We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Historic, Comfortable and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, Historic, Comfortable and very clean”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have just come back from a 4 night stay on a residential course. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, historic with amazing grounds with a river and plenty of wildlife. I was in the newer part and if I went again I would ask to be in the older part. My room was perfectly nice but some of the other rooms looked amazing. The staff were super friendly and helpful and totally unphased by a group of 15. Our course was in a beautiful wood panel room with walk in fireplace. There was always an abundance of refreshments and nothing was too much trouble. The spanish waiter was great fun and very helpful to our group at mealtimes. I would happily stay again. I didn't see a fitness centre and didn't order room service so I haven't rated them.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the old part
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiltaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    195
    99
    34
    31
See reviews for
94
303
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked this as a last minute break for me and my partner for his birthday. I sent 2 e-mails requesting some help with making his birthday a little more special but didn't receive a reply which was disappointing. However after phoning the hotel and speaking to someone on arrival to our room we had a bottle of prosecco and a lovely happy birthday note.

Our room was very large and extremely clean. Please do take care if your tall though. My partner is over 6ft and banged his head on the low beams numerous times!

Breakfast was faultless with plenty of option and the service was friendly and quick.

Would recommend and would return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckyf1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Reading other reviews I'm broadly in agreement but a bit more attention to guests would earn more approval.
We had dinner in a large dining room that was quite splendid but so hot as to be uncomfortable. Of the 10 table occupied every man had taken off his jacket and this was mid-February! We complained and in the end a large window was opened that offered some relief but should not have been necessary if the heating had been turned down. Our bedroom (No. 11) was tiny and the bed also was not full double size.
The food was pretty good and breakfast excellent quality.

Just a bit more care and attention and the hotel would give much more satisfaction

Room Tip: Ask for a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headsup71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Great little break here.
Very welcoming staff....very helpful.
Lovely large room; the shower needed upgrading!
The grounds are lovely.....very pretty with little bridges over the streams. Snowdrops everywhere.
Fabulous evening meal and breakfast.
A lovely place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MRSHSHEFFIELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Another very good travelzoo offer, we met our friends at the hotel very warm welcome,
We were surprised by the compactness of our room so asked if they would change it, only room available was a family room but lots more space & staff were most helpful swapping rooms with no quibbles at all.
We had breakfast served on both days and staff were very pleasant, and met Fernando a very pleasant italian waiter who's service was excellent on our last morning and nothing was too much trouble,
The only downside was the meal time on the first night, our steaks were to our thinking not very good quality as both tough , also would have helped if steak knives were provided!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this quaint hotel during half term. The staff are friendly and helpful. A lovely bar with comfy seating and we enjoyed a tasty, filling three course dinner. We travelled into Leeds by train from a local station. The snowdrops at this time of year were gorgeous!

Room Tip: Room 5 is lovely and over looks the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had exclusive use of the hotel over the weekend for a conference event . The hotel staff were fantastic and couldn't have been more attentive . I would visit for a work function again forth is reason. The only downside was that currently the hotel is being refurbished and our room smelt of strong paint fumes .

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monk Fryston
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
9.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
308 reviews
11.1 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
967 reviews
13.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monk Fryston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Property: Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Address: Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Monk Fryston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monk Fryston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Monk Fryston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing