May Bank Holiday weekend and cannot praise this site highly enough. Owner's are very friendly, even helping us to put up our awning as we are new to caravanning. They work extremely hard and Swan House is a credit to them. Showers and toilets are immaculate. We will definitely be back. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northallerton hotels
6.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
520 reviews
10.6 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
755 reviews
7.4 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
317 reviews
7.5 mi away
Porch House
Porch House
#3 of 23 in Northallerton
144 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Old Royal George
The Old Royal George
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan House

Address: Trenholme Bar, Northallerton DL6 3JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Northallerton
Price Range: $74 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan House Northallerton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing